Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 2022 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Missouri State Convention

St. John’s United Church of Christ, Pinckney, Missouri

March 11-12, 2006

Saturday, March 11

The twenty-first annual Missouri State Sacred Harp Singing Convention was called to order at 9:30 a.m. at St. John’s United Church of Christ by Chairlady Penny Kujawinski leading 34b. Bill Caldwell offered the opening prayer.

Convention officers were the following: Chairlady—Penny Kujawinski; Secretary—Dave Ressler; Arranging Committee—Rebecca Browne.

Leaders: Penny Kujawinski 36b; Ann Leckie and Aidan Leckie-Harre 46 (MH); John Uhlemann 212; Roberta Strauss 384; Dave Ressler 27 (MH); Linda Biggs 504; Karen Isbell 313t; Jeanette Lowry and Rebecca Browne 475; Bill Ellason 59; Anne Drexler 84; David Lloyd 29t; Carla Pepmiller 56b; David Long 66; Barbara Uhlemann 474; Jo Dell Albi 385t; Jim Hearne 344; Pattie Doss 122 (MH); Lou Kujawinski 349; Gary Gronau 147 (MH); Wayne Smith 178; Cindy Pepmiller 86.


Alice Moran and Dave Ressler called the class to order leading 163b. Leaders: Charlie Derleth 348b; Paul Figura 127 (MH); Lamar Schlabach 48t; Loraine Bayer 411; John Ramsey 543; Ted Mercer 23 (MH); Martha Beverly 383; Hans Bayer 168; Jubal Bayer 274t; Ted Johnson 143 (MH); Lynn Murphy and Melody Von Engeln 138 (MH); Jim Page 67 (MH).


Penny Kujawinski led 430 to call the class together. Leaders: Marcia Johnson 434; Greg Howard 569b; Peggy Brayfield 181; Berkley Moore 33 (MH); Emily Gruber 175 (MH); Steve Harris 268; Darrell Swarens 335; Jo Dell Albi 180. John Bayer offered the blessing for the noon meal.


Lou Kujawinski called the afternoon session together leading 523. Leaders: Julie Vea 318; Judy Hauff 77 (MH); Vic Whisman 106; Karen Ivey 217; Dan Brittain 141 (MH); Jan Ketelle 75 (MH); John Bayer 139 (MH); Susan Green 177 (MH); Regina Bayer and Coy Ivey 208, 222; William Shetter 13 (MH); Jeanette Lowry 270; Paul Landskroener 38t; David Ivey 61; Joan Aldridge 546; Bill Beverly 162 (MH); Melanie Hauff 148 (MH); Bill Caldwell 353; Ryan Henry 159.


Penny Kujawinski led 47t to bring the class to order. Leaders: Melanie Hauff 81 (MH); Wayne Smith 81t; Alice Moran 480; Ted Mercer 49b; Susan Green 347; Marcia Johnson 368; David Long 437; Ted Johnson 24 (MH); Bill Ellason 137; Judy Hauff 128 (MH); Dan Brittain 172 (MH); David Ivey and Karen Ivey 472; Vic Whisman 99; Julie Vea 218; Bill Caldwell 189; Martha Beverly 34t; Joan Aldridge 228; Gwen King 63.

Announcements were made. Penny Kujawinski led 62 as the closing song, and Jim Hearne dismissed the class with prayer.

Sunday, March 12

Penny Kujawinski led 276 to bring the class to order at 9:30 a.m. Cindy Pepmiller offered the morning prayer.

Leaders: Penny Kujawinski 312b; Carla Pepmiller, Catherine Pepmiller, and Cindy Pepmiller 436; Roberta Strauss 496; Emily Gruber 56 (MH); David Lloyd 38b; Dave Ressler 19 (MH); Ann Leckie 80 (MH); Linda Biggs 51 (MH); Anne Drexler 282; Pattie Doss 203; Presley Barker 455; Jeanette Lowry 454; Dennis Corcoran 148; Gary Gronau 224; Karen Isbell 84 (MH); Wayne Smith 113 (MH); Rebecca Browne 362.


Carla Pepmiller led 40 to call the class back together. Leaders: Charlie Derleth 56b; Jan Ketelle 89 (MH); Paul Figura 171 (MH); Shannon Seyler 191; Terry Hogg 55 (MH); Judy Hauff 68t; Bill Beverly 133 (MH); Loraine Bayer 225t; David Ivey 389; Coy Ivey 384; Hans Bayer 107; Jubal Bayer 277; Melanie Hauff 7 (MH); John Bayer 153 (MH).


Penny Kujawinski led 68b to bring the class to order. Leaders: Greg Howard 313b; Martha Beverly 498; Regina Bayer 174 (MH); Vic Whisman 147t.

The memorial lesson was conducted by Karen Ivey. Joan Aldridge led 134 for the following deceased: Elsie Beasley, L.E. Hannah, Ivalene Donaldson, Alice Edwards, and Jap Walton—Alabama; Scott Holifield—Arkansas; Karen Pederson—California; Donnie McGraw and I.V. McWhorter—Georgia; Rev. Dennis Young, Al Frank, and Violet Stark—Illinois; Dean Slaton—Indiana; Ray Driscoll—Kentucky; Elizabeth Watson—Minnesota; Philip Alderman, Dolores Schwartz, and Denny Yemm—Missouri; Alice Mercer and Larry Olszewski—Tennessee; Kelly Beard—Texas; Nathaniel Keith—Vermont; Oscar Schumacher—Wisconsin.

Dan Brittain led 390 for the sick and shut-ins: Amanda Denson, Willard Wright, and Norma Green—Alabama; Michael Wong—California; Gene Powell—Florida; Bobby Hickox, Nancy Allen, Myrtle Smith, and Margie Smith—Georgia; Janet Fraembs—Illinois; Bob Meek—Kentucky; Pauline Creel Childers—Michigan; Mary Philips and Charles Johnson—Minnesota; Lois Lee Ramsey, Bert Lindsey, Greg Jensen, and Shirley Figura—Missouri; Nancy Malone—New Jersey; Dolores Katz—New York; Myrna Palmer and Andre DuPont—Texas; Barbara Greenler, Dick Dunagan, Bob Skorgie, Bob Anderson, and Lilia Springer—Wisconsin. The memorial lesson was concluded. John Bayer offered the blessing for the noon meal.


Presley Barker led 497 to open the afternoon session. Leaders: Bill Caldwell 11 (MH); Wendy Hofmann 45 (MH); Paul Landskroener 528; Jo Dell Albi 372; Darrell Swarens 186; Peggy Brayfield 448t; William Shetter 373; Lamar Schlabach 288; Alice Moran 142; Dan Brittain 125 (MH); Cindy Pepmiller 117; Jim Page 149 (MH); John Ramsey 154; Berkley Moore 142 (MH); Julie Vea 39t; Lou Kujawinski 351.


The class resumed singing. Leaders: David Lloyd 34 (MH); Wayne Smith 33b; Shannon Seyler 306; Dennis Corcoran and Marie Corcoran 287; Terry Hogg 29t; Presley Barker 127 (MH); Carla Pepmiller 178; Jeanette Lowry and Jan Ketelle 168; Jeanette Lowry 135 (MH); Rebecca Browne 171; Dave Ressler 216.


Penny Kujawinski led 146 to bring the class to order. Leaders: Charlie Derleth and Jeanette Lowry 137; Emily Gruber 138 (MH); Wendy Hofmann 481; Karen Isbell 532; Gary Gronau 300.

Announcements were made. The closing song was 347, and the closing prayer was led by Cindy Pepmiller.

Chairlady—Penny Kujawinski; Secretary—Dave Ressler.