Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Mr. and Mrs. Frank Rogers Memorial Singing

Ephesus School, Roopville, Georgia

Sunday, March 6, 2011

The annual memorial Sacred Harp singing for Mr. and Mrs. Frank Rogers was held at Ephesus School on the first Sunday in March. Singing commenced at 9:30 a.m. with Denney Rogers leading 101t. Henry Johnson gave the invocation. Stanley Edwards led 83b and Karen Rollins led 168.

A business session was held. The following officers were elected or appointed to serve: Chairman—Denney Rogers; Vice Chairman—Stanley Edwards; Secretary—Karen Rollins; Arranging Committee—Margie Smith and Judy Chambless; Memorial Committee—Karleen Williams.

Mayor Denney Rogers welcomed everyone to Ephesus. Leaders: Sherry Lovvorn 454; Karleen Williams 143; Reba Windom 171; Tommy Spurlock 475; Harrison Creel 342; Rodney Ivey 283; Jeff Sheppard 325; Lela Crowder 383; Terry Wootten 138t; Jeannette DePoy 142; Nate Green and Norma Green 339; Tony Hammock 97; Bea Carnathan 204; Robert Chambless 145b (for Bud Oliver); Angela Myers 220; Helen Bryson 328; Linda Thomas 52t; Loyd Ivey 560; Karen Willard 502.


Stanley Edwards brought the class back to order by leading 340. Leaders: Blake Sisemore 546; Danny Creel 532; Judy Caudle and Bridgett Hill Kennedy 192 (in memory of LaRue Allen); Lisa Geist 377; Holly Mixon and Lauren Bock 196; Dennis George 197; Larry Ballinger, Linton Ballinger, Gravis Ballinger, and Earl Ballinger 224; Richard Ivey 456; Pam Nunn and Jeff Sheppard 556; Stanley Smith and Nicholas Markwell 411; Henry Guthery 431; Elene Stovall 436 (in memory of her mother and others); Henry Johnson 418; Carolyn Thompson 507; B.M. Smith 389; Ed Thacker 421 (for Bud Oliver); Malinda Snow 374; Jackie Tanner 336; Marlon Wootten and Shane Wootten 376.


The singing resumed with Denney Rogers leading 46. Leaders: Lonnie Rogers 298, 45t; Louis Hughes 448b; Nathan, Noah, and Oliver 47b; Cindy Tanner 269; Phillip Langley 430; Judy Mincey and Gail Davies 474; Daphene Causey and Sharon DuPriest 288 (by request of Lonnie Rogers); John Kelso 564; Jared Wootten and Jamey Wootten 441; Scott DePoy 201.


Ed Thacker called the class back to order by leading 37t. Leaders: Lauren Bock 215; Cheyenne Ivey and Paige Gilbert 77t; Donna Bell 318; Molly Ellis 297; Sandra Wilkinson 300; Paige Harrod and Seth Denney 112; Erica Hinton 270.

The memorial lesson was conducted by Karleen Williams. She made a few remarks, and then read the names of the following deceased: Mildred Holcombe, Verna Smith, Bernice Rogers, Reba Sims, Holland Adair, Marcia Prince, Mary Florence Smith, Deputy Willie Cammon, Virginia Maxwell, Dorsey Denney, and Sammy Harlan—Georgia; Reba Norton, Myrtle Wootten, Thurmond Lovvorn—Alabama; Howard Hallock—Washington; David Willard—Oregon. John Plunkett led 499, and the children of Lonnie Rogers led 35 in their memory.

Oscar McGuire led 57 for the following sick and shut-ins: Parrie Reimer, Jeff Sheppard, Virginia Cowart, Teenie Moody, Shelbie Sheppard, Bud Oliver, Josephine Denney, Nick Griffin, Carlene Griffin, and Raymond Hamrick. The lesson was closed with prayer.

Leaders: Lou Cotney 218; Glenda Collins and Burt Collins 354b; George Garner 222; Margie Smith 313t; Scott Ivey 440; Phillip Denney and Christian Webb 216; Anna Hinton 40; Chris Ballinger 410t; Buell Cobb 433; Cecil Roberts 399b; Donna Duke and Gene Duke 274t; Phil Summerlin 350; Charlene Wallace 155; Matt Hinton 422; Evelyn Harris and Ruth Daniel 378t; John Plunkett 136; Sheri Taylor 209; Oscar McGuire 485; Diane Avery 312b; Jenna Frye 358; Judy Chambless 494.

Announcements were made. Denney Rogers, Stanley Edwards, and Karen Rollins led 62 as the closing song. Prayer was offered by Cecil Roberts, and the class was dismissed.

Chairman—Denney Rogers; Vice Chairman—Stanley Edwards; Secretary—Karen Rollins