Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 2022 2023 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Midwest Convention

Chicago, Illinois

May 30-31, 2009

Saturday, May 30

The annual Midwest Convention was held at Ida Noyes Hall on the University of Chicago campus. In the absence of chairpersons Anne Heider and Steve Warner, Vice Chairpersons David Barford and Debbie Barford opened the convention leading 34b. Jim Swanson offered the opening prayer. David Barford read a message of welcome from Anne Heider and Steve Warner.

Leaders: Deborah Jedynak 114; Benjamin McKay 312b; Susan Geil 474; Brad Bahler 550; Jan Ketelle 212; Peggy Mistak 159; Randy Neufeld 171; Bob Sullivan 45t; Nathan Barford 178; Ryan Wheeler 107; Michael Mosley 430.

A business meeting was held with the following officers elected or appointed: Chairpersons—David Barford and Debbie Barford; Vice Chairperson—Richard DeLong; Secretary—Rachel Adelstein. The business meeting was closed.


David Barford and Debbie Barford brought the class back to order leading 215. Leaders: Jerry Enright 383; Christopher Wesolowski 143; Brad Oglesby 142; Ann Miczulski 145b; Carol Munro Mosley 455; Peter Bradley 228; Greg Creech 74b; Karen Edwards 99; Gillian Inksetter 151; Matt Hinton 365; Carolyn Deacy 547; Ginny Landgraf 397; Annie Grieshop 168; Aldo Ceresa 68t.


David Barford and Debbie Barford brought the class back to order leading 36b. Leaders: Megan Jennings 436; Matt Wells 163t; Bridgett Hill 391; Christine Stevens 542; Donna Gunderson-Rogers 480; Mandy Brady 268; Steve Luttinen 387; Lucy O’ Leary 340; Suzanne Flandreau 276; Nicoletta Rogers 426t; Rochelle Lodder 148; Katie White 40; Gary Gronau 192; Eleanor Haase 384. Herb Schroeder offered prayer for the noon meal.


Richard DeLong brought the class back to order leading 403 (for Jeannette and Scott DePoy). Leaders: Mark Robeck 47b; Karen Bahler 155; Joe Todd 106; Kathy Williams 273; Sharon DuPriest 189; James Nelson Gingerich 34t; Lisa Bulawsky 217; Ted Johnson “Boulder”; Richard DeLong 419; Judy Mincey 468; James Page 272; Cassie Allen 442; Judy Caudle 411; Daphene Causey 434; Reba Windom 216; Mary Rose O’ Leary 300; Paul Wyatt 460; Denise Kania 203; Molly Whedbee 70t; Tom Malone 558.


Rachel Adelstein brought the class back to order leading 128. Leaders: Becky Browne 299; Kiri Miller 564; Robert Meek 344; Jim Pfau 475; Michael Appert 464; Ray Rechenberg 31t; Sarah Burghardt and Birch Burghardt 288; Jason Martin 180; Kay Huener 38b; Jesse Pearlman Karlsberg 498; Virginia Warren 85; Beth Todd 335; Cathryn Bearov 368; James Baumgartner 112; Nathan Zweig 170; Brian How 313b; Cecelia Kramer 84; Jan May 146; Jo Schultz 350.

David Barford and Debbie Barford led 122 as the closing song. Ryan Wheeler offered the closing prayer, and the class was dismissed.

Sunday, May 31

The Sunday session of the Midwest Convention was opened at 9:30 a.m. by David Barford and Debbie Barford leading 207. David Barford thanked the University of Chicago Folklore Society for their help in obtaining the hall. Ryan Wheeler offered prayer.

Leaders: Jim Helke 157; Jeff Breting 350; Anita Shaperd 82t; Darrell Swarens 198; Kris Richardson 497; Benny Harnish 282; Ann Missavage 454; Don Keeton 317; Martha Henderson 548; Lauren Bock 373; Marcia Johnson 218; Gerry Hoffman 176b; Barbara Swetman 485; Jo Dell Albi 26; Kristi Harju 500; Karen Swenson 291; Beth Huener 532; Steve Rogers 439.


Richard DeLong brought the class back to order leading 67. Leaders: Samuel Sommers 386; Lisa Grayson 383; Beverly Rose Enright 515; Will Gilman 114; Sasha Maslanka 354b; Lori Graber 228; Cheri Hardy 564; Melanie Hauff 421; Karen Isbell 448t; Robert Raymond 89; Julie Vea 430; Grace Scrimgeour 216; Eddie Mash 234; Kim Bahmer 384; Megan Dunning 76b; Ted Mercer 501.


Mary Rose O’Leary brought the class back to order leading 213t. Leaders: Jim Swanson 396; Mark Dawson 236; Nancy Koester 569b.

Robert Meek conducted the memorial lesson. Ted Johnson read the names of the following sick and shut-ins: John Plunkett, Anne Ballard, Mary Wood, Charlie Derleth, Paul Figura, Paula Ogren, Joanne Bowman, Tara Long, Sean Jones, Edith Lovinger, George Mosley, Bronwyn Lommel, Violet Thomason, Eugenia Sampson Minor, Bob Scorgie, Bob Anderson, Johanna Fabke, Madeleine O’ Brien, Cindy Escobedo, Doris Littrell, and Connie Karduck. Eddie Mash led 474 in their honor.

Ted Johnson read the names of the following deceased: Richard Grayson, John Taylor, Eleanor Phillips, Betty Jean Wise—Illinois; Pauline Childers—Michigan; Lilia Springer—Georgia/Wisconsin; Bud Ogren—California; Katherine Warren—New York; John Etheridge, Bob Fort, Pat Murphy Chambers—Florida; Shirley Mosley—Arizona; Bethalee Harpst—Ohio; Frank Block, Lee Rogers—Georgia; William Reynolds—Tennessee; Bob Brewer, Peg Hess—Pennsylvania; Kat Kinkade—Virginia; Evelyn Russell—Massachusetts; Lorin Blackstad—Minnesota; Frank Hataway—Alabama. Robert Meek spoke for the deceased and led 235 in their memory. Ryan Wheeler closed the memorial lesson with prayer.

Ryan Wheeler offered prayer before lunch.


Carol Munro Mosley and Michael Mosley brought the class back to order leading 436 in honor of Michael’s twenty-first birthday. Leaders: Bob Borcherding 113; Sue Kessell 362; Judy Hauff 250; John Seaton 47t; Daniel Braithwaite 531; Clare Cardy 209; Kathy Williams 222; Matt Hinton 212; Cassie Allen 542; Jesse Pearlman Karlsberg 428; Daphene Causey 304; Judy Mincey 347; James Page 505; Molly Whedbee 319; Kiri Miller 521.


Ginny Landgraf brought the class back to order leading 290. Leaders: Rachel Adelstein 91; Carolyn Deacy 29t; Reba Windom 269; Judy Caudle and Bridgett Hill 440; Marjorie Matthews 193; Jan May 503; Sharon DuPriest 137; Denise Kania 36b; Aldo Ceresa 422; Gillian Inksetter 297; Jan Ketelle 448b; Robert Meek 287; Jo Schultz 486; Becky Browne and Gary Gronau 270 (for Jeannette Wells); Richard DeLong 411; Jim Pfau 328; Bridgett Hill 377.

A business meeting was held for the purpose of hearing reports from various committees. The Finance Committee reported that expenses were nearly met. The Secretary reported that 159 songs were led by 132 leaders, and that singers had attended from 20 states and 1 province of Canada. The Resolutions Committee thanked all who had a hand in the Convention and reported that the Convention was resolved to meet again next year. The business meeting was concluded.

Announcements were made. David Barford, Debbie Barford, Richard DeLong, Rachel Adelstein, and Ginny Landgraf led 62 as the closing song, while those who wished took the parting hand. Ryan Wheeler offered the closing prayer, and the class was dismissed.

Chairpersons—David Barford and Debbie Barford; Vice Chairperson—Richard DeLong; Secretary—Rachel Adelstein