Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Baylor University Sacred Harp Singing

George W. Truett Theological Seminary, Waco, Texas

Saturday, February 8, 2014

The 13th annual Baylor University Sacred Harp Singing was held in the Great Hall of the George W. Truett Theological Seminary on the Baylor University campus in Waco, Texas. Donald Ross gave a few introductory remarks about Sacred Harp, and conducted a singing school prior to the start of the singing. Dr. David Music called the class together leading 59. Karl Utz offered the opening prayer.

The following officers were appointed: Chairman—Dr. David Music; Secretary—Diane Ross.

Leaders: Diane Ross 278t; Kristie Powell 564; Tammy Powell 542; Jerry Ryan 319; Bruce Coates 515; Judy Whiting 171; Gaylon Powell 272; Andy Eaton 63; Chris Brown 56b; Vickie Cook 335; Abby Huckaby 146; Leon Ballinger 297; Carter Cook 142; Mike Hinton 527; Donald Ross 566; Beverly Coates 36b; Pete Mathewson 565; Becky Hendricks 479.


Dr. Music and students Julia Brown, Hannah Powers, Stephanie Becker, and Natalie Wells brought the class back together by leading 128. Matt Oberhelman 350; Gary Rogan 122; Jonathan Pendleton 145b; Dr. Gayle Avant 30t; Karl Utz 81t; Vivian Rogan 32t; Ron Ryan 415; Sarah Huckaby 376; Jo Pendleton 34b; Julia Brown 178; Hannah Powers and Stephanie Becker 159; Natalie Wells 72b; Cheryl Foreman and Randall Foreman 475; Rick Foreman 448t; Adam Cogliano 40; Susie Mathewson 68b; Julia Brown 35.


Dr. Randall Bradley brought the class back together by leading 59 and 85. Leaders: Diane Ross 454; Kristie Powell 383; Tammy Powell 217; Jerry Ryan 145t; Bruce Coates 66; Judy Whiting 466; Gaylon Powell 223; Rick Foreman and Randall Foreman 209; Dr. David Music and students 49t; Chris Brown 205; Vickie Cook 86; Abby Huckaby 421; Carter Cook 168; Leon Ballinger 434; Davis Lunsford 276; Juan Mendoza and Derek Rogers 87; Julia Brown 457; Cheryl Foreman 344; Karl Utz; Pete Mathewson 480; Susie Mathewson 569b; Becky Hendricks 163b; Mike Hinton 400; Donald Ross 234; Beverly Coates 354t; Gary Rogan 384; Dr. Gayle Avant 235; Vivian Rogan 84; Jo Pendleton 97; Ron Ryan 108t; Sarah Huckaby 47t; Davis Lunsford 504; Chris Brown 512; Judy Whiting 212; Jonathan Coffield 282, 503; Erin Ramirez 135; Pete Mathewson and Susie Mathewson 33b.

Dr. David Music dismissed the class.

Chairman—Dr. David Music; Secretary—Diane Ross