Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 2022 2023 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

North Carolina Sacred Harp Convention

Amity United Methodist Church, Chapel Hill, North Carolina, Page Walker Hotel, Cary, North Carolina

March 6-7, 1999

Saturday, March 6

The Saturday session of the North Carolina Sacred Harp Convention was held at the Amity United Methodist Church in Chapel Hill, North Carolina. Outgoing President Suzanne Newton opened the convention by leading songs on pages 49t and 150. Henry Bizzell offered the invocation. To terminate their duties, Peggy Loddengaard led song on page 68b; Tim Gee 191.

A business session was held with the following officers elected or appointed to serve: President—John Feddersen; Vice President—Suzanne Newton; Secretary—Tim Gee; Chaplain—Henry Bizzell.

The singing continued with John Feddersen leading song on page 276. Leaders: Blake Morris 141; Matt Cartmill 313b; Nancy Newell 163b; Tom Tucker 442; Ann Bosold 178; Lynda Hambourger 446; Gene Andersen 189; Claudia Egelhoff 474; G. C. Waldrep 260; Mike Hieber 448b; Becky Hart 269; Cathy Tucker 480.


John Feddersen reconvened the class by leading 142. Leaders: Guy Bankes 441; Peggy Loddengaard 128; Gavin Campbell 492; Patricia Temple 277; Mary Wright 314; Tim Gee 210; Suzanne Newton 350; Hugh McGraw 510; Joy Craig 198; Blake Morris 192; Leslie Alperin 268; Matt Cartmill 312b; Nancy Newell 504; Tom Tucker 30b; Gene Andersen 137; G.C. Waldrep 163t; Becky Hart 217; Mike Hieber 148.


John Feddersen called the class to order with 280. Leaders: Cathy Tucker 547; Ann Bosold “Bosold”, “Cherokee”, and “Wapello” (her own compositions); Nancy Newell 155; Gavin Campbell 220; Peggy Loddengaard 209; Tim Gee 110. Blake Morris “Harvest”, “Kathleen” (his own compositions); Mary Wright 337; Fred Beardsley 149; Matt Cartmill 528; Leslie Alperin 159; Becky Hart “Lambertville” (composed by Lynda Hambourger), “Stoney Island” (author unknown); Blake Morris “Chase” (his own composition); Hugh McGraw 352; Ann Bosold 334; Suzanne Newton 31t; Claudia Egelhoff 203; Guy Bankes 147b; Tom Tucker 236; Patricia Temple 497; G.C. Waldrep 347; Cathy Tucker 454; Tim Gee 162.


John Feddersen reconvened the class by leading 82t. Leaders: Ann Bosold “Engelberg” and “Gran Lake”; Mary McKinney 40; Gavin Campbell 79; Gail Doss 196; Dan Patterson 47b; Fred Beardsley 299; Lynda Hambourger 472; G.C. Waldrep 532; Blake Morris 378t; Tom Tucker 324; Cathy Tucker 144; Tim Gee 457; Suzanne Newton 344.

John Feddersen led song on page 146 as the closing song. Henry Bizzell dismissed the class with prayer.

Sunday, March 7

The Sunday session was held at the Page Walker Hotel in Cary, North Carolina and was called to order by John Feddersen leading song on page 48t. Nancy Newell gave the opening invocation. Leaders: John Feddersen 98; Hugh McGraw 550; Suzanne Newton 270; Ann Bosold 324; Hal Kunkel 179; Tim Gee 64; Patricia Temple 535b; Lynda Hambourger 440; Blake Morris 501b; Susan Kelley 45t; Matt Cartmill 71; Art Broadus 569b; Peggy Loddengaard 61; Claudia Egelhoff 317b.


Nancy Newell brought the class to order leading song on page 106. Leaders: John Feddersen 124; Gail Doss 504; Erin Newton 573; Fred Beardsley 513; Guy Bankes 287; Mary Wright 180; Hugh McGraw 553; Suzanne Newton 46.

Lynda Hambourger conducted the memorial service during which leaders were: Ann Bosold 515; Mary Wright 59; Lynda Hambourger 397 and 452. Leaders after the service: Ann Bosold 168; Hal Kunkel 204; Tim Gee 122; and John Feddersen 369.


John Feddersen called the class to order leading 94. Leaders: Patricia Temple 145b; Leslie Alperin 209; Blake Morris 297; Hugh McGraw 447; Peggy Loddengaard 551; Gail Doss 378b; Claudia Egelhoff 464; Nancy Newell 86; Erin Newton 377; Fred Beardsley 474; Guy Bankes 228; Mary Wright 290; Matt Cartmill 182; Lynda Hambourger 536; Patrick Bosold 299; Hugh McGraw 531; Blake Morris 214.


John Feddersen reconvened the class with 217. Leaders: Hal Kunkel 558; Gail Doss 436; Patricia Temple 346; Suzanne Newton 47t; Ann Bosold 354b; Fred Beardsley 100; Guy Bankes 107; Tim Gee 117; Peggy Loddengaard 81 (t? b?); Lynda Hambourger 546; Matt Cartmill 298; Leslie Alperin 497; Nancy Newell 410t; Ann Bosold 242; Blake Morris 195; Hal Kunkel 101t; Gail Doss 112.

John Feddersen led song on page 62 as the closing song. Nancy Newell dismissed the class with prayer.

Chairman—John Feddersen; Vice Chairman—Suzanne Newton; Secretary—Tim Gee.