Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 2022 2023 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Georgia State Sacred Harp Convention

Emmaus Primitive Baptist Church, Carrollton, Georgia

March 24-25, 2018

Saturday, March 24

The 57th session of the Georgia State Sacred Harp Convention was held on the fourth Sunday and Saturday before in March at Emmaus Primitive Baptist Church in Carrollton, Georgia. Phillip Langley called the class together leading 59. Henry Johnson offered the morning prayer.

Leaders: Lela Crowder 460; Andy Ditzler 394; Anna Hinton 203; Jeannette DePoy 32t; Isaac Green 488; Philip Denney 142; Karen Rollins 153; Helen Bryson 456; David Brodeur 157; Karis Askin 120; Jack Nelson 318; Glenda Collins and Bert Collins 339; Mary Brownlee 556; Erica Hinton 112; Dan Edwards 56b; Daniel Lee 28t; Robert Chambless 569t; Charles Woods 65.


Andy Ditzler and Ryan Konopka brought the class back to order leading 312b. Leaders: Michael Thompson 222; Eric Tweedy 344; Janice Paulk 337; Richard Green and David Matheny 198. A business session was held with the following officers and committee members elected or appointed to serve: Chairman—Erica Hinton; Vice Chairman—Michael Spencer; Chaplain—Riley Lee; Secretary—Lela Crowder; Arranging Committee—David Brodeur, Isaac Green, and Anna Hinton; Memorial Committee—Bridgett Hill Kennedy and David Ivey; Finance Committee—Oscar McGuire, Philip Denney, and Samuel Williams; Locating Committee—Jesse Pearlman Karlsberg, Justin Bowen, and Mike Spencer; Resolutions Committee—Kate Kirwan and Brenda Dunlap.

Leaders: Judy Chambless 182; Tony Hammock 383; Virginia Dyer 454; Samuel Williams 286; Matt Hinton, Caroline Kolts, Pat Kolts, Zella Kolts, and Foster Kolts 192; Nathan Rees 273; Lisa Bennett 223; Susan Cherones 349; Judy Mincey 64.


Michael Spencer called the class back together by leading 166. Leaders: Oscar McGuire 163b; Leigh Cooper 228; Laura Hodges 430; John Kelso 433; Richard DeLong 123b; Fred Wilkey 99; Keillor Mose 205; Nate Green and Norma Green 345t; Lauren Bock 111t; Stanley Smith 482; Lydia Lewallen 560; Justin Bowen 439; Fred Eady and Cody Cox 358; Richard Ivey 202.


Isaac Green and Erica Hinton called the class back to order leading 213t. Leaders: Elene Stovall 411; Cindy Tanner 269; David Ivey 156; Laura Clawson 542; Steve Brett 397; José Camacho 183; Brenda Dunlap 476; Riley Lee 289; Reba Windom 208; Kate Kirwan 328; Henry Johnson 164; Rodney Ivey and Amy Wootten 283 (for Don Bowen and Loyd Ivey); Miriam Delirium and Steve Luttinen 445; Sarah West 436; Emily Stutzman 275b; John Plunkett 145t; Chris Wolf 89; Eva Grace Horsley 72b; Jesse Pearlman Karlsberg 371; Joyce Heath 46; Winfred Kerr 146; Karen Edwards and Greta Edwards 282; David Smead 69b; Daniel Williams 517; Shane Brown 260; Kelly Morris 147t; Kelsey Ivey 505; Bridgett Hill Kennedy 396.

Announcements were made. Erica Hinton and Mike Spencer led 83t. Riley Lee closed the singing with prayer.

Sunday, March 25

The Sunday session of the Georgia State Sacred Harp Convention was brought to order by Erica Hinton leading 47t. Riley Lee offered the morning prayer. Leaders: Isaac Green 499 (in memory of Hollis Gentry); Mike Spencer 393; Anna Hinton 112; David Brodeur 144; Lela Crowder 82t; Daniel Lee 106; Eli Hinton 148; Jim Neal 95; Dan Edwards 73t; Judy Mincey 311; Faye Hollis 373; Matt Hinton and Karen Rollins 365; Phillip Langley 272; Wyatt Denney 504; Cecil Roberts 48t; Lisa Bennett 118 (for Miriam Delirium); Samuel Williams 149.


Judy Mincey brought the class back to order leading 36b. Leaders: Danny Creel 405; Judy Chambless 185; Susan Cherones 564; Sadie Bagley 47b; Scott DePoy 179; Brenda Dunlap 125; Daniel Williams 360; David Ivey 572; Nathan Rees 228; Philip Denney 448b (in honor of Pearl Guier); Richard DeLong 214; Jan House 117; John Plunkett 467; Karis Askin 168; Jeannette DePoy 475 (for Scott DePoy); Robert Chambless 452.


Winfred Kerr brought the class back together leading 318. Leaders: Cheyenne Ivey 172; Emily Stutzman 217; Oscar McGuire 485.

David Ivey and Bridgett Hill Kennedy conducted the memorial lesson. David Ivey spoke about the importance of reaching out to those who are sick and shut-in. He read Psalm 107:6 and reminded everyone that the poor in body and poor in spirit need to hear from fellow singers. He read the following list of names of the sick and shut-ins: Velton Chafin, Loyd Ivey, Jack Paulk, Ottis Sides, Margaret Thacker, Ed Thacker, Don Bowen, Lucy Garner, Lansing Kimmey, Roni Roberts, Susan Roberts, Idy Kiser, Paul Wilson, Gary Gronau, Lynn deBenedette, Ulrike Brauneis, Martha Brett, Reginald Brett, and Chris Brown. David Ivey led 32b in their honor.

Bridgett Hill Kennedy spoke about Matthew 18:30 and how everyone must have a childlike sense of wonder to enter the kingdom of heaven. She used examples from psychology to explain how children experience wonder with the world around them as they grow. She said that children have an unlimited capacity for wonder, yet as we grow, we impose limitations on ourselves, others, and God. She spoke about how God has no limits and how when we experience loss, God understands ultimate loss. Bridgett read the following list of names of the deceased: Daphene Causey, Johnnie Chafin, Hollis Gentry, Lily Hopper, Verlon Stiefel, Floy Wilder, and Eloise Wootten—Alabama; Twyla Arnett—Arkansas; Linda Domholdt—California; Florence Akin, Daniel Evans, Louise Holland, Hugh McGraw, Agnes Roberts, and Mike Taylor—Georgia; Berkley Moore—Illinois; Darrell Swarens—Indiana; Charles Wells and Willy Schlotec—Minnesota; Charles Bennett—Missouri; Rhoda Ann Wildey—New Jersey; Steve Helwig—Oregon; Elaine Fields and Edith Owen—Texas; Julie Vea—Wisconsin. Bridgett led 434. Riley Lee closed the memorial lesson with prayer.

Leaders: Sheri Taylor 354b; Leigh Cooper 273; Andy Ditzler 87; Mark Puckett 454.


Erica Hinton and Anna Hinton brought the class back to order leading 37b. Leaders: J.R. Hardman 297; Jesse Pearlman Karlsberg 392; Kathy Williams 209; Kate Kirwan, Steve Brett, and Sarah West 75; Reba Windom 216; Keillor Mose 302; Lydia Lewallen 333; Fred Wilkey 107; Richard Ivey 212; Judy Caudle 403; David Smead 55; Sarah West 197; Kelsey Ivey 196; Henry Johnson 231; Steve Brett 129; Chris Wolf 191; Riley Lee 316; Laura Hodges 204; Kate Kirwan 362; Fred Eady 236; Steve Luttinen 426b; Elene Stovall 500; Myron House 113; Coy Ivey 384; Amber Davis 224; Rosemary Yntema 183; Rodney Ivey, Amy Wootten, and Reba Windom 30b.

The convention went into a business session to hear reports from the various committees. The Locating Committee reported that the convention will meet at Beth-Salem Presbyterian Church in Lexington, Georgia, (near Athens, Georgia) next year on the fourth Sunday and Saturday before in March, 2019. Donna Bell presented the finance report. Kate Kirwan and Brenda Dunlap presented the resolutions. All reports were read and approved. The business session was closed. Announcements were made. Erica Hinton and Mike Spencer led 62 as the closing song. Riley Lee offered the closing prayer.

Chairman—Erica Hinton; Vice Chairman—Mike Spencer; Secretary—Lela Crowder; Assistant Secretary—Donna Bell