Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 2022 2023 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Lookout Mountain Convention

Pine Grove Church, near Collinsville, Alabama

August 23-24, 1997

Saturday, August 23

The ninety-fourth session of the Lookout Mountain Sacred Harp Singing Convention was held on the fourth Sunday and Saturday before in August at Pine Grove Church near Collinsville, Alabama.

The class was called to order by Milton Oliver leading song on page 82t. The morning prayer was led by Ulyess Walker.

Leaders: S. T. Reed 42; Lamar Smith and Randall Smith 36b, 76b; Wayne Reed 108b; Bud Oliver 30t; Don Bowen 37b; Thurman Nall 569 (t? b?); Gravis Ballinger 300; Lee Rogers 87; Boyd Scott 358; Loyd Ivey 426 (t? b?); Henry Schuman 102; Stuart Ivey 384; Harvey Austin 335; Johnny Humber 200; Dennis George 64; Alice Mosley 79; Henry Johnson 148.


The class was called to order by Milton Oliver leading song on page 32t.

A business session was held and the following officers were elected to serve: Chairman—S. T. Reed; Vice Chairman—Milton Oliver; Secretary—Randall Smith; Arranging Committee—Bud Oliver and Wayne Reed; Memorial Committee—Shelbie Sheppard and Alanna Blanks; Finance Committee—Lamar Smith and Scott Oliver.

Leaders: B. M. Smith 475; Jeanette Lowry 168; Lorena Moore 77t; Judy Mincey 474; Louis Hughes, Sr. 480; Mickie Bainter 209; Edward Howton 436; Tom Tucker 117; Everette Denney 34b; Ruth Walker 269; Joyce Wade 236; J. L. Hopper 310; J. A. Mosley 45t; Phil Summerlin and Charley Rowan 277; John Plunkett 112; Martha Woodard 340; David Carlton 224.


The class resumed singing with S. T. Reed leading song on page 123t. Leaders: Lomax Ballinger and Linton Ballinger 460; Jackson Harcrow 63; Faith Shine 455; Scott Oliver, Paula Oliver, Bryant Beard, and Alanna Blanks 354 (t? b?); Lonnie Rogers 348b; Judy Caudle 394; Myra Dalton 515; Jimmie Denney 313t; Ed Risinger and Bob Risinger 66; Bob Risinger 198; Syble Adams and Pam Wilkerson 142, “There Is A Fountain”; Hubert Nall 40; Susan Harcrow 532; Louis Hughes, Jr. 147t; Earl Ballinger 338; Jonathan Blakeley and John Etheridge 30b; Paula Gilmore 39t; Felton Denney 31t.


S. T. Reed called the class to order leading song on page 27. Leaders: Jackie Tanner 172; Gordon Wilkerson 434; Ann Jett 327; Jean Seiler 299; Jim Carnes 146; Edith Tate 73t; Julianna Jett and Cassie Franklin 216; Buddy Ballinger and Larry Ballinger 101t; Michele Cull 178; Ricky Harcrow 47t; Edwin Ballinger 186; Rhoda Norris 28b; Kevin Holcomb 457; Wanda Capps 448t; Arvid Holmes 383; Cathy Tucker 106; Lou Cotney 218; George Seiler 159; Charlene Wallace 481; Verlon Stiefel and Mary Ruth Stiefel 420; L. H. Underwood, Lula Underwood, and Kristy Gilbreath 300, 170.


The class was called to order by Bud Oliver leading song on page 270. Leaders: Don Clark 272; Shelbie Sheppard 507; Clayton Ezell 137; Pauline Childress 498; Mary Smith 192; Jewel Wootten 155; Coy Ivey, David Ivey, Norma Latham, and Sharon Noojin 222, 84; Harrison Creel 530; Hershell King 441; Becky Browne 215; Doug Conn 35; John Etheridge 99; Jeff Sheppard 439; Roy Nelson 456.

S. T. Reed led song on page 46 as the closing song. The class was dismissed with prayer by Doug Conn.

Sunday, August 24

The Sunday morning session was called to order by S. T. Reed leading song on page 82t. The morning prayer was given by Lamar Smith. Leaders: Milton Oliver 61; Lamar Smith 76b; Wayne Reed 145t; Bud Oliver 145b; Rex Wilks 53; Norma Latham 313t; Rodney Ivey 47t; Ruth Brown 312b; Sandra Jordan 73t; Jackie Tanner 101t; Leola Smith 318; Joan Aldridge 217; Hershell King 222; Celia Carnes 48t.


The class was called to order by Milton Oliver, Alanna Blanks, and Bryant Beard leading song on page 354b. Leaders: Marlon Wootten 283; Pam Nunn 528; Richard Ivey 270; Marshall Avery 108b; Joyce Wade 254; Mark Carroll 384; Allison Ivey 142; Pearl Guier 127; Eloise Avery 480; Scott Oliver 176b; Karen Ivey 475; Chris Carrol 37b; Louis Hughes, Sr. 489b; Melvin Stiefel 348b; Don Bowen 556 (for Elene Stovall).


The class was called to order by S. T. Reed leading song on page 106. Leaders: Judy Mincey 474; Jeanette Lowry 369, 411; Lee Rogers 390, 513; Becky Browne 66, 192; Shawn Carrol 155, 28b; Eloise Wootten 454; Tom Tucker 191, 501b; Henry Johnson 388, 462; Cathy Tucker 40, 547.


Bud Oliver called the class to order leading song on page 42. Leaders: Jim Carnes 171; Jean Seiler 378t; Stuart Ivey 29t; Cindy Franklin 198, 410t; Vickie Mitchell 523, 84.

A memorial lesson was held by Shelbie Sheppard and Alanna Blanks. The theme for the memorial came from page 101b, Holy City. There is a Holy City, A happy world above, Beyond the starry regions, Built by the God of love. An everlasting temple, And saints arrayed in white; They serve their great Redeemer, And dwell with Him in light. It is no world of trouble, The God of peace is there, He wipes away their sorrows, He banishes their care; Their joys are still increasing, Their songs are ever new; They praise the eternal Father, The Son and Spirit, too.

Jerry Enright talked about what an inspiration Barrett Ashley had been to him since having met him, and then led song on page 278b in memory of Barrett and Bonnie Ashley. Lamar Smith, Milton Oliver, S. T. Reed, and Bud Oliver led “Pray On”.

David Ivey led songs 101b, verses 1-2, and 499 for the following deceased: Howard Bynum, Gail Rich, Marilou Jolly, Madolin McGray, Hazel Cagle, Clydus Moon, Otis Nall, Ed Latham, Dillie Creel Harris, Malone Austin, Erik Hand, Arthur Beckett, J. T. Conn, Lois Matthews, Vena Holley, Merle Etheridge, Don Johnson, Ewell Nelson, Tom Harper, Teenie Reid Rogers, Delta Wootten, Elder Bernard Moon, Lola Jenkins, Buddy Tindal, Clelan Cobb, Milton Wallace, Rodger Morrison, Tyrone Dryden, Lola Myrtle Roberson, Jimmy Causey, Emma Nell Nelson, J. E. Allen, Kenneth Brandon, Eva Reeves, Horace Lambert, Silas Lee, Willa Mae Holt, Buck Aaron, Ernest Phillips, Unie B. Howard, Elsie Key, Sally Carroll, Nora Collett, Alvin Parker, and Carrie Graves.

Phil Summerlin led 68b for the sick and shut-ins which included: Jap Walton, Helen Bryson, I. V. McWhorter, Revy Williamson, Mary Stiefel, Alice Washburn, Alpha Black, Gary Gronau, Elmer Cordell, Woodie Walker, Jerry Sheppard, Mozelle Sheppard, Winnie Reeves, Mary Oliver, Seldon Creel, Kim Cagle, Virgil Phillips, and Ruby Phillips.

The memorial was closed with prayer by Phil Summerlin.

Singing was resumed with the following leaders called: Shelbie Sheppard 183; Allison Ivey, Stuart Ivey, Richard Ivey, and Cassie Franklin 182; Brenda Carrol 299; Ardell Turnure and Sara Pickens 354b; Loyd Ivey 420b; Phil Summerlin 415; George Seiler 347; George Seiler and Jean Seiler 200; Cassie Franklin 99; Jeff Sheppard 129, 87; Kristy Finley 166; Randall Smith and Kristy Finley 137; Reed family—S. T. Reed, Sue Wills, Euline Dobbs, Lelamae Wagner, and Ardell Turnure “Jesus Died For Me”; Milton Oliver, Cheryl Beard, and Eric Blanks 496.

S. T. Reed called for a report from the Finance Committee. The Committee reported a collection of $308.00.

Announcements were made. Milton Oliver, S. T. Reed, Lamar Smith, Bud Oliver, and Wayne Reed led song on page 62 as the closing song, and all who wished took the parting hand. The class was dismissed with prayer led by Wayne Reed.

Chairman—S. T. Reed; Vice Chairman—Milton Oliver; Secretary—Randall Smith.