Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 2022 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Walker County Convention

Boldo United Methodist Church, Boldo, Alabama

Saturday, July 16, 2016

The 102nd session of the Walker County Sacred Harp Singing Convention was called to order by Glenn Keeton leading 32t. Hubert Nall offered the morning prayer. Glenn Keeton welcomed everyone, and then led 64.

The class organized by electing or appointing the following officers: Chairman—Glenn Keeton; Honorary Vice Chairman—Velton Chafin; Vice Chairman—Brenda Chafin; Secretary—Lisa Geist; Arranging Officer—Amber Davis; Chaplain—Hubert Nall; Memorial Lesson—Linda Sides.

Leaders: Brenda Chafin 426b, 400 (for her parents, Velton and Johnnie Chafin); Lisa Geist 528, 498; Amber Davis 434 (for Kenneth Fannin), 380 (for her parents, Phillip and Paula Springfield); Hubert Nall 332, 313t; Linda Sides 225t (for Velton Chafin), 530 (for her dad, Ottis Sides); Nicholas Thompson 172, 534; Rebecca Over 564 (for Willodean Barton), 377 (for Willodean Barton); Mike Hankins 72b, 84.


Brenda Chafin led 76b to call the class back to order. Leaders: Judy Caudle 463 (for Velton Chafin), 466; Tommy Spurlock 146; Butch White 278t, 535; Kathy Jones 410t, 341; Zeb Ferguson 480, 455; Henry Guthery 511, 488; Emily Brown 436, 475; Stanley Smith 454 (for Willodean Barton), 411; Zilpha Cornett 361, 362.


The class was called back together by Glenn Keeton leading 270.

The memorial lesson was conducted by Linda Sides. She led 448t for the following sick and shut-ins: Faye Donaldson, Ottis Sides, Velton Chafin, Johnnie Chafin, Margaret Keeton, Ozella Blackmon, Willodean Barton, Kenneth Fannin, Coy Ivey, Eloise Wootten, Floy Wilder, Toney Smith, Lavoy Smith, Susan Harcrow, Kathleen Robbins, Anne Chalker, and Karen Turner.

Linda then led 111b in memory of the following deceased: Azalee Adams, Kermit Adams, Steve Adams, Janelle Davis, Joe Nall, Elsie Moon, Earlis McGraw, Robert DuPree, S.T. Reed, Gib Amason, and Elijah Kenny Graves. The memorial lesson was closed with prayer.

Leaders: Earl Ballinger 141, 142; Julie Poston 421, 108b; Richard Mauldin 446, 43 (in memory of John and Josie Hyde); Jim Aaron 503, 47b; Chris Ballinger 82t, 112; Danny Creel 386, 428. Hubert Nall returned thanks before the noon meal.


The afternoon session began with Glenn Keeton leading 274t. Leaders: Don Keeton 565, 569b; Betty Baccus 168, 77t (in memory of Amanda Denson); Eugene Forbes 384, 137; Nathan Stewart 189, 182; Wanda Capps 216, 203. Lisa Aaron, Pastor of the Boldo Methodist Church, welcomed us to their church, then led 59.

Leaders: Marlin Beasley 277, 370; Bea Aaron 438, 456; Jerry Kitchens 58, 460; Lena Keeton and Glenn Keeton 482, 497; Ken Tate 406, 123t; Loretta Whitman 75, 452; Daniel Bearden 310, 393; Darlene Reynolds, Bentley Rose, Ava Way, and Olivia Way 282, 354b; Aubrey Barfield 306, 432; Marlece Ray, Zilpha Cornett, and Jerry Kitchens 186.

After announcements, Glenn Keeton led 267 as the closing song. Hubert Nall offered the closing prayer, and the class was dismissed.

Chairman—Glenn Keeton; Vice Chairman—Brenda Chafin; Secretary—Lisa Geist