Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Chattahoochee Convention

Wilson’s Chapel, Carrollton, Georgia

August 1-2, 1998

Saturday, August 1

The one hundred forty-sixth session of the Chattahoochee Convention was held at Wilson’s Chapel, near Carrollton, Georgia, on the first Sunday and Saturday before in August. Sheri Taylor opened the convention by leading song on page 77t. Kenneth DeLong offered the opening prayer. Leaders: Sheri Taylor 108b; Jacob Griffith 503, 171; Donna Duke 111t, 111b; Charlene Wallace 155, 209; D.J. Hatfield 74b, 296; Gene Duke 81t, 33b; Jeannette DePoy 411, 282; Carlene Griffin 146, 222; Phillip Langley 182, 542; Judy Mincey 540, 538; Lonnie Rogers 101t, 225t; Don Bowen 390, 157.


The singing resumed with Kenneth DeLong leading song on page 34t. Leaders: Everette Denney 34b, 335; Lori Goode 236, 551.

A short business session was held and the following officers were elected or appointed to serve: Chairman—Sheri Taylor; Vice Chairman—Felton Denney; Secretary-Treasurer—Donna Duke; Chaplain—Lonnie Rogers; Arranging Committee—Charlene Wallace and Jacob Griffith; Memorial Committee—Jeannette DePoy, Gene Duke, and Lee Rogers; Finance Committee—Don Bowen.

Leaders: John Plunkett 280, 50b; Frances Mary D’Andrea 338, 189; Richard Mauldin 186, 36b; Joan Durdin 148, 29t; Richard DeLong 375, 399 (t? b?); Rev. Lloyd Toney 100. Rev. Jerry Cole, descendant of Matthew Wilson, founder and builder of Wilson’s Chapel, spoke to the convention and closed his comments with prayer.


Sheri Taylor brought the class to order by leading song on page 163 (t? b?).

Leaders: Laura Frey 173; Felton Denney 299, 347; Gene Wakefield 56t, 168; Patricia Mauldin 63, 159; Evelyn Harris 87, 30t; Andy Morris 151, 455; Ruth Daniels 378t; Bernard Denney 59, 144; Lou Cotney 172, 300; Laura Clawson 142, 345 (t? b?); Dan Bailey 495, 196.


The singing resumed with Laura Ackerman leading songs on pages 532 and 543. Leaders: Jack Smith and Peter Lysy 192, 145t; Liz Bryant 504, 377; Jimmie Denney 141, 143; Martha Ann Stegar 106, 306; Mark Puckett 385 (t? b?), 454; Eric Tweedy 332, 312b; Kenneth DeLong 369; Bree Wildau 268, 45 (t? b?); Bobby Jackson 290. Sheri Taylor and Felton Denney led song on page 323t for the closing song. Lonnie Rogers dismissed the class with prayer.

Sunday, August 2

Sheri Taylor opened the Sunday morning session by leading songs on pages 27 and 56t. The morning prayer was offered by Lonnie Rogers. Leaders: Felton Denney 31t, 32t; Lonnie Rogers 75, 137; Gene Duke 119, 147t; Josephine Denney 143, 101 (t? b?); Don Bowen 77 (t? b?), 287; Laura Clawson 274t, 318; Gene Wakefield 138t, 136; Geneva Prichard 146, 45 (t? b?); Jacob Griffith 312b, 114; Patricia Mauldin 63, 155; Phillip Langley 475, 532; Jan House 189, 171.


The class was brought back by Allen Lambert leading songs on pages 405 and 317. Leaders: Richard Mauldin 288, 72b; Lee Rogers 274b, 425; Lori Goode 512, 358; Myron House 26, 545; Tommy McGraw 480, 37b.

The memorial session was conducted by Jeannette DePoy, Gene Duke, and Lee Rogers. Jeannette DePoy led song on page 122 in memory of her mother, Anne Block. Richard DeLong led song on page 387 for the following deceased: Janet Borman, Clyde Atkinson, Marvin Byrd, Velma Denney, Clara B. Denney, Jerry Sheppard, Alvin Stanson, Juanita Coffee, Clifford Wakefield, Janet Rogers, and Dottie Horn.

Jan House and Myron House led song on page 387 for the following sick and shut-ins: Helen Bryson, Horace DeLong, Mary Frances Dannals, Mary Lee Nelson, Richard Allison, Arlie Prokop, Mozelle Sheppard, and I.V. McWhorter.


The afternoon session was opened by Charlene Wallace leading song on page 167. Leaders: John Plunkett 297, 315; Judy Mincey 415, 367; Cathy White 84, 268; Louis Hughes 176 (t? b?), 153; Kent Beck 30 (t? b?), 299; Bobby Jackson 503, 378t; Evelyn Harris 39b, 47t; Henry Johnson 569 (t? b?), 388; Nancy Crawford 178; Earlis McGraw 76b, 166; B.J. Harris 225t, 303; Liz Bryant 270, 276; Martha Ann Stegar 275t, 479.


The singing resumed with Laura Frey and Lisa Webb leading songs on pages 163b and 66. Leaders: D.J. Hatfield 547, 454; Noel Rush, Kathy Williams, and Louise Holland 460, 186; Rev. Lloyd Toney 68 (t? b?), 129; Eris Muse 341, 453; Shawn Caffrey and Jacob Griffith 159, 128; Hugh McGraw 451.

A motion was made and duly seconded to go into a business session. After reading Psalm 95:1-3, Richard Mauldin reported the following for the Resolutions Committee: We would like to give thanks

  1. to our Creator and Sustainer who inspired the writers and composers of this wonderful music and who nurtured Sacred Harp music throughout its history so that we can still meet and enjoy its message today. Thanks are also due to our gracious Lord for providing us with such great weather during our singing this weekend;
  2. to our ancestors, families, and friends for their love of Sacred Harp music, and their determination that it would not die out but would continue to be sung. And today, it is sung, not only in the South, but all across this great land of ours from the Northeast to the Midwest, the Northwest, and even to the West Coast;
  3. to the Wilsons and their relatives and descendants, for providing this wonderful place for the perpetuation of the music they and we all love. Thanks to their generosity and foresight, this convention is presently meeting for the 146th session, and is the oldest Sacred Harp singing convention in the world;
  4. to all the singers who have met here to sing together and renew old friendships, and to forge new ones in a common purpose and spirit of love;
  5. to the many families that have cooked, cleaned, arranged, and done many countless tasks to ensure that everyone had plenty to eat, and would be able to have an enjoyable time together these two days;
  6. and finally to our officers and committees for their hard work and dedication. Therefore, we now resolve to continue to promote Sacred Harp singing and the traditions given us from the founders of this music up to this present time; to remember those that led us to seek this music, and that have preserved this unique form of worship and praise to God; to encourage all present to continue in this common love of Sacred Harp music and the perpetuation of it, and the welfare of our fellow travellers in this journey of life; and finally we resolve to meet here again at Wilson’s Chapel for the 147th session of the Chattahoochee Convention, and to once again share our love and friendship in praise to our Creator.

The Finance Committee collected $341.83 over the two day convention. After paying expenses of $60.00 for the minutes, the remaining money was turned over to the Wilson family for upkeep of the church and grounds. Hugh McGraw made a motion to turn over any remaining money in the Chattahoochee Convention bank account to the Wilson family. This motion was seconded and approved. Announcements were made. We were happy to have Peter Lysy from Germany attend.

Sheri Taylor and Felton Denney led song on page 62 as the closing song, and the class was dismissed with prayer.

Chairman—Sheri Taylor; Vice Chairman—Jacob Griffith; Secretary—Donna Duke.