Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 2022 2023 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Lookout Mountain Convention

Pine Grove Church, Collinsville, Alabama

August 24-25, 2013

Saturday, August 24

The 110th session of the Lookout Mountain Sacred Harp Singing Convention held on the fourth Sunday and Saturday before in August was called to order by Wayne Reed and Scot Oliver leading 32t. Wayne welcomed everyone, and dedicated the convention to all deceased members of the Lookout Mountain Convention, organized in 1904. Henry Johnson offered the opening prayer.

Leaders: Wayne Reed and Scot Oliver 100; S.T. Reed 206; Cindy Tanner 155; Judy Caudle 85; B.M. Smith 72b; Shirley Figura 361; Erica Hinton 138t; Rebecca Browne 564; Ron Harper 138b; Nathan Rees 462; Anne Drexler 277; James Eldridge 89; Mary Wright 328; Ed Thacker 75; Carolyn Thompson 399b; Angela Myers 436; Phil Summerlin 354t; Robert Chambless 145b; Adrian Eldridge 547.


Wayne Reed and Scot Oliver led 108b to bring the class back to order. Leaders: Richard Ivey and David Gooch 47t; Virginia Eldridge 570; Nate Green and Norma Green 96.

A business session was held and the following officers were elected or appointed to serve: Honorary Chairman—S.T. Reed; Vice Chairmen—Wayne Reed and Scot Oliver; Secretaries—Judy Caudle and Alanna Blanks; Arranging Officer—Cindy Tanner; Finance Committee—Rodney Ivey, Scot Oliver, and Donnie Reed; Memorial Committee—Wayne Reed and Alanna Blanks; Chaplains—Wayne Reed and Jerry Reed.

Leaders: Shane Wootten 56t (in memory of Barrett Ashley); Elene Stovall 200; Eli Hinton 77t; Rebecca Over 306; Karen Rollins and Denney Rogers 225t; Roberta Strauss 269; David Brodeur 189; Daniel Lee 171; Bea Aaron 475; Pat Temple 373; Jim Carnes 440; Judy Chambless 540 (in memory of Julietta Haynes and in honor of Lou Cotney); Bridgett Kennedy 383; Hubert Nall 212; Michael Thompson 455; Gail Doss 66.


The class was brought back to order by Rodney Ivey and Scot Oliver leading 343. Leaders: Daphene Causey 192; Scott Ivey 33b (in memory of Lonnie Rogers); Jim Aaron 163b; Paula Oliver 110; Henry Johnson 409; Boyd Scott 358.

Karen Rollins, Shane Wootten, and Richard Ivey, representing the Sacred Harp Publishing Company, presented a certificate of appreciation to Karen Freund, posthumously honoring Jerry Enright for his dedication to the promotion and preservation of Sacred Harp singing and traditions.

Leaders: Riley Lee 296; Paul Figura 178 (in memory of Jim Hearne); Kelsey Ivey 426t; Michael Walker 193; Margie Smith 499 (in memory of Lonnie Rogers, Vivian Rogers, and Jeff Sheppard); Tim Morton 175; Pam Nunn 300; Ryan Bowman 67; Darrell Swarens and Paula Oliver 314 (in memory of Milton Oliver); Gary Gronau 430; Rodney Ivey and Richard Ivey 270.


The afternoon session was called to order by Cindy Tanner leading 146. Leaders: Jackson Fleder 73t; Daniel Bearden 294; Kendra Strickland 30t; Lynne deBenedette 426b; Erin Johnson-Hill 434; Anna Hinton 40; Karen Ivey 182; Linton Ballinger 224; David Carlton 332 (in memory of Bud Oliver); Matt Hinton 460; Rebecca Eldridge 325; David Ivey and Mairye Bates 551; Ann Jett 327; Karen Freund 42 (in memory of Bud Oliver); Buell Cobb 69b; Reba Windom 208 (in memory of Aunt Woodie); Jeannette DePoy 112; Nicole Bowman 542; Katherine Eldridge 153; Judy Mincey 424; Erica Martinez 417; Doug Conn and Linda Thomas 500; Wanda Capps 546; Cathy White 268; Susan Cherones 209; Cheyenne Ivey 176b; Mary Ruth Stiefel 322; Jesse P. Karlsberg and Lauren Bock 532; Susan Harcrow 215; Loyd Ivey 283; Jeanette Dollar 101t; Donnie Reed 119; Alanna Blanks 405; Christie Finley 73t.

Wayne Reed, Scot Oliver, S.T. Reed, and Donnie Reed led 46 as the closing song. Jerry Reed dismissed the class with prayer.

Sunday, August 25

The Sunday session of the Lookout Mountain Sacred Harp Singing Convention was called to order by Wayne Reed and Scot Oliver leading 82t. The morning prayer was offered by Donnie Reed.

Leaders: Wayne Reed and Scot Oliver 59; Donnie Reed 235; Chris Ballinger 215; Kelsey Ivey 65; Cathy White 63; Ed Thacker 421; Erin Johnson-Hill 129; Ryan Bowman 28t; Louis Hughes 448t; Boyd Scott 58; Darrell Swarens 507; Jackson Harcrow and Jamey Wootten 277; Jerry Kitchens 30t; Riley Lee 330b; Daniel Lee 328; Rebecca Over 428; Larry Ballinger 403; Roberta Strauss 203; Scott Ivey 445.


Rodney Ivey, Scot Oliver, and Paula Oliver led 145b to bring the class back to order. Leaders: Richard Mauldin and T.J. Mauldin 133; Gail Doss 547; Tim Morton 510; Katherine Eldridge 56b; David Brodeur 546; Lauren Bock 371; Gravis Ballinger 182; Kendra Strickland 282; Richard Ivey and David Gooch 472; Judy Mincey 468; James Eldridge 187; Anne Drexler 335; Robert Chambless and Judy Chambless 527; Wayne Jones 480; Alanna Blanks, Eric Blanks, Emma Blanks, Bryant Beard, and Arleigh Beard 551.


Cindy Tanner led 76b to bring the class back to order. Leaders: Henry Johnson 70b; Donna Wootten 314; David Light 436; Pat Temple 39t; David Ivey and Karen Ivey 172; Rebecca Eldridge 299; Earl Ballinger 439; Shirley Figura 318; Jesse P. Karlsberg 360; Charlene Wallace 283; Marty Wootten and Jamey Wootten 273; Michael Spencer 278t; Virginia Eldridge 382; Carolyn Thompson 53; Linda Thomas 131b; John Plunkett 446; Elene Stovall 142.


The afternoon session began with Rodney Ivey and Scot Oliver leading 389. Leaders: Mary Wright 477; Nicole Bowman 169; Adrian Eldridge and Virginia Eldridge 279; Matt Hinton and David Kawalski 168; Paula Oliver 222; Courtney Bain and S.T. Reed 401; Lynne deBenedette and Karen Freund 30b.

The memorial lesson was conducted by Wayne Reed and Alanna Blanks. Wayne spoke, and they led 421 in honor of the following sick and shut-ins: Shelbie Sheppard, Carroll Lunsford, Josephine Denney, Lou Cotney, Ozella Blackmon, Josie Hyde, Carlene Griffin, Raymond Hamrick, Mary Francis Forbes, Eugene Forbes, Toney Smith, Stella Pratt, Margaret Thacker, Marlen Rust, David Rust, Wilburn Ellison, Bill Aplin, and Betty Wright. Richard Ivey led 566.

Wayne spoke in memory of the following deceased: Bud Oliver, Lessie Dean Reed, Lela Mae Wagner, Ardell Turnure, Jeff Sheppard, Charles Wright, Charles Creel, Willard Wright, and Gertrude DeLong—Alabama; Jim Hearne—Missouri; Violet Thomason—Georgia; Clayton Ezell—Tennessee; Evelyn Steinruck—Pennsylvania; Doris Namm—New York. Wayne Reed and Scot Oliver led 131t. David Ivey led 540 (WB) in memory of Lela Mae Wagner and Ardell Turnure. Rodney Ivey and Eloise Wootten led 39t in memory of Bud Oliver. Shane Wootten, Eloise Wootten, Marlon Wootten, Larry Wootten, Levon Wootten, Patricia Wootten, Marty Wootten, and Jamey Wootten led 199 (LD) in memory of Lessie Dean Reed.

Leaders: Nathan Rees 556; Rebecca Browne 411; Tim Jones 565; Daphene Causey and Sharon DuPriest 434; Bridgett Kennedy and Angela Myers 216; Jessa Cherones 268; Jackie Tanner 73t; Jeannette DePoy 186; Gary Gronau and Coy Ivey 384; Daire O’Sullivan 442; Paul Figura 147t; Loyd Ivey and Susan Harcrow 426b; Cheyenne Ivey 84; Nate Green and Norma Green 418; Mary Ruth Stiefel 220; Larry Brasher, Louise Brasher, Lee Couche, and Ellen Harris 47t; Shane Wootten, Syble Adams, and Levon Wootten 348b; Susan Cherones 300; Loretta Smith and Ezra Loyd 448b; Cindy Tanner 512.

Announcements were made. Wayne Reed and Scot Oliver led 146 as the closing song. Wayne Reed offered the closing prayer, and the class was dismissed.

Honorary Chairman—S.T. Reed; Vice Chairmen—Wayne Reed and Scot Oliver; Secretaries—Judy Caudle and Alanna Blanks