Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 2022 2023 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Rocky Mountain Sacred Harp Convention

Fuller Lodge, Los Alamos, New Mexico

September 27-28, 2014

Saturday, September 27

The 25th annual Rocky Mountain Convention was held on the fourth Sunday and Saturday before in September at Fuller Lodge in Los Alamos, New Mexico. Sharon Kermiet called the class to order leading 40. The opening prayer was offered by Robert McKay.

The following officers were elected or appointed: Chairperson—Claire Singleton; Treasurer—Sally Gwylan; Secretary—Nancy Nortz.

Leaders: Claire Singleton 155; Pete Mathewson 77t; Ginnie Ely 313t; Paul Lindholm 29t; Anita Landess 113; Paul Wilson 33b; Steve Cackley 230; Stephanie Fida 68t; Karl Dise 500; Lynn Hoyt 156; Thom Fahrbach 511; Barry Johnston 335; Steve Hoyt 347; Vicki Morgan 472; David Hawes 348t; Ed Stevens 515; Sally Gwylan 324; Robert McKay 142; Jean Merritt 457; Jodie Streit 323b; Claire Singleton 30t.


The singing resumed with Eric Metzler leading 107. Leaders: Marilyn Murata 421; Mia Alvarado 178; David McPherson 72t; Katie Van Duzer 77b; Laura Loewenstein 117; Judy Van Duzer 174; Pete Mathewson 489; Ginnie Ely 454; Paul Lindholm 419; Anita Landess 473; Paul Wilson 501; Steve Cackley 347; Stephanie Fida 486; Karl Dise 167; Lynn Hoyt 512; Thom Fahrbach 392; Barry Johnston 148; Steve Hoyt 68b; Vicki Morgan 122; David Hawes 260; Ed Stevens 162; Sally Gwylan 326.


Ed Stevens called the class back to order by leading 84. Leaders: Norma Ruptier 480; Harlan Van Camp 362; Eric Metzler 66; Robert McKay 70b; Jean Merritt 547; Claire Singleton 455; Marilyn Murata 378b; David McPherson 183; Katie Van Duzer 492; Laura Loewenstein 340; Judy Van Duzer 314; Pete Mathewson 565; Ginnie Ely 196; Paul Lindholm 187; Anita Landess 379; Paul Wilson 131b; Steve Cackley 560; Stephanie Fida 505; Karl Dise 296.


Lynn Hoyt led 314 to bring the class back together. Leaders: Amanda Jokerst 312b; Thom Fahrbach 428; Barry Johnston 86; Steve Hoyt 282; Vicki Morgan 474; David Hawes 147t; Norma Ruptier 479; Judy Van Duzer 442; Catie Van Duzer 280; Harlan Van Camp 547; Eric Metzler 63; Marilyn Murata 200; Sally Gwylan 277; Ginnie Ely 497; Robert McKay 313b; Paul Wilson 495; Anita Landess 297; Steve Cackley 28b; Karl Dice 558; Paul Lindholm 564; Jean Merritt 146; Claire Singleton 315; Laura Loewenstein 108b; Lynn Hoyt 401; Steve Hoyt 569b.

Claire Singleton led 209, and the class was dismissed.

Sunday, September 28

The Sunday session of the Rocky Mountain Sacred Harp Singing Convention was brought to order by Claire Singleton leading 49t.

Leaders: Barry Johnston 386; Melissa Nussbaum 346; Harlan Van Camp 39t; Marilyn Murata 24t; Nancy Nortz 171; David McPherson 430; Ginnie Ely 228; Leslie Alperin 163b; Robert McKay 49b; Jody Streit 87; Thom Fahrbach 88t; Laura Loewenstein 457; David Hawes 547; Stephanie Fida 424; Sally Gwylan 159; Karl Dise 320; Judy Van Duzer 59; Steve Cackley 321; Katie Van Duzer 440; Lynn Hoyt 71; Steve Hoyt 105.


The class was called back to order by Leslie Alperin leading 155. Leaders: Amanda Jokerst 445; Anita Landess 32t; Paul Lindholm 203; Mia Alvarado and Leslie Alperin 408; Melissa Nussbaum 162; Harlan Van Camp 214; Marilyn Murata 423; Nancy Nortz 89; Thom Fahrbach 411; Ginnie Ely 349.

Robert McKay conducted the memorial lesson. He led 209 in memory of the following deceased: Michael Wheeler—United Kingdom; Geraldine Johnston—Wyoming; Betty Wright and Shelbie Sheppard—Alabama; Stanly Edwards—Alabama/Oregon; Don Ward—North Carolina; Doris Hawes, Fred Mercer, Fumie Murata, and Clotieal G. Lewis—California.

The following sick and shut-ins were remembered: Wayne Walburn, Mary Badarak, John Schaffer, Mary Adato, Carole Mamzetta, Richard Hoyt, Shisue Sugimoto, and Alicia Lopez.

Leaders: David McPherson 300; David Hawes 538; Stephanie Fida 306; Karl Dise 436; Laura Loewenstein 208; Judy Van Duzer 151; Steve Cackley 77b; Katie Van Duzer 202; Leslie Alperin 48t; Claire Singleton 318.


Harlan Van Camp brought the class together for the afternoon session by leading 497. Leaders: Sally Gwylan 114; Paul Lindholm 562; Robert McKay 47b; Claire Singleton 448b; Lynn Hoyt 339; Sharon Kermiet 192; Steve Hoyt 535; Amanda Jokerst 95; Anita Landess 330b; Harlan Van Camp 504; Marilyn Murata 429; Nancy Nortz 547; Thom Fahrbach 426t; Ginnie Ely 502; David McPherson 128; David Hawes 528; Laura Loewenstein 268; Stephanie Van Duzer 532; Judy Van Duzer 284; Anita Sanders 236.


Leslie Alperin led 454 to bring the class to order. Leaders: Steve Cackley 88b; Catie Van Duzer 173; Sally Gwylan 142; Paul Lindholm 189; Robert McKay 277; Claire Singleton 198; Lynn Hoyt 317; Sharon Kermiet 217; Steve Hoyt 31t; Amanda Jokerst 201.

Announcements were made. The 2015 Rocky Mountain Convention will meet next September in Colorado. Claire Singleton thanked all who worked to make this convention possible. Robert McKay offered the closing prayer. Claire Singleton lead 62 as the closing song, and the class was dismissed.

Chairperson—Claire Singleton; Secretary—Nancy Nortz