Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Cork All-Day Singing

Camden Palace, Cork, Ireland

Saturday, October 27, 2012

The 2nd annual Cork All-Day Sacred Harp Singing was held in Camden Palace on Camden Quay in Cork, Ireland, on the last Saturday of October. All songs are from The Sacred Harp, 1991 Edition. The class was called to order by Sinéad Hanrahan leading 28t.

Leaders: Eamonn O’Neill 29t; Dara Desmond 348t; Eimear O’Donovan 32t; Bryan Seale 39t; Jennifer Barry 106; Amanda Parkes 517; Colleen Jones 163b; Mike Morrisroe 173; Michael Jude O’Neill 457; Mark Cosgrave 183; Kate Kirwan 38t; Niamh O’Sullivan 270; Emer Hewson 65; Áine Uí Cheallaigh 160b; Hugh McKenna 84; Ruth Clinton 547; Ewan Paterson 277.


The class was called back to order by Sadhbh O’Flynn and Michael Walker leading 354t. Leaders: Sarah West 429; Tara Walsh 268; Al McCready 155; Kuba Choinski 87; Clara Grimes 274t; Melissa Kelley 383; Ellyn Stokes 276; Justyna Orlikowska 215; Irial Ó Ceallaigh and Al McCready 159; Ella Cumber 222.

The memorial lesson was conducted by Bryan Seale and Eamonn O’Neill. Bryan spoke about the sick and housebound and led 178 in honor of the following people: Barry Condon, Shane McGrath, Cath Tyler, Jeff Sheppard, Shelbie Sheppard, Siobhán Buckley, Brendan O’Neill, Geraldine O’Neill, Don Walker, Charlotte Walker, Victor Griffin, Charlie Pierce, and Catherine Seale.

Eamonn spoke about the comfort, community, and support of our Sacred Harp group. He expressed his appreciation of the support the group gave him following the passing of one of our members. He led 114 in memory of Tom and Maeve Peel, Ita and Jim Ryder, Mark Ferguson, Maurizio Vallebella, Níall Henderson, and Pat Ryan—Ireland; Reg Egglestone—England; Peter Schoonjans—Sweden; Jay Booker—Canada; Joan Fritz and Chris Toll—USA. The memorial lesson was closed with a prayer offered by Hugh McKenna.

Leaders: Aldo Ceresa 34t; Rebecca Over 285t; Alex Dixon 229; Michael Walker and Mike Morrisroe 447; Gosia Perycz 444; Mary Ryder and Eimear O’Donovan 317; Amanda Parkes 318.


The afternoon session was brought to order by Jennifer Barry leading 148. Leaders: Mark Cosgrave 485; Bryan Seale 196; Fergal Malone 535; Joseph McGilloway and Aldo Ceresa 324; Dara Desmond 210; Michael Walker 475; Lily Power 31t; Melissa Kelley 349; Eamonn O’Neill 397; Sarah West 157; Justyna Orlikowska 564; Kate Kirwan 272; Renata Pekowska and Julia Benedict 86; Aldo Ceresa 550; Mike Morrisroe 245; Rebecca Over 562; Gosia Perycz 436; Alex Dixon 319; Clara Grimes 47t; Ellyn Stokes 45t; Kuba Choinski 36b.


Eimear O’Donovan called the class back to order leading 105. Leaders: Sinéad Hanrahan 480; Mike Morrisroe 56b; Al McCready 452 (for Martin B. Fast); Connor Prendeville 107; Ruth Clinton 344; Hugh McKenna and Laura McKenna 503; Sadhbh O’Flynn 542; Eva Striebeck 70b; Ewan Paterson 117; Sunny Doyle and Bryan Seale 300; Pauline Hyde 58; Michael Walker 521; Colleen Jones and Sadhbh O’Flynn 284.


Gosia Perycz called the class back to order leading 82t. Leaders: Amanda Parkes 142; Ella Cumber 40; Ronan O’Donovan 145b; Emer Hewson 181; Joseph McGilloway and Hugh McKenna 335; Michael Jude O’Neill and Al McCready 347; Melissa Kelley and Eva Striebeck 203; All Dublin singers 209; Gosia Perycz, Justyna Orlikowska, Kuba Choinski and Renata Pekowska 112; Áine Uí Cheallaigh and Irial Ó Ceallaigh 376; Eamonn O’Neill and family members 271t; All Scottish and English singers 49b; Colleen Jones 122; Kate Kirwan 168.

The Treasurer’s and Secretary’s reports were submitted. Treasurer Mike Morrisroe stated that all expenses had been met. Secretary Dara Desmond reported that 90 songs had been led by 46 leaders. There were 60 registered singers representing Ireland, Northern Ireland, England, Scotland, Germany, Poland, Canada, and the United States.

Announcements were made. Sinéad Hanrahan led 62 as the closing song. Joseph McGilloway offered the closing prayer.

Chairperson: Sinéad Hanrahan; Vice Chairperson: Eamonn O’Neill; Secretary: Dara Desmond