Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Edwardsville Baptist Church

Edwardsville, Cleburne County, Alabama

Sunday, April 7, 2013

The annual Sacred Harp singing at Edwardsville Baptist Church, Edwardsville, Alabama, was held on the first Sunday in April. The class was called to order by Cecil Roberts leading 59. The morning prayer was offered by Jack Nelson. Jack Nelson led 489 and 504.

The following officers were elected or appointed to serve: Chairman—Cecil Roberts; Vice Chairman—Henry Johnson; Secretary—Donna Bell.

Leaders: Cecil Roberts 37b, 312b (in honor of Lois Bowman and Jeanette Laminack); Henry Johnson 60, 138b; Donna Bell 426b, 503 (in memory of B.J. Harris); Rene Greene 208, 112; Earlis McGraw 201, 114; Pearl Guier 63, 448b; Rebecca Over 131b; Rebecca Over and Earlis McGraw 283; Ryan Bowman 47b, 113.


Henry Johnson led 418 to bring the class back to order. Leaders: Jan House 46, 200; Robert Chambless 303; Robert Chambless, Emily Labit, and Jeanine Brown 72b; Lou Cotney and Michael Wood 358, 222; Myron House 143, 311; Evelyn Harris 47t, 155 (for Carlene Griffin); Judy Chambless 472, 347; Virginia Dyer and Cain Cook 40, 186; Charlene Wallace 77t, 85; B.M. Smith 350, 99; Ruth Daniel 378t, 335; Marilyn Bradley 58, 34t; Margie Smith 317, 569b; Fallon Cook, Chance Cook, and Cain Cook 192, 146; Ann Simpson 274t, 275t, 388; Ryan Brown 163b, 277; Rebecca Over 29t, 107. L.V. Yates offered the blessing of the noon meal.


The afternoon session was brought to order by Donna Bell leading 97. Leaders: Jack Nelson 514 (?); Rene Greene 228; Earlis McGraw 225t; Lou Cotney 212; Evelyn Harris 400; Robert Chambless 145b; Judy Chambless 105; Charlene Wallace and Jeanine Brown 326; Henry Johnson and Emily Labit 69t; Margie Smith 499; Tommy McGraw 542; Tommy McGraw and Rebecca Over 353; Ann Simpson 452.

Following announcements, Cecil Roberts and Henry Johnson led 45b as the closing song. Cecil Roberts offered the closing prayer, and the class was dismissed.

Chairman—Cecil Roberts; Vice Chairman—Henry Johnson; Secretary—Donna Bell