Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 2022 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Southwestern Baptist Theological Seminary

Fort Worth, Texas

January 27, 1996

The twelfth annual Sacred Harp Singing was held in Cowden Hall at Southwestern Baptist Theological Seminary, Fort Worth, Texas on Saturday before the fourth Sunday in January. This is the fifth year that the 1991 Revision of The Sacred Harp has been used, and it was an excellent singing. The morning session was called to order by Dr. William J. Reynolds who led the song on page 59. The morning prayer was led by Cliff Hackler. After a cordial welcome to all singers and opening comments, Dr. David Music was recognized as Chairman; Dr. Timothy Studstill as chairman of the Arranging Committee; and Mrs. Mariah Humphries as Secretary. The following leaders were then called: David Music 63; Gaylon Powell 133; Cliff Hackler 40; Barbara Moore 480; Kelly Beard 77b; Al Rogers 198; Leon Ballinger 137; Beverly Coates 56 (t? b?); Greg Economides 454; Ray Barnett 294; Bruce Coates 176b; Joan Babcock 49b; Charlene Wallace 225t; Donald Ross 178; David Howell 159; Reed Coates 39b; Avon Miller 50 (t? b?); Owen Ross 192; Sarah Coates 203.


Dr. David Music opened the second assembly by leading the song on page 155. The following leaders were called: Charles Whitmer 218; Diane Ross 354 (t? b?); Josh Rogan 268; Harold Hannock 274 (t? b?); Lawson Smith 100; Ryan Ross 276; Jennifer Rogan 328; Andrew Albers 118; Ernestine Pipkin 110; Michelle Rogan 142; Carlene Griffin 570; Esther Huckaby 358; Vivian Rogan 68b; A. A. Smith 418; Sharon Smith 418; Gary Rogan 285 (t? b?); Ken Smith 434; Elizabeth Rogan 215; Myra Palmer 318. Dr. David Music presented announcements. Judge Donald Ross concluded in prayer.


Dr. David Music opened the afternoon session by leading song on page 34b. The following leaders were called: Tim Studstill 569b; Mary Bachmann 146; Kelly Beard 327; Gaylon Powell 455; William J. Reynolds 128; Donald Ross 331; Barbara Moore 117; Charles Whitmer 504; Martha Miller 535; Leon Ballinger 84; Al Rogers 373; Myra Palmer 273; Beverly Coates 330 (t? b?); Charlene Wallace 441; Greg Economides 280; Ernestine Pipkin 186; Ray Barnett 354b; Bruce Coates 400; Carlene Griffin 171; Joan Babcock 122. Dr. David Music dismissed for break.


Diane Ross opened the next session by leading song on page 150. The following leaders were called: Kelly Beard 145 (t? b?); Lawson Smith 300; Reed Coates 31 (t? b?); Avon Miller 475; Vivian Rogan 282; Owen Ross 220; Josh Rogan 79; Sarah Coates 344; Sharon Smith 143; Gary Rogan 324; Harold Hannock 148; Michelle Rogan 81 (t? b?); Andrew Albers 424; Jennifer Rogan 67; A. A. Smith 383; Elizabeth Rogan 66; Ryan Ross 196. Dr. David Music led 45t as the final song then closed the session with prayer. The 1997 Sacred Harp Singing at Southwestern Seminary was announced for January 25, 1997.

Chairman—Dr. David Music; Secretary—Mrs. Mariah Humphries.