Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 2022 2023 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Pacific Northwest Convention-Oregon

The Laurelhurst Club, Portland, Oregon

October 15-16, 2011

Saturday, October 15

The 20th annual Pacific Northwest Convention was held at The Laurelhurst Club, Portland, Oregon, on the third Sunday and Saturday before in October. Lyle Lindsey called the class to order leading 448b. Steve Tarr offered the opening prayer.

A brief business meeting was held, and the following officers were elected to serve: Chairperson—Lyle Lindsey; Vice Chairperson—Chris Cotter; Treasurer—Dan Thoma; Secretary—Heather Ikeler.

Elene Stovall was introduced as the singing school teacher. Ms. Stovall spoke of her lifetime of experiences within the Sacred Harp tradition and her ties to the singers and composers of generations past. She spoke of how the memorial lesson ties us all to these people and one another, making us all part of the Sacred Harp heritage. She led 36b, a song her father liked to lead, and 564, her favorite song written by her friend, John Hocutt. Elene touched on the rudiments of leading and encouraged us to sing from the heart, then selected 99 to demonstrate leading in four beats. She encouraged anyone who had never stood in the center of the square to join her in leading 129, and then assisted Melissa Stephenson and Amber Smith in leading 362 and 455, respectively. Ms. Stovall concluded by inviting all of us to come and sing with her in Alabama, an invitation which will, no doubt, be taken up by many.


David Wright called the class back together leading 207. Leaders: Lyle Lindsey 84; Chris Cotter 56t; Dan Thoma 216; Heather Ikeler 202; Steve Tarr 347; Dorothy Robinson 349; Tom McTighe 384; Elene Stovall 142; Thom Fahrbach 573; Carolyn Deacy 430; Steve Cackley 184; Kristie Powell 203; Hal Eisen 422; Steve Helwig 277; Deidra Montgomery and Sei Harris 234; Gaylon Powell 165; Erik Schwab 391; Kevin Barrans 379; Tamara Harris 131b; Jane Grant 373; Jack Lofton 196; Jonathan Levy-Wolins 318; Mark Miller 266; Leyland delRe 486. Steve Tarr offered the blessing for the noon meal.


The class was brought back together by Heather Ikeler leading 146. Leaders: Erika Wilson 411; David Wright 304; Daniel Hunter 342; Gregory Mulkern and Jessica Hahl 360; Mimi Stevens 183; Karen Willard 483; Eric Xu 47b; Sarah West 498; Jenn Dolan 365; Bob Schinske 550; Phyllis Gonigam 128; Ethan Hardy 320; Shelby Sampson 297; Betsy Jeronen 112; Linda Booth 198; Jean Murphy 86; Bruce Rowland 480; Anna Stoerch 485; Kathy Vlach 40; Greg Saue 178.


The class was brought back to order by Kevin Barrans leading 388. Leaders: Ethan Hardy and Rachel Hardy 34t; Cornelia Stanton 87; Reed Schilbach and Anne Huckins 171; Marla Elliott 77t; Peter Schinske 268; Lucinda Saue 163b; Martha Sherwood 163t; Nell Whitman 148; Caleb Hardy 179; Kate Fine 452; Evan Palmer 556; Anne Huckins 448t; Jessica Hahl 333; Sarah West 80t; Elene Stovall and Deidra Montgomery 200; Leyland delRe and Gregory Mulkern 68t.

Lyle Lindsey made a few brief announcements. Steve Tarr offered the closing prayer, and the class was dismissed for the day.

Sunday, October 16

The Sunday session of the Pacific Northwest Convention was brought to order by Lyle Lindsey leading 276. The opening prayer was offered by Dorothy Robinson.

Leaders: Lyle Lindsey 107; Chris Cotter 48t; Dan Thoma 569b; Heather Ikeler 77b; Dorothy Robinson 34b; Thom Fahrbach and Katy Kanfer 225t; Carolyn Deacy 456; Steve Cackley 72t; Betsy Jeronen 460; Leyland delRe 208; Jessica Hahl 335; Eric Xu 442; Nell Whitman 504; Tom McTighe 454; Deidra Montgomery 377; Meg Larson 147b; Anna Stoerch 69t; Peter Schinske 198; Gaylon Powell 542; Kevin Barrans 106; Rosie Lindsey 111b; Phyllis Gonigam 66; Bruce Rowland 82t; Anne Huckins 99; Philip Haines 282; Kramer Klein 455; Kate Fine 72b; Erik Schwab 181; Mimi Stevens and Phyllis Gonigam 546; Jonathan Levy-Wolins 300.


The class was called back together by Heather Ikeler leading 155. Leaders: Emily Lash 547; Hazel Rickard and Lynnae Griffiths 162; Tamara Harris 222.

Heather Ikeler led 70t for the following sick and shut-ins: John Dolan, Suzanne Denker, Linda Laing, Shirley Flatley, Pam Maben, Kathleen Brophy, Diane Dugas, John Merritt, Janice Newell, Bud Oliver, Sammie Oliver, Barbara Willard, Rodney Willard, Jeanine Maynard, Jean Williams, and Rita Mayne.

Dan Thoma conducted the memorial lesson for the deceased and led 285t in memory of the following: Carol, Mark Brey and Becky Wenk—California; Frank Evans—Virginia; David McKinley, Dede Sullivan, John Bancroft, Barbara Conde, Kathryn Cramer and Bob Strayer—Oregon; Tom Maher—Pennsylvania; Wayne Barrans, Eileen Barrans and Charley Rawls—Washington; Leo Barrans—Alaska; Alice Whitford—Wisconsin; Marie Ivey, Travis Keeton and Cecil Sanders—Alabama; George Jones and Edwin Reed—Texas; Waltraut Stoerch—Germany; Alexander Lucas Lofton—South Carolina; Barbara Gold—New York; Mike Waterson and Peter Scott—England.

Leaders: David Wright 214; Steve Helwig 528; Greg Saue 490; Linda Booth and Gaylon Powell 269; Robert Norman 31t; Cornelia Stanton 344; Melissa Stephenson 144; Erika Wilson 370; Bob Schinske 500; Jack Lofton 218; Kathy Vlach 565; Solomon Ossa 448t; Marla Elliott 341. Noon grace was offered by Dorothy Robinson.


Erik Schwab brought the class back together leading 30b. Leaders: Deidra Montgomery, Sei Harris, and Sam McKinstry 145t; Kristie Powell 505; Elene Stovall 392; Mark Miller 315; Daniel Hunter 306; Emily Winokur 339; Hal Eisen 436; Sarah West 153; Greggory Stockert 122; Karen Willard 543; Shelby Sampson 30b; Clarissa Fetrow 40; Karl Oswald 179; Reed Schilbach 318; Carolyn Flatley-Gilkey 503; Ethan Hardy 195; Lucinda Saue 532; Eric Xu 444; Dan Thoma 53; Heather Ikeler 492; Leyland delRe 280; Steve Cackley 185; Chris Cotter 192; Carolyn Deacy 29t.


The class was called back to order by Sarah Hauser leading 452. Leaders: Dan Thoma 85; Liz Bryant 384; Caleb Hardy 63; Elene Stovall 189; Daniel Hunter 383; Steve Helwig and Karen Willard 245; Gaylon Powell 236; Tamara Harris 402; Tom McTighe 324; David Wright 168; Bob Schinske 32t; Erika Wilson 215; Betsy Jeronen 440; Solomon Ossa 472; Jack Lofton 274t; Hal Eisen 95; Steve Tarr 311; Kramer Klein 312b; Jonathan Levy-Wolins 86; Kevin Barrans 206.

Lyle Lindsey called a business meeting to order. Committee reports were given as follows: Treasury announced that all expenses had been met; Registration announced that 186 registered with 166 songs led by 76 leaders over the two days; Resolutions were given by Kristie Powell and Cornelia Stanton thanking travelers and all others who participated in making the convention a success. A gift was presented to Elene Stovall in appreciation for her fine singing school. Announcements were made.

Lyle Lindsey led 36b as all who wished took the parting hand. Dorothy Robinson offered the closing prayer, and the class was dismissed.

Chairperson—Lyle Lindsey; Vice Chairperson—Chris Cotter; Secretary—Heather Ikeler