Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Pacific Northwest Sacred Harp Convention

Sunset Hill Community Club, Seattle, Washington

February 18-19, 2006

Saturday, February 18

The fifteenth session of the Pacific Northwest Sacred Harp Convention—Washington was held at the Sunset Hill Community Club in Seattle, Washington, on the third Sunday and Saturday before in February. David Wright and Jack Lofton opened the convention by leading 207. Alice Poinier led the opening prayer. David Wright and Jack Lofton led 82t; Jinx McGuire 313b; Erik Schwab 73t.

The convention went into a business session with the following officers elected or appointed: Chairman—Jack Lofton; Vice Chairman—Erik Schwab; Secretary—David Wright; Chaplains—Alice Poinier and Erika Wilson. The business session was closed.

Leaders: Greg Saue 171; Katharine Hough 29t; Louis Hughes 76b; Connie Stanton 535; Martie Hoadley 72b; Jean Murphy 65; Mryka Hall-Beyer 327; Linda Laing 479; Jenn Dolan 183; Darlene Simpson-Brown 368; Dick Lewis and Meg Larson 549; Shannon McGuire 137; Myles Alexander 515; Rachel Speer 417; Susan Helf 528.


Martha Johnson called the class back to order leading 48t. Leaders: Reba Dell Windom 186; Karen Willard 304; Jill Accetta 302; Steve Helwig 112; Jim Van Horn 68t; Marie Brandis 328; Jacob Breedlove 445; Bob Schinske and Sophia Schinske 496; John Carson 361; Marcia Cutler 369; Dan Thoma 53; Kathy Vlach 40; Anne Huckins 350.


Jordan Singer called the class back to order leading 28t. Leaders: Alice Poinier 344; Scott Kennedy 503; Erik Schwab 441; Mary McDonald-Lewis 198; Carolyn Gilkey 504; Karen Stingle 421; Jim Friedrich 300; Bruce Rowland 426b; Meg Larson 452; Erika Wilson 162; Eric Holt 163b. Alice Poinier asked the blessing on the noon meal.


Jack Lofton called the class back to order for the afternoon session by leading 30t. Leaders: Lucinda Saue 532; Mryka Hall-Beyer 133; Gary Plouff 142; Joanne Hoover 477; Arcana Ferschke 348t; Martha Johnson 384; Reba Dell Windom 192; Ken Cofield 324; Marilyn Murata 218; Jessica Beer 430; Mother Felicitas Curti 81t; David Hough 282; Louis Hughes 448t; Marcia Stedman 497; Andrew Snyder 454; Reed Schilbach 122; Thom Fahrbach 165.


Jessica Beer called the class back to order leading 80t. Leaders: Rachel Speer 230; Kelli Sanger 267; Jinx McGuire 269; Tamara Harris 390; Jack Lofton 383; Emily Gletsos 468; Jean Squires 410t; Tigre Lusardi 64; Jordan Singer 86; David Wright 326; Shannon McGuire 84; Jill Accetta 67; Katharine Hough 378b; Jacob Breedlove 106; Karen Willard 362; Steve Helwig 270; Marie Brandis 245; Susan Helf 66; Marcia Cutler 266.

All singers were invited to a social that evening at the home of Angie Johnson. Jack Lofton and Erik Schwab led 157 (CB) as the closing song, and Alice Poinier dismissed the class with prayer.

Sunday, February 19

Jack Lofton and Erik Schwab began the second day of the convention with 37b. Erika Wilson gave the opening prayer.

Leaders: David Wright 271b; Erik Schwab 49t; Joanne Hoover 91; Darlene Simpson-Brown 39b; Anne Huckins 448b; Mary McDonald-Lewis 268; Bob Schinske 530; John Carson 312b; Karen Stingle 385b; Gary Plouff 318; Kathy Vlach 145b; Reed Schilbach 171; Dan Thoma 539; Jessica Beer 348b; Arcana Ferschke 500; Greg Saue 147t; Erik Schwab 89; Marilyn Murata 313t; David Hough 480; Tamara Harris 82t; Jordan Singer 285t; Eric Holt 229; Mother Felicitas Curti 49b.


Myles Alexander called the class back to order leading 39t. Leaders: Ken Cofield 344; Martha Johnson 546; Thom Fahrbach 216; Tigre Lusardi 370; Fran Ross 569b; Jack Lofton 196; Jenn Dolan 330t; Lucinda Saue 38b; Alice Poinier 148; Martie Hoadley 360; Carolyn Gilkey 189; Meg Larson 200; Jean Murphy 209; Emily Gletsos 217; Scott Kennedy 146; Connie Stanton 99.

Darlene Simpson-Brown and Susan Helf conducted the memorial lesson. Darlene Simpson-Brown led 512 for the deceased: Elizabeth Campbell, Steven Hough, and Nathan Rubin—California; Buddy Drysdale—Colorado; Richard Harrison, Dorothy Clementine Durant Jones, and Catherine Eulalie Durant Long—Florida; Michael Beall and Sgt. Philip Dodson—Georgia; Dean Slaton—Indiana; Leslie Close—New York; Ellis Jones, Diane Lewis, and Terry Vitale—Oregon; Jack Accetta—Pennsylvania; Rudy Evatt—South Carolina; Jim Arnston, Mark Bauffman, Bill Dugan, Larry Gaffin, and Allan May—Washington; Everen Lacy Miller—Wisconsin; Annette Belleville—Quebec.

Susan Helf spoke led 61 for the sick and shut-ins: Mary Bullock Johnson—Alabama; Virginia Cooper and Fumie Murata—California; Jill Zimmerman—Connecticut; Jack Hoadley—Indiana; Kay Smith—Iowa; Shirley Figura—Missouri; Dan Pritikin—Ohio; Jim Brock—Oregon; Harry Oswald—Texas; Michael Cohen, Marianne Costello, Viola Graff, Al Johnson, Lucy Lu, Bob Monroe, Janet Partlow, and Marianne Lawless Powell—Washington; Mickey Lenzen—Wisconsin. Erika Wilson closed the memorial lesson with prayer.

Leaders: Joanne Hoover 473; Karen Willard 316; David Wright 327; Katharine Hough 236. Erika Wilson asked the blessing on the noon meal.


Jack Lofton called the class back to order by leading 46. Leaders: Alice Poinier 43; Kelli Sanger 457; Louis Hughes 201; Myles Alexander 535; Jill Accetta 181; Marilyn Murata 195; Matthew Sellens 142; Mryka Hall-Beyer 210; Reba Dell Windom and Kathryn Eastburn 436; Rachel Speer 376; Leta Marshall 143; Marie Brandis 377; Leon Janssen 448t; Erika Wilson 163t; Jacob Breedlove 58; Steve Helwig 168; Angie Johnson 323b; Andrew Snyder 163b; Susan Helf and Mother Felicitas Curti 178; Audrey Karabinus 70b.


David Hough brought the class back to order leading song on page 32t. Leaders: Fran Ross 245; Steve Cackley 287; Jenn Dolan 77t; Martha Sherwood 47b; Matthew Sellens 74b; Jill Accetta 203; Ken Cofield and Susan Helf 198; Dan Thoma 56b; Mryka Hall-Beyer 68b; Greg Saue and Lucinda Saue 31t; Scott Kennedy and Martha Johnson 278b; Reba Dell Windom and Louis Hughes 224; Marie Brandis 328; Mary McDonald-Lewis and Emily Gletsos 481; Rachel Speer and Leta Marshall 222; Jessica Beer and Thom Fahrbach 503; Arcana Ferschke and Tigre Lusardi 319; Connie Stanton and Tamara Harris 36b; Gary Plouff and Eric Holt 567.

The convention entered into a business session for the purpose of hearing committee reports. The Arranging Committee reported that 140 singers had registered, representing eight states and Canada, with a total of 161 songs sung.

The Treasurer reported that expenses had been met and thanked the class for its generosity.

Fred Flickinger and Steve Helwig gave the Resolutions Committee report. They thanked everyone who contributed, in any way, to making this convention possible.

The Chair announced that a Locating Committee would be formed to consider sites for future sessions of the convention, and appointed Susan Helf, Jordan Singer, and David Wright to the committee.

All reports were accepted as read and the business session was closed.

Announcements were made. Jack Lofton and Erik Schwab led 425 as the closing song while all who wished took the parting hand. Erika Wilson offered the closing prayer, and the class was dismissed.

Chair—Jack Lofton; Vice Chair—Erik Schwab; Secretary—David Wright.