Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Boiling Springs Convention

Mt. Zion Primitive Baptist Church, Ashland, Alabama

Saturday, November 10, 2012

The 146th session of the Boiling Springs Singing Convention was held on Saturday before the second Sunday in November at Mt. Zion Primitive Baptist Church. The class was called to order at 9:30 a.m. by Eugene Forbes leading 32t. The opening prayer was offered by Ed Thacker.

The following officers were elected or appointed to serve: Chairman—Eugene Forbes; Vice Chairman—Ed Thacker; Arranging Officer—Edna Phillips; Secretary—Myrline Redmon.

Leaders: Eugene Forbes 75; Ed Thacker 492, 408; Edna Phillips 480, 164; Myrline Redmon 569b, 340; Cecil Roberts 48t, 35; Ann Webb 274t, 142; Angela Myers 101t, 63; Margaret Thacker 46, 565; Karen Rollins 540, 317; Jim Aaron 47b, 503; Bea Carnathan 456, 145t.


The class was called to order by Eugene Forbes leading 175. Leaders: Shirley Berrey 189 (in memory of her mom, Vernell Amason), 143 (in honor of her Dad, Gib Amason), 373; Tim Cook 282, 549; Hubert Nall 288, 34b; Richard Mauldin 36b, 37b; Jack Nelson 560, 551; Margaret Ray 354b, 358; Eugene Forbes 318.

Richard Mauldin conducted the memorial lesson. He spoke and led 235 for the following sick and shut-ins: Josie Hyde, Stella Pratt, Ann Beasley Ballard, Bud Oliver, Sammie Oliver, S.T. Reed, Lessie Reed, Leona Haynes, Audress Gurley, Lois Bowman, Mona Nelson, Floy Wilder, Nell Estes, Jenny Acton, Betty Wright, and Willard Wright.

Richard spoke and led 285t in memory of the following deceased: Marie Ivey, John Merritt, Lonnie Rogers, Dr. Julietta Haynes, Harrison Creel, Ernie Jett, Elder Steve Statherson, and Charles Creel.


The class was called to order by Eugene Forbes leading 108t and 89. Leaders: Judy Caudle 294 (by request), 111t; Marilyn Bradley 124, 59; Robert Chambless 33b, 225t; Ann Simpson 47t, 452; Lori Hinesley 405, 172; Carol Duvall 171; Wendy Futral 145b, 566; Steve Adams 378t, 101t; William Futral 341, 30t; Christa Baker 36t; Eugene Forbes, Hailey Baker, Gib Amason, and friend 45t, 358; Edna Phillips and Crista Baker 36b; Myrline Redmon, Edna Phillips, and Christa Baker “Not Made With Hands” (in honor of Audress Gurley).

Eugene Forbes led 46 as the closing song. The closing prayer was offered by Ed Thacker.

Chairman—Eugene Forbes; Vice Chairman—Ed Thacker; Secretary—Myrline Redmon