Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

All-California Sacred Harp Singing Convention

Templar’s Hall, Old Poway Park, Poway California

January 17-18, 2004

Saturday, January 17

The sixteenth annual All-California Sacred Harp Singing Convention met in Templars Hall, Old Poway Park in Poway California, on Saturday before the third Sunday in January. The singing was opened by Chris Thorman leading 72b. Susan Turpin offered the opening prayer. Jerry Schreiber led 36b; Carolyn Deacy 37b; and Betty Marvin 34b.

A business meeting was then called, and new officers were elected: Chairman—Marion Black; Vice Chairman—Beth Webb; Secretary—Jerry Schreiber.

Leaders: Midge Harder 32t; Jane Campbell 28b; Norma Ruptier 148; Susanna Ball 178; Carroll Lunsford 319; Mary Linn Bergstrom 474; Mimi Wright 31t; Jill Accetta 495; Beth Webb 300; Marilyn Murata 145b; Karen Huss 454; Pat Keating 183; Lorena Moore 47b; David Hough 384.


Beth Webb called the class back to order with 49t. Leaders: Ron Huss 475; Susan Turpin 203; John Marr 335; Larry Arnstein 150; Tom Ostwald 504; Greg Freemon 376; Anitra Kaye 448b; Carolyn Craig 195; Juanita Heyerman 159; Gary Smith 569b; Katharine Hough 372; Claire Singleton 163b; Henry Schuman 532; Shelley Phillips 448t; Claire Simon 84; David Rust 86; Michael Kaye 198; Laura Boyd Russell 399b.


Jon Giles called the class back to order with 108t. Leaders: Marion Black 287; Bob Meek 294; Stan Jensen 475; Jon Rand 404; Sarah Beasley Smith 290; Laura Shearin 547; Carla Smith 543; Daniel Davis 480; Betty Herman 421; Karen Willard 362; Janet Herman 442; Jon Giles 208; Jenny Jensen 192; Mike Hinton 373; Seth Holloway 274t; Sam Sommers 197. Susan Turpin offered grace for the noon meal.


Ginnie Ely called the class back to order after lunch leading 546. Leaders: Leon Ballinger 455; Richard DeLong 411; Tammy Heinsohn 479; Marlin Beasley 498; Ginnie Ely 196; Ted Mercer 352; Gaylon Powell 328; Steve Warner 218; Jeff Gauthier 89; Chris Thorman 73t; Rick Russell 299; Jerry Schreiber 236; Carolyn Deacy 77t; Pat Keating 216; Carroll Lunsford 100; Karen Huss 151; David Hough 371; Jill Accetta 330b; Marilyn Murata 568; Susan Turpin 387; David Rust 378b; Claire Singleton 189.


Larry Arnstein called the class back to order with 49b. Leaders: Midge Harder 383; Karen Willard 171; Gary Smith 565; Katharine Hough 269; Jon Giles and Carroll Lunsford 59; Shelley Phillips 491; Claire Simon 551; Stephen O’Leary 81t; Michael Kaye 162; Daniel Davis 146; Bob Meek 268.

Marion Black led 426 (t? b?) as the closing song. Susan Turpin offered a closing prayer, and the class was dismissed.

Sunday, January 18

Marion Black called the Sunday morning session to order by leading 31b. Leaders: Midge Harder 40; Jerry Schreiber 313t; Jeff Gauthier 451; Anitra Kaye 339; Norma Ruptier 63; Carroll Lunsford 390; Tom Ostwald 128; Carla Smith 310; Betty Marvin 143; Susanna Ball 66; Steve Warner 86; Claire Singleton 209; Jim Freidrich 168; Marilyn Murata 277; John Marr 159; Henry Schuman 528.


Marlin Beasley called the class back with 317b. Leaders: Beth Webb 215; Michael Kaye 282; Jon Giles 298; Ron Huss 164; Tammy Heinsohn 155; Cynthia Bodger 284; Janet Herman 377; Tara Covington 312b; David Rust 80t; Gaylon Powell 163t; Jane Campbell 474; Richard DeLong 123b; Marion Black 53; Stephen O’Leary 340; Bruce Hayes 497; Greg Freemon 365.


Pat Keating called the class back with 107. Leaders: Ginnie Ely 454; Sarah Beasley Smith 318; Betty Herman 430; Sam Sommers 386; Mike Hinton 146; Leon Ballinger 490; Mary Rose O’Leary 213t; Laura Boyd Russell 286; Juanita Heyerman 330 (t? b?); Jon Rand 385t; Laura Shearin 481.

The memorial lesson was held. Richard DeLong led 420 for the singers and loved ones who have passed away in the last year. Samuel Sommers spoke about Ruth Brown and led 285t in her memory. The deceased remembered were: Elder Don Smith, Ruth Brown, Lamar Smith, and Lavaughn Ballinger—Alabama; Myrtle Meek and Lee Shine—Kentucky; Bob Warner, Linda Jean Hoxie-Brown, LaVelle Ure, Leonie Boyd Erickson, Kay Eiko, Dianne Jones, Tom Sullivan, Polly Ann Baxter, Lee Schiff, and Howard Bodger—California; Miki Woodbridge—Connecticut; Jim Pelkey—Montana; Sue McCloud—Indiana; Chelsea Tyndall, Donna Willard Moser, and Rissa Miller—Arizona; Miriam Mahler Wilson Evans and Anna Wiedmann—Iowa; Lois Crump Smith—Tennessee; Mary Craig and Richard Goodrum—Texas; Johnny Cunningham—Massachusetts; Richard DeArmond—Ohio; Ruth Hall—Missouri; Robin Morford—Maryland.

Gaylon Powell led 45t for the sick and shut-ins: Ophelia Matthews, Verna Powell, William Reynolds, Kelly Beard, and Earnestine Pipkin—Texas; Beau Caldwell—Arkansas; Elaine Warner, Sophy Ann Lauchlan, Diane Getrich-Villegas, Don Sheppard, Bob Brown, Peggy Belland, Harry Belland, Anne Friend, and Carroll Lunsford (who will have surgery on Monday, January 19th)—California; Kim Milling and Stanley Brown—New York; Elsie Beasley and G.L. Hinton—Alabama; Johnny Jeans—Washington; Bob Smith and Kay Smith—Iowa; Caroline Inscoe—South Carolina; Jack Accetta—Pennsylvania; Ted Mercer—Illinois. Sam Sommers closed the memorial with prayer. Susan Turpin offered grace for the noon meal.


Beth Webb called the class back for the afternoon session leading 401. Leaders: Stan Jensen 503; Marlin Beasley 336; Jenny Jensen 312b; Karen Willard 428; Susan Turpin 546; Carla Fisher 274t; Shelley Phillips 72b; Rick Russell 240; Daniel Davis 344; Mia Unson 256 (?); Jill Accetta 76b; Mimi Wright 39t; Katharine Hough 333; Pat Keating 296; Claire Simon 228; Karen Huss 236; Carolyn Deacy 501.


Rick Russell called the class back to order leading 425. Leaders: Stephen Giacopuzzi 137; Gary Smith 31t; Barbara Losse 99; Seth Holloway 388; Marlin Beasley 323b; Richard DeLong 278b; Gaylon Powell 216; Ginnie Ely 349; Jon Giles 203; Sam Sommers 112; Leon Ballinger 120; Mike Hinton 436.

A business meeting was held to hear reports from various committees.

The Resolutions Committee, Henry Schuman and Sharon Kermiet, respectfully submits the following resolutions to the members of the 16th session of the All-California Sacred Harp Singing Convention. We resolve:

  • To give thanks to God who has blessed us with this opportunity to gather and sing His praise through the wonderful old songs.
  • To remember with respect and honor all lovers of Sacred Harp music, current and those who have gone before, all those who seek the old paths and walk therein.

We give thanks to:

  • The officers and committees who have done such a wonderful job to make this convention the great success that it has been.
  • All those who spent long hours cooking all the various delights which tempted us for lunch.
  • The staff at Old Poway Park, who assisted in the background to make the venue work well for us.
  • Last, but not least, the singers who came from near and far. It is you who make the singing.

We encourage all to return at this time next year for the 17th All-California Sacred Harp Singing Convention which will be held in Los Angeles.

Marion Black led 347 as the closing song. Susan Turpin offered the closing prayer, and the class was dismissed.

Chairman—Marion Black; Vice Chairman—Elizabeth Webb; Secretary—Jerry Schreiber.