Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 2022 2023 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Mt. Zion Memorial Singing

Mt. Zion, Georgia

July 23-24, 2011

Saturday, July 23

The 119th session of the Mt. Zion Memorial Sacred Harp singing was held at Mt. Zion Methodist Church on the fourth Sunday and Saturday before in July. Earlis McGraw called the class to order leading 30t. Hugh McGraw offered the morning prayer.

Leaders: Earlis McGraw 283; Tommy McGraw 399b, 475; Lela Crowder 139, 32t; Judy Henry 134, 313t; Charlene Wallace and Jason Stanford 155; 229; B.M. Smith 72b, 101t; Charles Woods 73b, 81t; Judy Chambless 389, 393; Martha Ann Stegar 198, 47t; Henry Johnson 52b, 55; Karen Rollins 551, 227; Robert Chambless 163b, 84.


Tommy McGraw called the class back to order by leading 225t. Leaders: Jeff Sheppard 182, 318; Clyde Avery 314, 402; Richard DeLong 400, 406; Jeannette DePoy 234; Helen Bryson 492, 467; Oscar McGuire 441, 515; Kramer Klein 34t, 288; Margie Smith 405, 499; Keith Robertson 569b; Faye Hollis 340, 542.


Earlis McGraw brought the class back together leading 435. Leaders: Brandon Acton 300, 36b; Jan House 151, 148 (for Mr. Lonnie Rogers); Phillip Denney 208, 120; Matt Hinton 133, 27.

A motion was made to go into a business session. The following officers and committee members were elected or appointed to serve: Chairman—Earlis McGraw; Vice Chairman—Tommy McGraw; Secretary—Lela Crowder; Chaplain—Hugh McGraw; Arranging Committee—Judy Chambless; Memorial Committee—Richard DeLong.

Leaders: Jenny Acton 560, 112; Myron House 102, 191; Erica Hinton 97, 391; Ed Thacker 517, 220; Anna Hinton 40, 300; Clyde Avery 558; Kramer Klein 209; Earlis McGraw, Judy Henry, Carlene Griffin, Charlene Wallace, and Tommy McGraw 333; Mike Hinton 32t; Oscar McGuire and Faye Hollis 276; Karen Rollins and Phillip Denney 46; Charles Woods, Jason Stanford, and Danny Griffin 77b; Jenny Acton and Brandon Acton 99; Brandon Acton 53; Lela Crowder, Helen Bryson, and Jeannette DePoy 522; Matt Hinton, Erica Hinton, Anna Hinton, and Eli Hinton 277; Jeff Sheppard and Henry Johnson 132; Martha Ann Stegar and Richard DeLong 82t; Jan House and Myron House 284; Helen Bryson and B.M. Smith 448b; Judy Chambless and Robert Chambless 146.

Announcements were made. Earlis McGraw and Tommy McGraw led 476 as the closing song. Hugh McGraw dismissed the class with the closing prayer.

Sunday, July 24

The class was called to order by Earlis McGraw leading 32t. Henry Johnson offered the morning prayer.

Leaders: Tommy McGraw 138t, 383; Lela Crowder 135, 421; Judy Chambless 527, 565; Mark Godfrey 83t, 39t; Mike Spencer 166, 205; Molly Ellis 77b, 80t; Stanley Edwards and Calvin Prise 330t, 378b; John Plunkett 88b, 476; Robert Chambless 145b, 452; Leigh Cooper 76b, 47t; Charles Wood 420, 160b; Richard DeLong 399b, 407; Carol Chapman 317, 384; John Hollingsworth 176t, 230.


Earlis McGraw brought the class back together leading 45t. Leaders: Robert Kelley 531, 530; Clyde McWhorter 318, 546.

Richard Delong spoke, and led 544 for the deceased, including Ernestine Pipkin, Sammy Harlan, George Seiler, Joanne Bowman, Wayne Morgan, and Japeth Jackson.

Lela Crowder led 68b for the sick and shut-in singers who included Violet Thomason, Dot Garrison, Virginia Hammond, Demetrius Jones (Cousin to Bridgett Hill Kennedy), Zach Rogan, Bud Oliver, Sammie Oliver, S.T. Reed, Lessie Reed, Travis Keeton, and Mary Crowder. Cecil Roberts closed the memorial lesson with prayer.

Leaders: Henry Johnson 141, 144; B.M. Smith 340, 389; Malinda Snow 549, 556; Cecil Roberts 35, 89; Ed Thacker 186, 91.


Earlis McGraw called the class back together leading 225t. Leaders: Cheri Taylor 117, 299; Rita Haley 63, 128; Oscar McGuire 155, 229; Laura Frey 231, 358; Wesley Haley 34b, 73b; Hayden Arp 460, 382; John Kelso 338, 397; Judy Henry 222, 40; Charlene Wallace 479, 503; Robert Kelley 216; Wesley Haley 47b; John Hollingsworth 540; Molly Ellis, Mark Godfrey, Leigh Cooper, John Kelso, and Mary Catherine Slavic 42; Oscar McGuire, Cecil Roberts, and Stanley Edwards 285t; Malinda Snow, Lela Crowder, and Mike Spencer 354t; Richard DeLong, Cheri Taylor, and Laura Frey 327; Henry Johnson, Ed Thacker, and B.M. Smith 303; Charlene Wallace, Judy Henry, Earlis McGraw, Carol Chapman, Tommy McGraw, and Susan McGraw 129; Judy Chambless and Robert Chambless 480; Hayden Arp 283.

Announcements were made. Earlis McGraw and Tommy McGraw led 62 as the closing song. Cecil Roberts offered the closing prayer.

Chairman—Earlis McGraw; Vice Chairman—Tommy McGraw; Secretary—Lela Crowder