Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

All-California Sacred Harp Singing Convention

Casa de Flores, San Carlos, California

January 14-15, 2006

Saturday, January 14

The eighteenth annual All-California Sacred Harp Singing Convention met in Casa de Flores, San Carlos, California, on Saturday before the third Sunday in January. Carolyn Deacy led 59 to open the singing. David Fetcho offered the opening prayer. Leaders: Terry Moore 73b; Chris Thorman 102; Jill Accetta 276; David Fetcho 108b.

A business meeting was held, and the following officers were elected or appointed: Chairlady—Carolyn Deacy; Vice Chairman—Carroll Lunsford; Secretary—Terry Moore; Assistant Secretaries—Betty Marvin and Jeannette Ralston; Arranging Committee—Natalia Cecire, Mark Miller, and Linda Selph; Chaplains—David Fetcho and Jim Friedrich. The business meeting was closed.

Leaders: Susan Fetcho 52t; Jeremy Knight 183; Steve Lazicki 74b; Tammy Heinsohn 479; Arnold Zwicky 474; Lara Eilhardt 319; Betty Herman 383; Bob Brylawski 122; Connie Stanton 99; Linda Selph 30b; Rick Russell 228; Jim Friedrich 532.


Mark Miller and Adam Larimore brought the class back by leading 40. Leaders: Steve Helwig 224; Will Fitzgerald 198; Patricia Lazicki 148; Rosie Wells 28b; Duncan MacLeod 340; Vicki Solomon 193; Mike Hinton 480; Werner Hertz 159; Eric Holt 38t; Marilyn Murata 313t; Lois Hurt 551; Mary Rose O’Leary 528; Jerry Schreiber 362; Juniper Hill 569b; Stephen Elrick 58; Paul Lindholm 396; Philip Gerrie 323b.


Greg Freemon led 36b to bring the class back to order. Leaders: Mary Chris Harrison 468; Midge Harder 73t; John Marr 400; Shelby Sampson 497; Tom Ostwald 268; Jeannette Nelson 209; Hans Guttmann 171; Scott Luscombe 481; Gaston White 236; Shelley Phillips 86; Tigre Lusardi 189. Jim Friedrich gave a blessing for lunch.


Rick Russell led 147b to bring the class back for the afternoon session. Leaders: Kiri Miller 76b; Richard DeLong 395; Laura Boyd Russell 202; Steven Levine 496; Darlene Dalton 309; Ann Heider 192; Ted Mercer 444; Claire Singleton 82t; Steve Warner 84 (in memory of Dean Slaton); Phil Jensen 504; Carla Smith 522; Mark Miller 176t; Leyland delRe 280; Carroll Lunsford 390; Greg Freemon 160b; Janet Herman 217; Aaron Girard 287; David Wright 542; Chris Noren 350; Nathan Rees 499; Scott Kennedy 454; Daniel Davis 300; Stan Jensen 142; Ron Cohen 254; Peter Ross 282.


Carolyn Deacy and Chris Thorman brought the class back by leading 155. Leaders: Tigre Lusardi 117; Chris Thorman 536; Kiri Miller 112; Carolyn Deacy 77t; Connie Stanton 108t; Jill Accetta 348b; Jim Friedrich 361; Will Fitzgerald 45t; Gaston White 186; Shelley Phillips 229; Duncan MacLeod 168; Marilyn Murata 472; Natalia Cecire 370; Mike Hinton 490; Mary Chris Harrison 181.

Carolyn Deacy, Chris Thorman, and Terry Moore led 323t as the closing song. The class was dismissed.

Sunday, January 15

Carolyn Deacy led 32t as the opening song. Jim Friedrich offered the opening prayer. Leaders: Carla Smith 47t; Arnold Zwicky 73b; Jeannette Ralston 81t; Stephen Elrick 220; Steve Helwig 436; Philip Gerrie 457; Steven Levine 164; Betty Herman 442; Rosie Wells 146; David Fetcho 380; Paul Lindholm 424; Rick Russell 349; Gaston White 66; Will Fitzgerald 448b; Carroll Lunsford 204; Leyland delRe 564.


Carla Smith led 56t to bring the class back to order. Leaders: Scott Kennedy 68b; Connie Stanton 143; Marjanne Pearson and Chris Thorman 200; Doug Olsen 189; Gretchen Muller 126; Jessica Beer 445; Jeanette Nelson 547; Jill Accetta 302; John Marr 335; Terry Moore 218; Susan Fetcho 430; Juniper Hill 50t; Jim Friedrich 275b; Lois Hurt 178; Patrick Teverbaugh 39t; Anne Heider 352; Betty Herman 61; Darlene Dalton 503.


Aaron Girard brought the class back to order leading 270. Leaders: Marilyn Murata 456; Janet Herman 421; Midge Harder 212; Steve Warner 86; Scott Luscombe 306.

Mary Rose O’Leary and Rick Russell conducted the memorial lesson. Rick Russell read the names of the deceased: Dorothy Clementine Jones—Florida; John Hocutt, Gerald Wootten, and Alice Edwards—Alabama; Phil Dodson and Carolyn Huckeba—Georgia; Mark Seiler—Maine; Larry Olszewski, Carl Ford, and Alice Mercer—Tennessee; Dean Slaton—Indiana; Al Frank and Vi Stark—Illinois; Mrs. Ketterly and John Langstaff—Massachusetts; Jack Accetta—Pennsylvania; Laura Downin—New Jersey; Mary Ellen Schaffer—Minnesota; Ann Weisenfeld—Texas; Lorna Burkett—Michigan; Noelle Hancock—Idaho; Stevie Seligman, Ed Cormier, and Jane Edwards—California; Dave Bartlett; Morey Coles; Don Jacobson; Adrian Maaskant; Ralph Curry; Mary Rose Curry; Benjamin Ayres; Tom Fuhr; Doug Roberts. Mary Rose O’Leary led 385b for the deceased. Ted Mercer led 179 as a special memorial for Dean Slayton.

Rick Russell led 34b for the sick and shut-ins: Myra Palmer, Edith Owen, and Ophelia Matthews—Texas; Max Tison—Illinois; Fumie Murata, Steve Pattie, and Robert Neilson—California; Matthew Sellens—Oregon; Don Ward; Imogene Bradshaw, Frances Brigham, and Amanda Denson-Brady—Alabama; Virginia Luscombe—New York; Violet Thomason—Georgia. David Fetcho closed the memorial with prayer.

Leaders: Mark Miller 162; Hans Guttmann 47b. David Fetcho gave the lunchtime blessing.


Claire Singleton led 40 to bring the class back to order for the afternoon session. Leaders: Mike Hinton 373; Mary Chris Harrison 399t; Greg Freemon 274t; Daniel Davis 344; Kiri Miller 203; Richard DeLong 411; Tigre Lusardi 207; Ted Mercer 296; Nathan Rees 201; Claire Singleton 455; Jerry Schreiber 169; Mary Rose O’Leary 318; Chris Noren 245; Chris Thorman 475; Laura Boyd Russell 384; David Wright 171; Tom Ostwald 504; Jenny Jensen 446; Eric Holt 34t; Carolyn Deacy 501; Aaron Girard 74b; Ed Aust and David Fetcho 172; Karen Schaffer 148; Peter Ross 31t.


Natalia Cecire brought the class back with 209. Leaders: Linda Selph 290; Stan Jensen 426t; Kiri Miller 37b; Shelby Sampson 49b; Lara Eilhardt 107; Carla Smith 76b; Gaston White 35; Anne Heider 362; Rick Russell 401; Leyland delRe 98; Mike Hinton 339; Jeanette Nelson 300; Ted Mercer 345b; Steve Warner 168; Richard DeLong 399b; Darlene Dalton 454.

The Resolutions report was given by Jill Accetta.

The Secretary reported that there were 164 people present on Saturday, and 136 on Sunday, representing twenty two states, provinces, and districts.

After announcements were made, the officers led 62 as the closing song. David Fetcho offered the closing prayer, and the class was dismissed.

Chairlady—Carolyn Deacy; Vice Chairman—Carroll Lunsford; Secretary—Terry Moore.