Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 2022 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

James River Convention

Richmond, Virginia

November 18-19, 1995

Saturday, November 18

The fourth annual James River Convention was held on November 18 at the Parish Hall, Church of the Epiphany, and was called to order by Sue Hanson leading song on page 49t. The morning prayer was led by George Seiler. Pat Temple led song on page 34b; Blake Morris 101t; Ida Mae Leatherman 73b. Chairman Sue Hanson made announcements, and opened nominations for officers. The following were elected: President—Pat Temple; Vice President—Gail Doss; Secretary—Mary Wright; Treasurer—Blake Morris. The session was returned to the Arrangements Committee with the following leaders called: Kacy Pate 216; Stephen McMaster 532; Homer Rudolf 84; Mary K. Friday 191; Craig Baughan 178; Liz Cusick 504; Evan Duncan 299; Claire Chapin 502; Roland Hutchinson 287; Joyce Saxon 28b; George Seiler 347; Ella Wilcox 344; Becky Hart 270; Mary DeNys 63.


The class resumed singing with Kathy Manning leading song on page 186. Leaders: Fred Beardsley 143; Sarah Smith 318; Claudia Egelhoft 203; Nancy Lee Newell 163b; Peter Pate 168; Jean Seiler 200; Gary Smith 569b; John delRe 118; Paula McGray 308; Jamie Dalton 453; Alex Baillie 312t; Tim Slattery 340; Kelly Macklin 116; Marty DeNys 547; Tom Tucker 110; Hal Kunkel 384; Mary Hulburt 480; Blake Morris 133 for Donna Abrahams.


The afternoon session was brought together by Peter Pate leading songs on 37b and 31t. Leaders: Blake Morris, 408, “Weeping Mary”; Mary K. Friday 120; Fred Beardsley 100; Leyland delRe 144; Tommy Hall and John Daniel delRe 123b; Kathy Manning 260; Liz Cusick 267; Craig Baughan 229; Sue Hanson 148; Frank Evans 312b; Ida Mae Leatherman 45t; Bob Hall 222; Pat Temple 85; Gary Smith 68b; Stephen McMaster 269; Claire Chapin 86; Homer Rudolf 354b; Kacy Pate 372; Evan Duncan 66; Joyce Saxon 146.


Pat Temple brought the class to order leading song on page 117. Leaders: Roland Hutchinson 198; Nathan Roan 129; Becky Hart 142; George Seiler 183; John delRe 326; Ella Wilcox 479; Jean Seiler 209; Jamie Dalton 538; Paula McGray 528; Kelsey Taylor and Anna Taylor 345b; Tim Slattery 300; Claudia Egelhoft 273; Sarah Smith 75; Kathy Manning 551b for Dorcas Good; Alex Baillie 454; Marty DeNys 327; Kelly Macklin 282; Hal Kunkel 419; Nancy Newell 155; Mary DeNys 128; Mary Hulburt 145b; Kathy Manning 426t; Tom Tucker 324; Peter Pate 448b, 162. George Seiler led page 159 for the closing song, and dismissed the class with prayer.

Sunday, November 19

On Sunday morning the convention was called to order at the Dorey Park Convention Center by Pat Temple leading song on page 87. The morning prayer was led by George Seiler. Leaders: Blake Morris “Lovely Vine”; Sue Hanson 47t; Ida Mae Leatherman 81t; Kelly Macklin 171; Lynda Hambourger 317; Mary Hulburt 40; John Fedderson “Lambertville, and “Rosepine”; Tom Tucker 313b; Mary K. Friday 180; Liz Cusick 421; Craig Baughan 390; Gary Smith 34b; Joyce Saxon 99; Homer Rudolf 433; Kacy Pate 48t; Frank Evans 38t; George Seiler 497; Roland Hutchinson 242; Jean Seiler 492; Blake Morris 35.


Peter Pate called the class together leading song on page 29t. Leaders: Jamie Dalton 328; Paula McGray 201b; Tim Slattery 217; Miriam Kilmer 388; Brian Sears 48b; Sarah Smith 406; Alex Baillie 33t; Marty DeNys 510; Nancy Newell 306b; Steven Sabol 379; Mary DeNys 274t; John delRe 369.

The memorial lesson was opened by Mary Hulburt who invited Sarah Smith and Gary Smith to speak of Sarah Smith’s brother, Joe Beasley. Sarah Smith led song on page 384. Mary Hulburt read the names of the following deceased: Dorothy Taggart, Barton Rouse, Marjorie Pyle, Joseph Beasley, Daniel Rudolf, Robert Motindorfer, Dewey Williams, Roberta Adams, John S. “Jack” Chapin, Kay Chapin, Mary McCarty, John O. Duncan, Alan D. Davies, John Snowberg, Kenton Kilmer, Gen. Marvin Ball, young grandson of Hen Ide, Carter Ide, and Carol Depp. The sick were: Patricia Pate and Richard Atherton. Ida Mae Leatherman spoke of the fact that death is a part of life, the culmination of life and that we should consider it as the door into the light. Mary Hulbert led song on page 566 in memory of Yitzhak Rabin. Leaders: Kathy Manning 294; Bob Hall 218. Pat Temple led song on page 49t as the meal blessing, and George Seiler offered the prayer.


The afternoon session was brought together by Jamie Dalton leading song on page 67. Leaders: Ella Wilcox 297; John Daniel delRe and Tommy Hall 276; Leyland delRe 361; Kelsey Taylor and Anna Taylor 278b; Bev Oneida 236; Fred Beardsley 127; Stephen McMaster 112; Blake Morris “How Can I Keep From Singing”, for Mary Ann Detrana; John Fedderson 163b. Pat Temple recognized the attendees from their respective states: North Carolina, Pennsylvania; Maryland, Alabama, New Jersey, Massachusetts, and Virginia were represented. Jean Seiler presented a resolution of thanks to all of those committee members who made the convention a success. Pat Temple reopened singing with song on page 64. Leaders: Lynda Hambourger 551; Sarah Smith 401; Gary Smith 178; Jean Seiler 146; Paula McGray 228; Roland Hutchinson 535b; Hal Kunkel 475; Nancy Newell 156; Steve Sabol 368; Mary DeNys 523b; Kathy Manning 213t; Alex Baillie 455. The convention closed with a prayer from Chaplain George Seiler, and the singing of song on page 62.

Chairman—Pat Temple; Vice Chairman—Gail Doss; Secretary—Mary Wright.