Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 2022 2023 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

New York State Sacred Harp Convention

Mennonite Meetinghouse, Rochester, New York

October 17-18, 2014

Friday, October 17

The 26th session of the New York State Sacred Harp Singing Convention was called to order at 7:00 p.m. by Thom Metzger leading 34b. The opening prayer was offered by Ginny Huszagh.

Leaders: Sue Hengelsberg 106; Chris Haller 313t; Dev Crasta 209; Melody Johnson 335; Tarik Wareh 495; Pleasance Crawford 150; Cora Wareh 547; Eric Bean 475; Eileen Metzger 39t; Jean Seiler 40; Dan Hertzler 99; Margaret Bornick 162; Gillian Inksetter 147b; Chuck Crawford 32t; Ginny Huszagh 128; Elizabeth Barlow 52t; Faiz Wareh 70t; Lyn Caswell 361; Guy Bankes 391; Barbara Swetman 383; Mary Skidmore 203; Laura Densmore 486; Jan May 344.


Eric Bean called the class together by leading 155. Leaders: Lyn Caswell 171; Chuck Crawford 66; Elizabeth Barlow 178; Jan May 300; Gillian Inksetter 456; Pleasance Crawford 464; Rachel Speer 101t; Candis Bailey 107; Dev Crasta 47b; Margaret Bornick 47t; Dean Jens 168; Melody Johnson 490; Dan Hertzler 417; Guy Bankes 351; Mary Skidmore 271t; Tarik Wareh 545; Jean Seiler 142; Barbara Swetman 72b. Forty-three singers were in attendance; twenty-four leaders led thirty-nine songs.

The following officers and committee members were elected or appointed to serve: Chairman—Thom Metzger; Vice Chairman—Eileen Metzger; Registrar—Wayne Westcott; Arranging Committee—Laura Densmore and Terry Ryan; Chaplains—Eileen Metzger and Ginny Huszagh; Hospitality—Sue Hengelsberg; Kitchen—Eileen Metzger and GeriAnn Westcott; Secretary—Sue Hengelsberg.

Thom Metzger led 323t. Eileen Metzger dismissed the class with prayer.

Saturday, October 18

The Saturday session of the New York State Sacred Harp Singing Convention was called to order by Thom Metzger leading 68b. Eileen Metzger offered the opening prayer.

Leaders: Ginny Huszagh 276; Chris Haller 228; Sue Hengelsberg 504; Thom Metzger 274t; Rachel Speer 99; Faiz Wareh 171; Bob Wheeler 107; Lucy Roberts 133; Dennis Leipold 200; Melody Johnson 33b; Chuck Crawford 300.


Leaders: Laura Densmore 106; Eileen Metzger 522; Scott Luscombe 506; Jan May 454; Cora Wareh 535; Dev Crasta 178; Katie White 142; Margaret Bornick and Ron Bornick 143; Dan Hertzler 496; Mary Skidmore 542; Jean Seiler 448t; Guy Bankes 549; Barbara Swetman 480; Tarik Wareh 546.

Ginny Huszagh gave an inspirational message, and led 56b in honor of the following sick and shut-ins: Leon Pulsinelle, Lucy Burrows, Charles Waide, Lizzie Murdock, Jo Houghton, David Leedy, Ruth Densmore, and Kaye MacDonough.

The memorial lesson was conducted by Gerry Hoffman, who led 61 in memory of the following deceased: Joe Frost, Sherry Grimm, Eleanor Dietzen, Lorain Reimers, Dorothy Kunz, Bill Tendy, Mayer Shevin, and Tom Talley—New York; Beth Phinney, Eva Behrens, and Lucy Young—Vermont; Suzanne Jacquand and Georgia Jenkins—Pennsylvania; Shelbie Sheppard, Jeff Sheppard, and Bill Aplin—Alabama; Robert How and David Bernath—California; Jane Williamson MacDonald and John Van Sorosur—Maine; Sharon Kellam—North Carolina; Kathryn Tucker—Georgia; Ethan Plecash—Ontario; and Somen Goodman—Quebec. Ginny Huszagh closed the memorial service with prayer.

Leaders: Elizabeth Barlow 501; Brian How 114; Pleasance Crawford 182; Dean Jens 183; Gillian Inksetter 195; Gerry Hoffman 216; Laura Densmore 384; Terry Ryan 473; Candis Bailey 155; Bob Wheeler 86; Chris Haller 87; Ginny Huszagh 198; Dennis Leipold 503; Lucy Roberts 101t.


Terry Ryan began the afternoon session by leading 105. Leaders: Eric Bean 528; Katie Reimers 48t; Greg Jenkins 47t; Katie White 209; Scott Luscombe 430; Mary Skidmore 245; Dan Hertzler 38b; Pleasance Crawford 512; Guy Bankes 352; Brian How 117; Gillian Inksetter 187; Gerry Hoffman 272; Laura Densmore 304; Thom Metzger 159; Jan May 327; Barbara Swetman 71; Dean Jens 174; Elizabeth Barlow 350; Dev Crasta 277.


Leaders: Scott Luscombe 148; Margaret Bornick 299; Tarik Wareh 227; Jean Seiler 273; Greg Jenkins 217; Thom Metzger 319; Sue Hengelsberg 306; Faiz Wareh 351; Katie Reimers 49b; Rachel Speer 429; Eric Bean 270.

Announcements were made. The 2015 New York State Convention will be hosted by the Utica area singers in a location to be announced.

Leaders: Melody Johnson 315; Candis Bailey 569b; Eileen Metzger 76b; Terry Ryan 538; Katie White 547; Scott Luscombe 362.


Gerry Hoffman called the class back together by leading 36t. Leaders: Gillian Inksetter 234; Dan Hertzler 282; Laura Densmore 157; Guy Bankes 189; Jan May 287; Pleasance Crawford and Chuck Crawford 33t; Gerry Hoffman 564; Greg Jenkins 472; Bob Wheeler 474; Brian How 146.

Eighty-seven singers attended the Saturday session; thirty-five leaders led ninety-one songs. The Chairman thanked all in attendance, and wished everyone a safe journey home. He led 347. Ginny Huszagh offered a closing prayer.

Chairman—Thom Metzger; Vice Chairman—Eileen Metzger; Secretary—Sue Hengelsberg