Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Huntsville Sacred Harp Singing

Burritt on the Mountain - A Living Museum, Huntsville, Alabama

Saturday, May 1, 2004

The twentieth annual Huntsville Sacred Harp Singing was held in the Old Country Church on the grounds of Burritt on the Mountain, located atop Monte Sano Mountain in Huntsville. The singing was called to order at 9:30 a.m. with Chairman Linton Ballinger leading 32t. Buddy Ballinger offered the morning prayer.

The class organized by selecting the following additional officers: Vice Chairman—David Ivey; Secretary—Amanda Ballinger; Arranging Committee—Lomax Ballinger.

Leaders: David Ivey 348b (in memory of Estelle Napier, H.A. Godsey, Jim Freyder, and Paul Frederick); Lomax Ballinger 312b; Amanda Ballinger 300; Sam Jones 445; Richard Ivey 135; Alexandra Makris 84; Doyce Bailey 147t; Norma Green and Nate Green 568; Phillip Ballinger 436; Judy Caudle 405; Coy Ivey and Elene Stovall 384; Ivalene Donaldson 343; Phil Summerlin 142; Cheyenne Ivey and Jessica Ivey 146; Henry Johnson 69b; Lela Crowder 100; Charles Meidinger 352; Bill Schrader 143; Donna Wootten 274t; John Hyde 313t; Jackson Harcrow 282; Betty Wright 410t.


The class resumed singing with Jimmy Ballinger leading 565. Leaders: Mark Brown, Matthew Brown, Andrew Brown, Rachel Ivey, Rachel Shavers, Tiffany Travis, and J.T. Travis 145b, 59; Frances Jones, Donald Jones, and Alan Jones 569b; John Plunkett and Mike Blackwell 377; Everett Blackwood 30b; Sandy Ivey 201; Leon Ballinger 480; Margaret Keeton 52b; Mark Carroll 365; Dan Hopper 451; Linda Sides 328; Ed Thacker 315.


The class resumed singing with Rodney Ivey leading 81t. Leaders: Glenn Keeton and Elizabeth Keeton 354t; Gary Leopold 159; Lisa Geist 222; Loyd Ivey 97; Alice Watkin 415; Laura Hale, Ryan Hale, and Adam Hale 192; Jennifer Allred 269; Ashley Brown 47b; Carol Fannin 399b; Hershell King 340; Daphene Causey 174; Joe Berry, Linda Berry, and Lomax Ballinger 45t; David Light 200.


The afternoon session was called together by Buddy Ballinger leading 101t. Leaders: Alan Jones 149; Margaret Thacker 452; Stuart Ivey 110; Josie Hyde 355; Charles McCravy 56t; Sandra Wilkinson 332; Sam Sommers 316; Susan Harcrow 400; Larry Ballinger 224; Rachel Allred 216; Bud Oliver 270; Glenda Hopper 33t; Wilton Donaldson 490; Gaston White 236; Linda Thomas and Shane Wootten 556; Danny Creel 383; Eric Wilson 63; Allison Ivey 273; Max Berueffy 382; Travis Keeton 392; Gravis Ballinger and David Ballinger 99; Tony Ivey and Scott Ivey 528; Elene Stovall 215; Shane Wootten 542; Mary Holcomb 421; J.L. Hopper 361; Karen Ivey, Clay Campbell, and Allison Ivey 137, 475; Ron Harper 358; Bob Simmons 532; Ken Robinson 68b; Wayne Hartman 35; Herby Bailey 347; Kenneth Fannin 49b; Penina Kane 61; Angela Jones and Alan Jones 294; Stephen Shearon 213t.

Following announcements, Chairman Linton Ballinger and Vice Chairman David Ivey led 62 as the closing song. Tony Ivey offered the closing prayer, and the class was dismissed.

The 2005 session of this singing will meet on Saturday, April 30th at Burritt Museum.

Chairman—Linton Ballinger; Vice Chairman—David Ivey; Secretary—Amanda Ballinger.