Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 2022 2023 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Henagar-Union Convention

Liberty Church, Henagar, Alabama

July 1-2, 2006

Saturday, July 1

The 90th session of the Henagar-Union Convention was called to order at 9:00 a.m. by Chairman David Ivey leading 32t. The morning prayer was offered by Louis Hughes. Laura Clawson and Joel Jenkins were selected to serve as the Arranging Committee for Saturday.

Leaders: Rodney Ivey 175; Shane Wootten 36b; Norma Green and Nate Green 136; Laura Clawson 142; Robert Walker 493; Judy Chambless 82t; Milton Oliver 176t; Dennis George 148; Sandie Scott 408; Marlon Wootten 99; Ed Thacker 302; Jeannette DePoy and Elaine Evans 430; Randall Smith and Rodney Ivey 137; Betty Wright 384; Barrett Patton 63; David Killingsworth 277; Frank Strickland 84; Mike Grimes 496; Allison Dodson, Katie Curry, and Sarah Curry 59; Karen Swenson 460.


Shane Wootten brought the class back together leading 108t. Leaders: S.T. Reed 109; Joanne Fuller 131b; Ron Harper and Brad Martin 77t; Gary Rogan 300; Robert Chambless 480; David Carlton 228; Cathy Tucker 454; Kristie Harju 159; Aldo Ceresa 215; Jimmy Ballinger and Lomax Ballinger 299; Rodney Willard, Barbara Willard, and Rodney Ivey 147t; Velton Chafin 488; Bill Beverly 297; Glenn Latimer 348t; Louis Hughes, Jr., Katie Curry, and Sarah Curry 208; Pat Temple 72b; Gary Gronau 163t; Wilton Donaldson 100; Naomi Fricks 350; Sandra Wilkinson 177; Jeremy Shipp 260.


The class was brought together with Wayne Wootten leading 376. Leaders: Pam Nunn 220; Brittany Lea and Dana Borrelli 171; Scott Kennedy 163b; Karen Ivey and Jonathan Pendleton 354b; Bea Carnathan 80b; Amanda Owen 39t; Brad Bahler and Karen Bahler 448t; Tom Tucker 339; Karen Rollins 178; Martha Beverly 504; Pete Mathewson 145b; Wayne Jones 270; Brenda Merritt 542; Joan Aldridge 280; Louis Hughes and Jeff Adcock 47b; Catherine Rogan 224; Carolyn Thompson 550; Charlie Derleth, Becky Browne, and Gary Gronau 137. The lunch blessing was asked by Ron Harper.


The afternoon session opened with David Ivey leading 76b. Leaders: Joyce Walton 543; Bridgett Hill 377; Jeb Owen 318; Jesse Roberts 149; Betty Shepherd 216; Scott Curran 328; Daphene Causey 434; Reba Windom 411; Sam Sommers 548; Tom Owen 347; Shelbie Sheppard 195; Lauren Hall 455; Vivian Rogan 282; Blake Sisemore, Will Kirby, Drew Smith, and Jackson Harcrow 385b.

S.T. Reed counted the ballots and announced the elected officers: Chairman—Shane Wootten; Vice Chairman—David Ivey; Secretary—Norma Latham Green. Tony Ivey and Susan Harcrow were appointed as the Memorial Committee.

Leaders: Richard Ivey and Sarah Jenkins 182; Liz Owen 475; Tom Malone 240; Louis Hughes 540; Lela Crowder 186.


The class resumed singing with Shane Wootten and Rodney Ivey leading 345b. Leaders: Amanda Denson and Donna Wootten 376; Emily Thompson 392; Cindy Tanner, Harrison Creel, Wanda Capps, Flarce Creel, Cassie Allen, and Billy Allen 498; Leah Latimer 358; Jeff Sheppard 421; Jesse Pearlman Karlsberg 32b; Becky Browne 426 (t? b?); John Merritt and Bill Beverly 86; Darrell Swarens 336; Mike Hinton 527; Karen Clark 173; Mary Wright 71; Donna Gunderson Rogers 503; Richard Schmeidler 287; Jo Pendleton 68b. Following announcements Shane Wootten, David Ivey, and Rodney Ivey led 323t as the closing song, and the Saturday session was dismissed with prayer by Tom Owen.

Sunday, July 2

The Sunday Session was called to order at 9:30 a.m. with Chairman Shane Wootten leading 144. The morning prayer was led by Ed Thacker. Leaders: David Ivey 217; Rodney Ivey 203; Norma Green 283; Joel Jenkins 480; Gene Pinion 48t; Hubert Nall 168; John Bahler and Robert Bahler 312b; Rebecca Eldridge 37b; Kalee Duncan 458; Joe Nall 296; James Eldridge 59; Alexandra Makris 171; Don Clark 151; Scott Ivey 454; Jennifer Allred 362; Nate Green 124; Linda Sides 32t; Jessica Findley 384; Aaron Wootten 448t; Sharon DuPriest and Daphene Causey 304; Bobby Watkins 406; Matt Hinton and Troy Stains 503; Joanne Fuller 39t; Linton Ballinger 224.


David Ivey called the class back together leading 85. Leaders: Bob Meek 441; Beverly Coates 328; John Etheridge 211; Cheyenne Ivey and Regina Hughes 282; Gravis Ballinger and Larry Ballinger 270; Jared Wootten, Hayden Wootten, Jamey Wootten, and Randall Smith 36b. Jared Wootten, Hayden Wootten, Jamey Wootten, and Marty Wootten 99; Lynne deBenedette 220; Judy Caudle 507; Henry Johnson 278b; Coy Ivey and grandchildren, Richard Ivey, Zach Ellis, Sumner Ellis, Ivey Ellis, Jessica Ivey, Cheyenne Ivey, and Worth Ellis 82t, 87; Phil Summerlin 142.

Chairman Shane Wootten entertained a motion, which was seconded and passed, recognizing Loyd Ivey (who reached age 80 (t? b?) on June 26th) as Honorary Chairman for his long-time support of the Henagar-Union Convention and other Liberty Church singings through maintenance of the church building and grounds, service as lemonade maker, and other behind-the-scenes work.

Tony Ivey and Susan Harcrow conducted the memorial lesson. Susan Harcrow led 90 to honor the sick and shut-ins. Tony Ivey led 324 in memory of the deceased. Phil Summerlin closed the memorial with prayer.

Leaders: Shane Wootten 505 (CB); Earl Ballinger 177; Laura Clawson 442; Josh Rogan 421; Charles Franklin 176t.


The afternoon session was brought together with Rodney Ivey and Larry Ballinger leading 81t. Leaders: Liz Meitzler 245; Lisa Geist, Chris Ballinger, and Beth O’Dell 120; Cheryl Foreman 546; Betty Shepherd and Reba Windom 196; Stanley Smith 269; Coy Ivey 384; Tommie Spurlock 430; Ginny Landgraf 478; Susan Harcrow 496; Jaren Gresham and Jackie Tanner 335; David Light 200; Jarrod George and Dennis George 532; Mark Brown 419; Henry Guthery 149; Cindy Tanner 76b; Dewayne Wootten 572 (CB); Frank Strickland 551; Jonathan Pendleton 354b; Brad Bahler, Karen Bahler, John Bahler, Robert Bahler, and Naomi Frick 128; Cassie Allen and Betty Shepherd 216; Daryl Chesney 492; Martha Underwood, Marian Biddle, Teresa Bethune, Candice Sizemore, Lilly Underwood, Molly Ivey, Doug Ivey, and Loyd Ivey 501 (CB); Terry Wootten 47t (in memory of Andrew Ivey).


Joel Jenkins and Rodney Ivey brought the final session of the convention together leading 146. Leaders: Charlie Derleth, Gary Gronau, and Becky Browne 348b; Connie Stanton and Scott Kennedy 66; Karen Swenson and Donna Gunderson Rogers 479; Philip Gilmore, Jewel Wootten, Willie Mae Moon, and Linda Thomas 30b; Drew Smith, Will Kirby, Jackson Harcrow, and Blake Sisemore 389; Karen Ivey and Richard Ivey 273; Ed Thacker 112; Donna Gunderson Rogers 565; Marlon Wootten, Eloise Wootten, Hobert Ivey, Sylvia Ivey, Tony Ivey, Sandy Ivey, and Lorrie Wootten 410t; Will Kirby and Wayne Wootten 492 (WB). Chairman Shane Wootten thanked the arranging committee for a job well done. Following announcements, Shane Wootten, Rodney Ivey, David Ivey, and Tony Ivey led 501 (CB), and those who wished took the parting hand. The convention was dismissed in prayer by Pastor Tony Ivey.

Chairman—Shane Wootten; Vice Chairman—David Ivey; Honorary Chairman—Loyd Ivey; Secretary—Norma Latham Green.