Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Pacific Northwest Convention (Oregon)

Polish Library Hall, Portland, Oregon

October 14-15, 2006

Saturday, October 14

The fifteenth annual session of the Oregon portion of the Pacific Northwest Convention was held at the Polish Library Hall in Portland, Oregon, on the third Sunday and Saturday before in October. Chairman Dan Thoma called the class to order at 9:30 a.m. leading 448b. Julie Strayer Thoma led the invocation.

Dan Thoma welcomed all and opened the business meeting for election of officers. The following were elected or appointed: Chairman—Dan Thoma; Treasurer—David Zaworski; Secretary—Sarah Hauser.

Singing school teacher, Peter Irvine, was introduced by Dan Thoma, who noted that Peter was instrumental in the beginnings of Portland, Oregon, Sacred Harp, and now lives and sings in Western Massachusetts. He opened the singing school leading 68b, used 82t, as a teaching tool, and then concluded the session by leading 163b.


The class was brought back to order by Peter Irvine leading 32t. Peter talked about scales and leading. He cautioned leaders to look the front bench in the eye and use small gestures. He stated that leading is a sharing of oneself with the class. Confidence will come with time and experience. After leading several songs as teaching tools, Peter talked about the circle of Sacred Harp, and the many friends he and his wife, Anna Marie, have made. The class ended with the singing of 282. Dan Thoma thanked Peter for an excellent singing school. Julie Strayer Thoma led the noon blessing.


Dan Thoma called the class back to order leading 114. Leaders: David Wright 362; Jessica Beer 436; Eric Schwab 313b; Martha Johnson 270; Anna Maria Irvine 77t; Tamara Harris 222; Ted Mercer 302; Arcana Ferschke 68t; Bridgett Hill 276; Katharine Hough 183; Joel Brandis and Alistair Ramsay 29t; Molly Whedbee 73t; Fran Ross 551; Cindy Reuter 503; David Hough 137; Matthew Keegan 347; Erica Wilson 384; Caleb Hardy 299; Adrian Mariano and family 419; Jenn Dolan 165; Philip Gerrie 170; Carolyn Gilkey 203; Jack Lofton 319; Kathy Vlach 40; Jacob Breedlove 58; Mary MacDonald Lewis 198.


The class was called back by Dan Thoma leading 63. Leaders: Ginny Landgraf 376; Bob Schinske 335; Greg Saue 143; Stacey Berkheimer 344; Heather Ikeler 159; Ann Huckins 350; Meg Larson 452; Connie Stanton 480; Joni Seidenstein 110; Lyle Lindsey 510; Martha Sherwood 312b; Reid Schillbach 171; Jon Carson 163t; Abraham Hardy 86; Ed Kornbrath 445; Steve Helwig 528; Tammy Ziola 148; Sarah Hauser 46; Karl Oswald 290. The class was dismissed for the day.

A social and informal singing was held Saturday evening at Crux in N. Portland.

Sunday, October 15

Chairman Dan Thoma called the class to order at 9:30 a.m. with 569b. Julie Strayer Thoma offered the morning prayer. Leaders: Ken Cofield 49b; Susan Helf 112; Scott Kennedy 287; Bill Walters 122; Janice Bridges 146; Eric Holt 52t; Jean Murphy 189; Matthew Sellens 558; David Zaworski and Jenna Brandis 81t; Suzanne Denker 504; Steve Cackley 124; Pat Nida 82t; Lucinda Saue 186; Jacob Breedlove 274t; Erik Schwab 128; Stacey Berkheimer and Carolyn Gilkey 474; Kristie Harju 345b; Philip Gerrie 457; Meg Larson 200; Fran Ross 84; Molly Whedbee 33b; Erika Wilson 378b.


Marie Brandis called the class back to order with 318. Leaders: Reed Schilbach and Kristi Hooten 39t; Jenna Brandis and Amelia Morrison 503; Joni Seidenstein 142; Cindy Reuter 236; Ginny Landgraf 197; Dorothy Robinson 178; Mary McDonald Lewis 481; John Carson 135; Arcana Ferschke 44; Kathy Vlach and Ted Mercer 501; Steve Helwig 245; Anna Maria Irvine 111b; Dan Thoma 328; Karl Oswald 290; Adrian Mariano 372; Marie Brandis 456.

Eric Holt and Steve Cackley conducted the memorial lesson. Eric Holt led 86 in memory of the following deceased: John Williams—Washington; three members of a singer’s family (Daniel Jud, Charlene Ruble, Marge Wolfe)—Oregon; Carol Larsen, Mickey Lenzen, and Everen Lacy Miller—Wisconsin; Micheal O’Dombhaill—Ireland; Joy Pollary and Rose Watzinger—Maine; Catherine Eulalie Durant Long and A. Curtis Powers—Florida; Raymond Frederick Erickson—California; Ali Farka Toure—Africa; Margaret Sihler Anderson and Deanne Sayer—Ohio; Michael McNickels—Missouri; Anne Kellermann—Pennsylvania; John Hyde—Alabama. The memorial lesson was closed with the singing of 38b.

Leaders: David Wright 28b; David Hough 217. The noon blessing was given by Julie Strayer Thoma.


The class was called back to order by Dan Thoma leading 65. Leaders: Katharine Hough 269; Ted Mercer 132; Susan Miller 108t; Tammy Ziola 117; Gary Plouff 101b; Peter Irvine 564; Bridgett Hill 377; Matthew Sellens and Amelia Morrison 442; John Kellermann 77t; Tom Gerber 277; Leta Marshall 38t; Jenn Dolan 447; Caleb Hardy 375; Kristi Harju 97; Abraham Hardy 66; Bob Schinske 282; Marie Brandis 383; Anne Huckins 107; Ethan Hardy 211; Jean Murphy 268; Greg Saue 99; Tamara Harris 390.


Gary Plouff brought the class back to order leading 300. A business session was held for the purpose of hearing reports. Dan Thoma announced that 165 people had registered at the convention, representing eight states.

Treasurer David Zaworski announced that the expenses had been met.

Lyle Lindsey gave the Resolutions report, thanking all who made the convention possible. The business meeting was closed.

Leaders: Ken Cofield 61; Jack Lofton 220; Susan Helf 497; Matthew Keegan 448t; Lucinda Saue 47b; Scott Kennedy 31t; Ginny Landgraf 505; Connie Stanton and Bridgett Hill 297; Pat Nida 235; Anna Maria Irvine 37b; Ted Mercer 36b; Stacey Berkheimer 566; Gary Plouff 500; Bridgett Hill 411; Molly Whedbee 33t; Peter Irvine 445; Kristie Harju 159; Tom Gerber 334.

Announcements were made of future singings. Dan Thoma led 38b as the closing song, and invited singers to take the parting hand. Julie Strayer Thoma offered the closing prayer, and the class was dismissed.

Chairman—Dan Thoma; Secretary—Sarah Hauser.