Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

James River Convention

Richmond, Virginia

November 10-11, 2001

Saturday, November 10

The tenth annual James River Convention was held on the second Sunday and Saturday before in November. The Saturday session was held in Spence Hall, Second Baptist Church. The Sunday session was held at the Varina Masonic Lodge.

The class was called to order by outgoing Chairman Pat Temple leading song on page 48t. Craig Baughan offered the morning prayer.

Leaders: Jim North 147t; Mary Wright 65; Paula McGray 37b; Guy Bankes 77b; Sandra Hack Polaski 146; Stephen McMaster 203; Karen Stingle 106; D.J. Hatfield 212.

A business session was held with the following officers elected or appointed to serve: Chairman—Jim North; Vice Chairman—Sandra Hack Polaski; Secretary—Mary Wright; Treasurer—Stephen McMaster.

Leaders: Chris Sepic 107; Kelly Macklin 485; Jim Strube 481; Mary Wright 480; Craig Baughan 66; Leyland delRe 433; Tom Ivey 86; Blake Morris 179; John delRe 370; Don Polaski 352; Laura Densmore 542; Gail Doss 99; Hal Kunkel 392; Mary Ann Daly 479; Doron Henkin 42.


The class was called together by Chris Sepic leading song on page 73b. Leaders: Pat Temple 344; Paula McGray 291; Guy Bankes 532; Sandra Hack Polaski 504; Stephen McMaster 74 (t? b?); Karen Stingle 455; Fred Beardsley 475; D.J. Hatfield 175; Chris Sepic 569t; Kelly Macklin 540; Mary Wright 290; Craig Baughan 229; Leyland delRe 157; Tom Ivey 335; Blake Morris 505; John delRe 326; Don Polaski 112; Frank Evans 117; Laura Densmore 201; Gail Doss 277; Hal Kunkel 187; Mary Ann Daly 337; Doron Henkin 275b; Pat Temple 168; Jim North 49t. Craig Baughan offered the blessing for the noon meal.


The afternoon session was called to order by Chris Sepic leading song on page 38t. Leaders: Paula McGray 185; Guy Bankes 189; Sandra Hack Polaski 142; Karen Stingle 569b; Fred Beardsley 299; Sarah Davie 327; Stephen McMaster 441; D.J. Hatfield 536; Chris Sepic 228; Kelly Macklin 218; Mary Wright 121; Craig Baughan 566; Leyland delRe 528; Tom Ivey 195; Blake Morris 297; John delRe 32 (t? b?).

Stephen McMaster gave the Treasurer’s Report and led song on page 282. Leaders: Don Polaski 454; Frank Evans 300; Laura Densmore 270; Gail Doss 222.


Stephen McMaster brought the class to order leading song on page 40. Leaders: Hal Kunkel 430; Mary Ann Daly 298; Doron Henkin 302; Pat Temple 27; Paula McGray 110; Guy Bankes 351; Karen Stingle 551; Fred Beardsley 474; Sarah Davie 384; Stephen McMaster 446; D.J. Hatfield 267; Chris Sepic 350; Sandra Hack Polaski 163 (t? b?); Kelly Macklin 368; Craig Baughan 347; Leyland delRe 129; Tom Ivey 49 (t? b?).

Announcements were made. Craig Baughan dismissed the class with prayer.

A late afternoon session, organized by Blake Morris, featured new music and music from sources other than “The Sacred Harp, 1991 Edition.

Sunday, November 11

The Sunday session was called to order by Jim North who greeted the convention and led song on page 117. Leaders: Sandra Hack Polaski 142; Mary Wright 421; Pat Temple 481; Gail Doss 480; Don Polaski 276; Sarah Davie 171; Guy Bankes 556; Blake Morris 73b; Stephen McMaster 217; John Fedderson 513; Joni Seidenstein 278 (t? b?); Lynda Hambourger 352; Adrian Mariano 183; D.J. Hatfield 296; Doron Henkin 77t; Laura Densmore 475; Tom Ivey 497; Paula McGray 131 (t? b?); John delRe 125; Kelly Macklin 157; Karen Stingle 85; Frank Evans 86.


Blake Morris brought the class to order leading song on page 141. Leaders: Art Broadus 515; Jim North 34b; Sandra Hack Polaski 84; Mary Wright 270; Pat Temple 472; Mirian Kilmer and Tim Slattery 344; Gail Doss 543; Don Polaski 436; Sarah Davie 269; Guy Bankes 441; Blake Morris 442; Stephen McMaster 373; John Fedderson 370; Peter Pate 348 (t? b?).

Hal Kunkel presented the memorial lesson. He likened the sacred square as a source of musical and spiritual food to prevent feelings of separation and isolation that may be felt by the sick and shut-ins, and led song on page 330b. The sick and shut-ins remembered were: Kyra Bean—New York; Cora Cooper—Maryland; Judith Jauch—Minnesota; Peggy Scruton—Ontario; Donna Lou Tunison—Oregon.

Those who have died should be remembered with kindness and love and in a spirit of honor, learning, healing, and gratitude for their life. The deceased remembered were: Rita Coole and Dorothy Williard—Maryland; Dollie Hudgins and Jack Corley—Georgia; James W. Turner, Lillian Walker, Howard Stingle, Brady Fearnow, and Joe Norton—Virginia; Mary K. Friday—D.C.; Alice Gauthier—Rhode Island; Nancy Metz and Lloyd Neil—North Carolina; Anastasia Rokusek and Jerilyn Schumacher—Illinois; Linda Smart—New York; Joanna Sorlien and Bob Todd—Pennsylvania; Freeman Wootten—Alabama. The memorial lesson was closed with the singing of song on page 457.

Leaders: John Seidenstein 504; Lynda Hambourger 300; Adrian Mariano 430; D.J. Hatfield 398. Don Polaski offered the blessing for lunch.


The afternoon session was brought together by John Fedderson leading song on page 145b. Leaders: Doron Henkin 192; Laura Densmore 29t; Hal Kunkel 546; Lois Todd 148; Peter Pate 331; Tom Ivey 510; Paula McGray 101t; John delRe 369; Frank Evans 47 (t? b?); Karen Stingle 76 (t? b?); Kelly Macklin 260; Guy Bankes 444; John Fedderson 318; Leyland delRe 332; D.J. Hatfield 126; Adrian Mariano 203; Lynda Hambourger 368; Joni Seidenstein 350; Fred Beardsley 474; Stephen McMaster 503; Tim Slattery 228; Art Broadus 523; Sarah Davie 299; Blake Morris 71; Don Polaski 362; Gail Doss 35; Pat Temple 209; Mary Wright 180.


Leyland delRe brought the class together leading song on page 102. Leaders: Blake Morris 45 (t? b?) (for Norma Morris); Sandra Hack Polaski 198; Hal Kunkel 550; Peter Pate 222; Tom Ivey 501; John delRe 30b; Frank Evans and Karen Stingle 254; Kelly Macklin 376.

Guy Bankes presented the Resolutions Report thanking all of those without whom the convention would not have been a success:

pitching—Blake Morris, Paula McGray, Doron Henkin, and John Fedderson; kitchen committee; arrangement—Pat Temple, Gail Doss, and Kelly Macklin; Chaplains—Don Polaski, Chris Sepic, and Craig Baughan; facilities arrangements—Mary Wright on Saturday, and Gail Doss on Sunday; fliers, bookmarks, and forms—Judy North; publicity—Stephen McMaster and Blake Morris; registration—Norma Morris; and all the singers!

Leaders: Guy Bankes 120; John Fedderson 347; Leyland delRe 28b; D.J. Hatfield 345b; Adrian Mariano 542; Lynda Hambourger.

Announcements were made. Jim North led song on page 159, and song on page 62 as the closing song. The class was dismissed.

The James River Convention will meet next year on the second Sunday and Saturday before in November, November 9-10, 2002.

Chairman—Jim North; Vice Chairman—Sandra Hack Polaski; Secretary—Mary Wright.