Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Ivey Memorial

Liberty Baptist Church, Henagar, Alabama

Sunday, March 29, 2015

The annual Ivey Memorial Sacred Harp singing was held at Liberty Baptist Church, Henagar, Alabama, on the fifth Sunday in March. The class was called to order by David Ivey leading 82t. The opening prayer was offered by Phil Summerlin.

The following officers were previously elected or appointed to serve: Chairman—David Ivey; Vice Chairman—Shane Wootten; Secretary—Cheyenne Ivey; Arranging Committee—Jackie Tanner, Cindy Tanner, and David Ivey.

Leaders: Shane Wootten 89 (in memory of his grandparents); Cheyenne Ivey 39b (in memory of Marie Ivey); Jackie Tanner 129; Wayne Wootten 276; Boyd Scott 358; B.M. Smith 72b; Loyd Ivey 278b (in memory of Hobert Ivey); Loretta Smith 274t (in memory of Leonard and Margaret Smith); Lomax Ballinger and Linton Ballinger 213t; Eloise Wootten and Loyd Ivey 426b; Louis Hughes 348b; Roberta Strauss 474; Darrell Swarens 341 (in memory of Hobert Ivey); Nate Green and Norma Green 177; Nicholas Thompson 392; Karen Rollins 350; Paul Figura 549; Cecil Godfrey 155.


Jared Wootten led 101t to bring the class together. Leaders: Daniel Lee 183; Kathy Williams 475; Jerry Kitchens 480; Laura Clawson 542; Janelle Davis 84; David Smead 432; Tom George 148; Evie Eddins 71; Drew McGuire 472; Aaron Wootten 39t; Shelby Castillo and Reba Windom 196; Allison Whitener, Richard Ivey, and Stuart Ivey 222; Hayden Wootten and Jamey Wootten 440; Amber Davis 380; Jonathan Smith 74t; Eugene Forbes 299; Mark Carroll 400; Rebecca Over 430; Daniel Bearden 484.


The class was called back to order by Rodney Ivey, Kevin Eddins, Elam Eddins, Ewan Eddins, and Eli Eddins leading 96 (CB) (in memory of John Etheridge). Leaders: Judy Chambless 318 (in memory of Julietta Haynes); David Gooch 343; Eli Hinton 146; Ezra Lloyd and Gideon Lloyd 448b, 38t (CB); Anna Hinton 300; Emily Eddins 142; Barrett Patton 266; Wyatt Denney 107; Ezra Eddins 179; Mark Godfrey 448t; Ken Kelly, Jamie Kelly, and Will Kelly 224; Claudia Dean 512; Delone Cobbs 42 (in memory of Bud Oliver); Robert Chambless 75; Susan Allred and Greg Allred 45t; Alanna Blanks 405. The blessing before the noon meal was offered by David Gooch.


The afternoon session was called to order by Marty Wootten leading 145t. Leaders: Hayden Arp 445; Phil Summerlin 131b; Angela Myers and Rodney Ivey 30b; Philip Denney and Rodney Ivey 303; Anne Drexler 87; Henry Johnson and Dennis George 138b; Erica Hinton 204; David Brodeur 215; Reba Windom and Betty Shepherd 216; Matt Hinton 365; Joanna Nicovich 570; Buell Cobb 80b; Donna Wootten 511b (CB); Scot Oliver 68b; Shirley Figura 361; Scott Ivey and Brianna Wells 411; Susan Harcrow 500; Cindy Tanner 368.


David Ivey led 217 to bring the class together. Leaders: Karen Freund 272; Kevin Eddins and Ethan Eddins 282; Coy Ivey, Ewan Eddins, and Elam Eddins 384; Ed Thacker and Barrett Patton 421 (for Margaret Thacker and in memory of Bud Oliver and Hobert Ivey); Daphene Causey and Sharon DuPriest 434; Lauren Bock 556; Kelsey Ivey 403; Sarah Wootten 209; Elene Stovall and Gresham Davis 182; Susan Cherones 564 (in memory of Marie Ivey); Tony Ivey 473; Lisa Bennett 383; John Plunkett 540; Bridgett Hill Kennedy 377; Leigh Cooper 34b; Pam Nunn 528; Mary Ruth Stiefel 144; Caleb Allred 503; Jenny Mann 36b; Charles Stiefel 123b; Karen Ivey and Nicholas Thompson 327; Isaac Lloyd 86; Lilly Underwood 457.

David Ivey, Shane Wootten, and Tony Ivey led 45b as the closing song. The closing prayer was offered by Tony Ivey.

Chairman—David Ivey; Vice Chairman—Shane Wootten; Secretary—Cheyenne Ivey