Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 2022 2023 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Chattahoochee Musical Convention

Wilson Chapel, Carroll County, Georgia

August 6-7, 2022

Saturday, August 6

The 170th session of the Chattahoochee Convention was held on the first Sunday and Saturday before in August at Wilson Chapel in the Cross Plains Community of Carrollton, Georgia. Sheri Taylor warmly welcomed everyone, and called the class to order by leading 29t and 56b. Laura Frey led 46 and 358. The morning prayer was offered by Judy Chambless.

Leaders: Glenda Collins 99; Glenda Collins and Barbara Brooks 294; Judy Chambless 501, 464; Bert Collins 97, 35; Rober Chambless 34b, 317; Chrissy Brown 406, 72b; Jeremiah Ledbetter 166, 276.


Jenna Frey called the class to order by leading 178 and 405. Leaders: Emily Stutzman 56t, 179; Nathan Rees 348b, 217; Winfred Kerr 383, 36b; Philip Denney and Gayle Denney 384, 120; Oscar McGuire 171, 485; Barbara Brooks 303, 159; Nicholas Thompson 318, 192; Jonathon Smith 422, 440; Lori Goode 345t, 551; Matt Hinton 475, 500.

A motion was made and seconded to go into a business session. The following officers were elected or appointed to serve for the 2022 session: Chairman—Sheri Taylor; Vice Chairman—Laura Frey and Lisa Webb; Secretary—Jenna Frey; Chaplin—Philip Denney; Arranging Committee—Laura Frey and Jenna Frey; Finance Committee—Lori Goode and Christian Webb; Memorial Committee—Karen Rogers; Resolution Committee—Oscar McGuire. Gene Duke offered the lunch prayer.


Lisa Webb and Christian Webb brought the class back to order by leading 84 and 361. Leaders: Daniel Williams 125, 85; Shane Brown 65, 457; Eli Hinton 472, 186; Allen Duggar 299, 445; Dick Plunkett 45t, 268; Julius Sizemor 384, 282; Winfred Kerr 59; Philip Denney and Gayle Denney 142; Glenda Collins and Bert Collins 454; Judy Chambless and Robert Chambless 146; Bill Dupre 203; Karen Rollins and Matt Hinton 365; Jeremiah Ledbetter 155; Emily Stutzman 477; Daniel Williams 74t; Jonathon Smith 504; Samuel Williams 378b; Nicholas Thompson 200; Lisa Webb 222; Matt Hinton 112; Shane Brown 49b; Oscar McGuire 216; Dick Plunkett 47b; Eli Hinton 503; Jenna Frey 452; Laura Frey and Michele Jackson 63; Laura Frey 480. Announcements were made.

Sheri Taylor thanked all the singers and listeners for attending. Sheri Taylor, Lisa Webb, Laura Frey, and Jenna Frey led 323t as the closing song. Oscar McGuire offered the closing prayer, and the class was dismissed.

Sunday, August 7

The Sunday session of the Chattahoochee Convention was brought to order by Sheri Taylor leading 77t and 79. Philip Denney offered the morning prayer. Leaders: Laura Frey 47b, 163b; Philip Denney 47t, 32t; Jenna Frey 178, 408; Winfred Kerr 516, 517; Helen Bryson 227, 501; Karen Rollins 119, 123t; Daniel Williams 284, 34t.


Laura Frey and Jenna Frey brought the class to order leading 45t. Leaders: Cecil Roberts 285t, 124; Samuel Williams 345b, 72b; Dick Plunkett 192, 186; Gene Duke 303, 56t; Oscar McGuire 229, 515.

The memorial was held at this time. Karen Rollins read the following list of names of the deceased: Matthew Wilson, Pat Wilson Kierbow, Janet Stogner, Eris Denney Muse, Johnny Daniell, and J.C. Crawford—Georgia; Joan Aldridge, Jayne Fulmer, Renae Makris, Coy Ivey, Lois Bowman, and Steven McElory—Alabama; Ted Mercer—Illinois; Rebecca Over—United Kingdom.

The following list of names of the sick and shut-ins was read aloud: Ed Thacker, Margaret Thacker, J.L. Hopper, Susan Ford, Jack Nelson, Virginia Dyer, Henry Guthery, and Tom Hanson. In remembrance of the deceased and the sick and shut-ins, Karen Rollins led 318. Philip Denney closed the memorial session with prayer.

Leaders: Lisa Webb 235, 566; Allen Duggar 276, 228. Cecil Roberts offered the blessing for lunch.


Laura Frey began the afternoon session by leading 452. Leaders: John Plunkett 170, 354t; Winfred Kerr 89; Cecil Roberts 76b; Oscar McGuire 34b, 473; Lori Goode 146, 358; Daniel Williams 67, 275t; Dick Plunkett and Marilyn 63, 385t; Gene Duke 275b, 145b; Allen Duggar 480, 294; John Plunkett 330t; Samuel Williams 399t; Lori Goode and Riley McKibbin 46; Lisa Webb 269, 268; Allen Duggar and Meg Duggar 59; Christian Webb 388, 40.

The Convention went into a business session. Committee reports were read as follows: Lori Goode reported for the Finance Committee and thanked the class for their generous contributions. The Resolutions Committee of the 170th session of the Chattahoochee Sacred Harp Singing Convention would like to submit the following: First, we give thanks to God for His many Blessings and for the love in our hearts for Sacred Harp Singing. We also give thanks for the joy and love we share with our fellow singers. 2) Once again special thanks go out to the Wilson family for their never ending dedication to provide us a place to sing every year when the first weekend of August gets here. 3) Everyone that has attended the Chattahoochee Convention this year, either one or both days, deserve a special thank you for once again being willing to support the convention during the continued covid virus. And last but not least, we thank everyone that helped fulfill every need that we could possibly have, from food and drinks to fellowship and love for each other. In conclusion, we resolve that if it be God’s will, to attend the 171st session of the Chattahoochee Convention on the first Sunday and Saturday before in August, 2023, to continue the convention’s record of having never missed a session. Respectfully Submitted by Oscar McGuire.

A motion was made and carried that the reports be accepted as read and added to the minutes. Announcements were made. Chairman Sheri Taylor tearfully thanked everyone again for their continued support of the singing and all the family members who helped beautify and maintain the grounds.

Sheri Taylor, Laura Frey, Jenna Frey, and Christian Webb led 62 as the closing song. Philip Denney dismissed the class with prayer and blessings.

Chairman—Sheri Taylor; Vice Chairman—Laura Frey and Lisa Webb; Secretary—Jenna Frey