Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Calhoun County Convention

Mt. Moriah Primitive Baptist Church, between Anniston and Jacksonville, Alabama

September 16-17, 2000

Saturday, September 16

The eighty-sixth session of the Calhoun County Sacred Harp Convention met at Mt. Moriah Primitive Baptist Church in the Four Mile Community between Anniston and Jacksonville, Alabama on the third Sunday and Saturday before in September.

The class was called to order by Roy Nelson leading song on page 32t. Larry Rainge led the opening prayer. Ruth Brown welcomed everyone and expressed her appreciation to all who came to support the singing.

Roy Nelson led song on page 274t; B.J. Harris 303, 503; Evelyn Harris 47t, 155; Pearl Guier 405, 312b.

The class organized with the following officers elected or appointed to serve: Chairman—Roy Nelson; Vice Chairman—B.J. Harris; Secretary—Evelyn Harris; Arranging Committee—Pearl Guier and Hester Edwards; Memorial Committee—Mary Florence Smith.

Leaders: Roy Nelson 128; Coy Ivey 63, 61; Dennis George 285b, 285t; Ginnie Prater 318, 460; Felton Denney 299, 73t; Reba Dell Windom 77t, 186; Max Berueffy 208, 445b.


B.J. Harris brought the class together leading song on page 425b. Leaders: Henry Johnson 418, 414; Sonja Randall 335, 87; Jarrod George 300; Tommy George and Jarrod George 354b, 475; Kelly House 112; Coy Ivey and Kelly House 384; Milton Oliver 222, 314; Leola Smith 124, 213 (t? b?); S.T. Reed 205, 379; Louise Holland 37b, 273; Bobby Jackson 378t, 378b; Elene Stovall 99; Kelly House and Elene Stovall 436.


The afternoon session was called to order by Roy Nelson leading song on page 146. Leaders: Bud Oliver 39b, 215; Rene Green 217, 350; Nate Green and Norma Green 127, 145b; Charlene Wallace 187, 345t; Charles Wood 196, 197; Ora Martin 426b, 349; Jimmie Denney 46, 48t; Lou Cotney 172, 212; Eunice Webb 392, 569b; Everette Denney 34b, 119; Shelbie Sheppard 142; Hershell King 340, 80b; Joan Aldridge 145t, 182; Glenda Watkins 282, 45t; Jeff Sheppard 473, 434; Kennith Calvert 143, 159; Sherrell Durand 36b, 40; Bill Windom and Shelbie Sheppard 28b; Charlene Wallace 455.

Announcements were made. Roy Nelson led song on page 97 as the closing song. The class was dismissed with prayer led by Felton Denney.

Sunday, September 17

The Sunday morning session was called together by Roy Nelson leading songs on pages 30t and 101t. Lamar Smith led the morning prayer.

Leaders: B.J. Harris 225t, 430; Evelyn Harris 87; Mary Florence Smith 31t, 141; Pearl Guier 49t, 59; Ruth Brown 270, 186; B.M. Smith 448b, 28b; Alice Edwards 104, 73b, 271b; Randall Smith and Lamar Smith 76b, 36b; Lou Cotney 384, 189; Jarrod George 137, 276; Eloise Watkins 460, 348b.


B.J. Harris called the class together leading song on page 503. Leaders: Richard Mauldin 34b, 72b; Nancy Allen 108t; Earlis McGraw 77b, 148; Sonja Randall 145t, 128; Rodney Ivey 182, 300; Linda Thomas 345b, 47 (t? b?); Louis Hughes 34t, 37b; Willie Mae Moon 47b, 434; Richard Ivey 138t, 288.

Mary Florence Smith presented the memorial lesson and asked each of us to remember those who have passed away and what they meant to the Sacred Harp singings.

The list of deceased remembered were: Virgil Phillips, Ruby Phillips, Karen House, Shelton Williamson, Allene Stanford, Rosa Hughes, Marie Aldridge, Ronnie Watkins, Don Wilkerson, and Gene Wakefield.

The list of sick and shut-ins remembered were: Harvey Austin, Oakie Austin, Gertrude Norton, Lewis Norton, Polly Moore, I.V. McWhorter, Mozelle Sheppard, Eula Johnson, Lonnie Rogers, Vivian Rogers, and Tommye Denson Maultin.

Mary Florence Smith led song on page 549 for all the deceased and shut-ins and closed the memorial with prayer.


The afternoon session was called to order by Roy Nelson leading song on page 318. Leaders: Bud Oliver 332, 42; Pam Nunn 280, 528; Dennis George 269, 373; Eunice Webb 496, 290; Henry Johnson 284 (in memory of Gene Wakefield), 435b; Charlene Wallace 192, 441; David Ivey 90; Leola Smith 203, 207; Shelbie Sheppard 556; Shelbie Sheppard and David Ivey 168; Stuart Ivey 196, 222; Glenda Watkins 100, 124; Joan Aldridge 454; Karen Ivey 217; Karen Ivey and Rodney Ivey 99; Nellie Mae White 378t; Kennith Calvert 40, 159; Margie Smith 569 (t? b?); Louise Nelson 350; Jeff Sheppard and Don Swearinger 496, 63; Jarrod George and Stuart Ivey 358, 299; Hester Edwards and Shelbie Sheppard 490 (for Cecil Edwards).

Announcements were made. Roy Nelson and B.J. Harris led song on page 97 as the closing song. Louis Hughes dismissed the class with prayer.

Chairman—Roy Nelson; Vice Chairman—B.J. Harris; Secretary—Evelyn Harris.