Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Oak Grove Primitive Baptist Church

And Boiling Springs Convention
Sylacauga, Alabama

July 12, 1998

The annual singing of the Oak Grove Primitive Baptist Church and the Boiling Springs Convention was called to order by Jeff Sheppard leading song on page 59. The morning prayer was led by Wayne Morgan.

Jeff Sheppard led 36b; B. M. Smith 30t, 37b; Pennie Bosarge 270, 535.

The class organized and elected to retain the same officers: Chairman—Jeff Sheppard; Vice Chairman—B. M. Smith; Secretary—Chita Blakeley; Arranging Committee—Pennie Bosarge and Gisele Morgan.

Leaders: Elder Bufrey Dean 274 (t? b?), 111b; Elder Jonathan Blakeley 85, 373; Chita Blakeley 216, 142; Daphene Causey 73 (t? b?), 77t; Wayne Morgan 49t, 46; Lacey Pressley 143; B.J. Harris 503, 303; Waylon Blakeley 145t, 172.


The class was brought to order by B.M. Smith leading song on page 127. Leaders: Kyle Blakeley 42, 314; Margie Smith 313t, 32t; Daniel Dean 147t (for Thomas Futral), 30b; Evelyn Harris 47t, 101t; Justin Burdette 354 (t? b?); Jack Nelson 45t, 49b; Nancy Allen 31b; Gavin Blakeley 124, 128; Shelbie Sheppard 106, 28b; Brenda Dean 98 (for Opal Futral), 369.

The singing gave way for Elder Jonathan Blakeley to read from Ephesians 5:13, and to speak words of praise to our Lord and King. The class was dismissed with prayer by Elder Bufrey Dean.


The afternoon session began with B. M. Smith leading song on page 150. Jeff Sheppard led song on page 186; Roy Nelson 290, 283; Hilda Morrison 276, 426 (t? b?).

A memorial was held for those who have passed away in the last year. Those remembered were: Alvin Stanson, Jerry Sheppard, Mae Seymour, Herman Smith, Kim Cagle, John Forman, Ila McGhee, and Myreeta Hardin. B. M. Smith led songs on page 340 and 288 for the deceased, and also remembered those who are sick and unable to attend.

Leaders: Jo Snodgrass 490 (for her dad, Willard Fredericks), 426 (t? b?); Louise Nelson 282; Shea Kelly 75; Bufrey Dean 341 (in memory of Elder Lloyd Hand and A.J. Hand); Myra Goss 269, 304; Bobby Jackson 388, 480; Pennie Bosarge 490 for Grace Harry; Daphene Causey 222, 225t.


Jeff Sheppard brought the class to order leading song on page 61. Leaders: B.J. Harris 452; Jo Snodgrass 294; Margie Smith 494; Jack Nelson 67; Wayne Morgan 99; Gavin Blakeley 135; Kyle Blakeley 76b.

Announcements were made. Jeff Sheppard, B. M. Smith, and Elder Bufrey Dean led 46 as the closing song. The class was dismissed with prayer led by Steve Milner.

Chairman—Jeff Sheppard; Vice Chairman—B. M. Smith; Secretary—Chita Blakeley.