Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 2022 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Ireland Sacred Harp Convention

Quaker Meeting House, Cork, Ireland

March 3-4, 2018

Saturday, March 3

Despite Ireland’s heaviest snowfall since 1982 requiring a last minute change of venue and unfortunately preventing a substantial number of visiting singers from flying in to Ireland, those who had safely arrived were determined to win the day, though we were few in number. The 8th session of the Ireland Sacred Harp Convention was called to order by Kevin Kennedy leading 90. Chris Lyons offered the morning prayer.

Leaders: Katie Ahern 38t; Sinéad Hanrahan 31b; Amanda Parkes 100; Michael Walker 273 (in memory of Louise Holland); Colleen Jones 272; Jude O’Neill 335; Helen Peake 43; Kayne Coy 34b; Elisabeth Schallwig 539; Chris Lyons 270; Andal Sundaramurthy 500; William Cleary 123b; Becky Wright 145t; Bryan Seale 138t; Ted Mercer 353; Steph Malpass 436; Jonathon Smith 165; Lloy Cook 178; Mike Spencer 420; Christopher Kain 565; Rosalind Woods 121; Drew Smith 183; Camilla Marie Widholm 110; José Camacho 319; Mike Morrisroe 214 (for Vicki Elliot); Sam Kleinman 176b. Camilla Marie Widholm asked a blessing before the noon meal.


Dara Desmond called the afternoon session to order leading 332. Leaders: Michael Walker 528; Al McCready 227; Sinéad Hanrahan 202; Drew Smith 385b; Katie Ahern 91; Chris Affolter 434; Becky Wright 522; Richard Mayers 77t; Lisa O’Grady 278b; Ted Mercer 217; Nancy Novotny 442; William Cleary 225b; Camilla Marie Widholm 550; Piers Blewett 101t; Cäcilia Mann 344; Jonathon Smith 419; Colleen Jones 556; José Camacho 312b; Steph Malpass 546; Mike Spencer 166.


Mike Morrisroe called the class to order leading 82t. Leaders: Drew Smith 328; Andal Sundaramurthy 309; Christopher Kain 496; Sam Kleinman 302; Oskar Kvasnes 63; Nancy Novotny 492; Al McCready and Andal Sundaramurthy 452; Becky Wright 326; John O’Flynn 306; Dara Desmond 192; Chris Lyons 228; Ted Mercer 275t; Chris Affolter 112; Mike Spencer 191; Cäcilia Mann 573; Richard Mayers 173; José Camacho 274t; Elisabeth Schallwig 547.


Lisa O’Grady called the class to order leading 474. Leaders: Bryan Seale 532; Kevin Kennedy 394; Jonathon Smith 220; Nancy Novotny 299; Kayne Coy 504; Sam Kleinman 475; Camilla Marie Widholm 280; John O’Flynn 99; Amanda Parkes 177; Piers Blewett 551; Jude O’Neill 300; Lloy Cook 268; William Cleary and José Camacho 198; Oskar Kvasnes 40; Rosalind Woods 159; Chris Affolter 38b; Andal Sundaramurthy 512; Richard Mayers 39t; Cäcilia Mann 143. Kevin Kennedy led 46 as the closing song. William Cleary dismissed the class with prayer.

Sunday, March 4

As circumstances necessitated a later than usual start, Sunday’s session was preceded by dinner on the grounds. Kevin Kennedy opened proceedings by leading 318, following which Derek Buckland said grace before the meal.


The Sunday session of the 8th Ireland Sacred Harp Convention was brought to order by Kevin Kennedy leading 113. Leaders: Katie Ahern and Mary Ryder 29t; Kate Kirwan 283; Ed Johnson-Williams 328; Kate Coxon 430; Marie Brandis 352; Alec Williams 350; Mary Jane Wilkie 332; Ross Harbison 383; Brenda Dunlap 370; Steven Levine 474; Nancy Novotny 373; Fynn Titford-Mock 150; Erin Johnson-Williams 276; Christopher Kain 282; Ted Mercer 468; Steve Brett 527; Sam Kleinman 396; Ann Riley 186; Joanne Fuller 192; Aaron Kahn 455.


Amanda Parkes called the class to order leading 411. Leaders: Piers Blewett 34b; Colleen Jones 499.

Chris Lyons read the following names of the sick and housebound: David Sillito, Liliana Sillito, Carol Aitken, Isobel Gamble, Roy McGregor, Shauna Gladish, Breda Morrisroe, Brian Morrisroe, Don Bowen, Jean Ayotte, Iris Gomes, Dan De Foor, Melanie Hauff, Sophie Sawicka-Sykes, and Idy Kiser.

He then read the following list of names of the deceased: Victor Griffin—Limavady, Northern Ireland; Allan William Jones and Sana Ghani—Canada; Dr. Moss Flynn—Cork, Ireland; Heinz Schinnagel—Ansbach/Rothenburg, Germany; PJ O’Grady—London/Urlingford, Ireland; Tobey Boyes—Market Weighton, UK; David Gassi—Traralgon, Victoria, Australia; Philip Hearne—Waterford, Ireland; Stuart Barry—Cork, Ireland; Julie Vea—Wisconsin, USA; Hugh McGraw and Louise Holland—Georgia, USA; Síle O’Flynn and Herb Eriksson—New York, USA; Christa Steele—Massachusetts, USA; Steve Helwig—Oregon, USA; Marion Hill—Washington, USA; Darrell Swarens—Indiana, USA.

Leaders: Michael Walker 69t; Jonathon Smith 498; Dara Desmond 155 (for Cath Ingham and Tobey Boyes); Mike Spencer 382; José Camacho 53; Becky Wright 97; Al McCready and Desmond O’Flynn 269; Inga Huebner 98; Drew Smith 384; Oskar Kvasnes 36b; Marie Brandis 212; Derek Buckland 142; Ailish McMahon 148; Ingrid Rædergård 68b; Lloy Cook and Lisa O’Grady 347; Alec Williams, Kate Coxon, Kate Kirwan, and Steve Brett 495 (for Matthew Parkinson, Leilai Immel-Parkinson, Meg Winter, and Sarah West); Sasha Hsuczyk 419.


Bryan Seale called the class to order leading 522. Leaders: Lisa O’Grady 564; Ed Johnson-Williams 201; Mary Jane Wilkie 32b; Camilla Marie Widholm 172; Fynn Titford-Mock 92; Elisabeth Schallwig 425; Chris Lyons 189; William Cleary 236; Joanne Fuller 460; Steven Levine 49b; Sasha Hsuczyk 371; Sinéad Hanrahan 176t; Aaron Kahn 107; Kate Coxon 573.


Ross Harbison called the class to order leading 30b. Leaders: Brenda Dunlap and Ted Mercer 501; Steph Malpass and Mike Morrisroe 315; Richard Mayers 102; Erin Johnson-Williams 340; Claire Lacombe and Mike Morrisroe 361; Ann Riley 440; Derek Buckland 160b; Chris Affolter 168; Mary Jane Wilkie 121; Marie Brandis 549; John O’Flynn 36t; Inga Huebner 63; Kayne Coy 542; Rosalind Woods 319; Katie Ahern 348t.

Kevin Kennedy gave the closing announcements, in which he thanked the organizers of the convention, and gave special thanks to those who traveled through the inclement weather to make the singing. Katie Ahern gave the Secretary’s report and stated that 161 songs had been sung in total (=88 (t? b?) on Saturday and =73 (t? b?) on Sunday) by =77 (t? b?) registered singers. Seven countries were represented: Ireland, Canada, England, Germany, Lithuania, Norway, and the United States of America. Twelve US states were represented: Alabama, Connecticut, Georgia, Illinois, Massachusetts, Minnesota, New Hampshire, New York, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Washington, and District of Columbia. Dara Desmond gave the Treasurer’s report. She was thankful for the generosity of those present. Kevin Kennedy led 146 as the closing song. Kate Kirwan offered the final prayer.

Chairman—Kevin Kennedy; Vice Chairman—Katie Ahern; Secretary—Ross Harbison