Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Cullman County Convention

Cullman County Courthouse, Cullman, Alabama

July 9-10, 2011

Saturday, July 9

The 118th session of the Cullman County Sacred Harp Singing Convention was held at the Cullman County Courthouse on the second Sunday and Saturday before in July. Henry Guthery welcomed the class and led 101t. Richard Mauldin offered morning prayer.

Leaders: Henry Guthery 30t; Glenn Keeton 150, 475 (in honor of Willodean Barton); Carolyn Thompson 430, 507; Emily Burleson 212, 546; Karen Clark 66, 534; Alvaro Duarte 99, 144; Susan Cherones 74b, 40; Charles McCravy 143, 121; Danny Creel 283, 383; Earl Ballinger 80b, 331; Richard Mauldin 235, 43; Will Schnorenberg 272, 155; Carol Wendt 37b, 151; Henry Johnson 409, 521; Loyd Ivey 225t, 438; Nate Green and Norma Green 393; Geraldine Sharpton 318, 178; Tony Kiser 282, 457; John Wright 230; Lisa Geist 527, 273; John Wendt 354b, 496; Henry Schuman 434, 456; Ed Thacker 454, 511; Ken Tate 220, 439.


Henry Guthery led 335 to bring the class back to order. Leaders: Larry Ballinger 206, 540; Travis Keeton 373, 129; Harrison Creel 498; Harrison Creel, Danny Creel, and Emily Burleson 111b; Brenda Chafin 97, 542; Elene Stovall 142; Beth Branscome 222, 269; Velton Chafin 227; Darrell Swarens 341 (in memory of Billy Williams), 77t (in memory of Amanda Denson); Gary Smith 63. Buell Cobb offered a short history lesson of the convention, and led 381. Leaders: Bea Carnathan and Benjamin Bullard 472; Craig Holmes 323b; Jessa Cherones 299; Jessa Cherones and Susan Cherones 107.


Richard Mauldin brought the class back together by leading 168. A business session was held with the following officers elected or appointed to serve: Chairman—Henry Guthery; Vice Chairman—Glenn Keeton; Chaplain—Richard Mauldin; Secretary, Arranging Committee, and Finance Committee—Carolyn Thompson.

Leaders: Sarah Beasley 406 (in memory of her mother); Fred Hoerr 38b, 148; Steve Adams and Carolyn Thompson 378t; Susan Allred 384; Kermit Adams 78; Lucy Heidorn 436; Wanda Capps and Emma Hayden Calvert 76b. The blessing before the noon meal was offered by Richard Mauldin.


Leaders: Caleb Allred 448t; Delone Cobbs 120; Beth Ann Clay 218, 268; Seth Holloway and Brenda Chafin 254.

Sunday, July 10

The Sunday session of the Cullman County Convention was called to order by Henry Guthery, who offered the opening prayer and led 189. Leaders: Glenn Keeton 163b; Carolyn Thompson 228; Elene Stovall 440; Alvaro Duarte 124, 276; Sonya Sipe 77t; Ken Tate 367; Larry Ballinger 402; Kramer Klein 53, 294; Richard Ivey 352; Darrell Swarens 198, 208; Richard Mauldin 285t; B.M. Smith 441, 34t; Brenda Chafin 449, 542; Danny Creel 196; Karen Ivey 201; Kelsey Sunderland 172, 492; Ed Thacker 64, 538; Michael Walker 336, 406; Blake Sisemore 411, 558; Buell Cobb 462; Linda Sides 220; Cindy Tanner 436; Christopher Mann 332; Jared Wooten 112; Stuart Ivey 550; Bea Carnathan 205.


Glenn Keeton led 349 (in memory of Billy Williams and honor of Clarence McCool). Leaders: Blazej Matusiak 34b, 299; Marty Wootten 164; Jackie Tanner 314; Ottis Sides 530; Gosia Perycz 288, 193; Lisa Geist 344; Susan Allred 182; Robert Walker 99, 350; Yancey Jett 101t; Judy Caudle 355 (for Josie Hyde); Steve Helwig 567; Steve Helwig and Gosia Perycz 528; Caleb Allred 47b; Henry Johnson 55, 482; Justyna Orlikowska 430, 177; Gravis Ballinger 300; Geraldine Sharpton 66; Aldo Ceresa 214, 532; David Ivey 232; Don Keeton 515; Harrison Creel 342; Travis Keeton 179; Nathan Rees 439, 435.

The memorial lesson was conducted by Henry Johnson and Judy Caudle. Judy Caudle spoke and led 33b in honor of the following sick and shut-ins: John Merritt, Bud Oliver, Sammie Oliver, S.T. Reed, Lessie Reed, Charlotte Gober, Lonnie Rogers, Betty Wright, Willard Wright, Johnnie Chafin, Hugh Bill McGuire, Willodean Barton, Clarence McCool, and Cecil Sanders.

Henry Johnson spoke and read the following list of names of the deceased: Billy Williams, George Seiler, Phyllis Bruce, Bob Meek, Frances Ceresa, Myrtle Wootten, Cohen Chafin, and Ernestine Pipkin. He led 72b in their memory, and offered prayer to close the memorial lesson.

Leaders: Jamie Wootten 42; Gary Smith 565; Steve Adams and Carolyn Thompson 378t; Chris Ballinger 424.


Henry Guthery and Ernest Guthery brought the afternoon session to order by leading 282. Leaders: Sarah Beasley and Seth Holloway 274t; Emily Burleson 73t; Linda Thomas 391; J.C. Rutledge 460; Travis Peak 448t; Piotr Zarzycki and Steve Helwig 159; Josie Hyde 442; Robert Dupree 84; Craig Holmes 479; Jordan Ratliff and Elene Stovall 384; Kermit Adams 192; Matthew Keeton, Isabella Keeton, and Glenn Keeton 30t; Karen Ivey, David Ivey, Stuart Ivey, and Richard Ivey 564; Blazej Matusiak, Gosia Perycz, Justyna Orlikowska, Piotr Zarzycki, and Michael Walker 86; Jordan Ratliff “Sweet Beulah Land”.

Announcements were made. Henry Guthery, Glenn Keeton, and Eliseo Victorieno led 521 as the closing song. The closing prayer was offered by Richard Mauldin, and the class was dismissed.

Chairman—Henry Guthery; Vice Chairman—Glenn Keeton; Secretary—Carolyn Thompson