Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Cullman County Convention

Cullman County Courthouse, Cullman, Alabama

July 10-11, 2010

Saturday, July 10

The 117th session of the Cullman County Sacred Harp Singing Convention was held at the Cullman County Courthouse on the second Sunday and Saturday before in July. Henry Guthery called the class to order by leading 31b. Richard Mauldin offered the morning prayer.

Leaders: Henry Guthery 101t; Glenn Keeton 359; Richard Mauldin 77t; Stella Pratt and Don Robertson 379; Don Robertson 203; Larry Ballinger 528; Phillip Gilmore 114, 270; Garrett Sipe 63; Brenda Chafin Merritt 442, 192; Sonya Sipe 39b; Travis Keeton 400; Jim Aaron 503; Elsie Moon 436; Danica Thornton 401; Hubert Nall 186; Anna Grace Sipe 274t; Charles McCravy 129, 176b; Ken Tate 229; Gary Smith 99.


Henry Guthery brought the class back together leading 431. Leaders: Joye Jenkins 568 (in memory of her father); Virginia Eldridge 380, 328; Velton Chafin 449; Rebekah Gilmore 344, 36b; Robert Chambless 317, 84; Wanda Capps 546; Stephanie Fida 500, 378b; Grace Gilmore 208, 168; Tim Morton 95, 558; Harrison Creel 111b; David Knight and Henry McGuire 236; Sarah Smith 406 (in memory of Corene White and in honor of Reedie Powell); Danny Creel 456; Rebekah Eldridge 507, 396; Steve Adams and Richard Mauldin 358; Hugh Bill McGuire and Henry McGuire 268, 269; Eugene Forbes 280; Beth Branscome 440, 91.

The following officers were elected or appointed to serve: Chairman—Henry Guthery; Vice Chairman—Glenn Keeton; Arranging Committee—Billy Williams; Chaplain—Richard Mauldin; Finance Committee—Bea Carnathan; Memorial Committee—Judy Caudle; Secretary—Carolyn Thompson.


The class was brought back together by Henry Guthery leading 407. Leaders: Nancy Tuck 454 (in memory of her uncle, Preston Crider); James Eldridge 522, 327; Judy Chambless 142; Darrell Swarens and Brenda Chafin Merritt 532; Darrell Swarens, Brenda Chafin Merritt, and Velton Chafin 487; Max Berueffy and Karin Covi 276, 472; Kermit Adams 288; Henry McGuire 532, 365; Hannah Tate 198; Adrian Eldridge 540, 377. Richard Mauldin offered prayer before the noon meal.


Henry Guthery and Glenn Keeton returned the class to order by leading 316. Leaders: Geraldine Sharpton 481; Buell Cobb 72t; Robert DuPree 569b; Jennifer Clay 452; Lisa Geist 394; Lisa Geist and Larry Ballinger 224; Regina Derstine and Delsie Derstine 65; Regina Derstine 37b; Katherine Eldridge 58, 124; Delone Cobbs 44; Craig Holmes 66; Brenda Scott 146.

Announcements were made. Henry Guthery led 521 as the closing song. Richard Mauldin offered the closing prayer, and the class was dismissed.

Sunday, July 11

The Sunday session of the Cullman County Sacred Harp Singing Convention was brought to order by Henry Guthery leading 101t. Richard Mauldin offered the opening prayer.

Leaders: Glenn Keeton 222, 163b; Stella Pratt 137; Kermit Adams 217; Danica Thornton 401; Henry Johnson, Aldo Ceresa, and Rachel Rudi 408; Henry Johnson 398; Hugh Bill McGuire 384, 460; Christopher Mann 127, 36b; Richard Ivey 187, 352 (by request); Henry McGuire 183, 290; Ed Thacker 200, 192; Stuart Ivey 368, 546; Carolyn Thompson 300, 448t; Sonya Sipe and Cindy Mann 32t, 171.


Ken Tate brought the class back to order by leading 212. Leaders: Tim Morton 323t, 383; Darrell Swarens 47b, 208; Stephanie Fida 230, 432; Blake Sisemore 42, 436; Chris Ballinger 270, 84; Reedie Powell 269, 412; David Ivey, Richard Ivey, and Stuart Ivey 437, 487; Travis Keeton 155, 480.


The class was brought back together by Henry Guthery leading 283. Leaders: Shane Wootten 44, 411.

Judy Caudle conducted the memorial lesson. She read a devotional from the writings of Charles H. Spurgeon. She read the list of names of the sick and shut-ins and led 564 in their honor.

Those who have passed away since we met last at this venue were remembered and Judy led 499 in their memory. Henry Johnson closed the memorial lesson with prayer.

Leaders: Gravis Ballinger 110; Harrison Creel 342; Karen Ivey 446; Karen Ivey and Oliver Kindig-Stokes 189; Bea Carnathan 438, 80b; Judy Caudle 272, 268. Richard Mauldin offered the noon time blessing.


The afternoon session was called to order by Glenn Keeton leading 144. Leaders: Henry Guthery 159 (in memory of Mr. and Mrs. L.H. Walker and Ava and Preston Crider); Oliver Kindig-Stokes 91, 111t; David Ivey, Richard Ivey, and Stuart Ivey 445; Geraldine Sharpton 299, 542; Richard Mauldin 551; Dewayne Wootten 340; Aldo Ceresa 214; Jeffrey Wootten 176b, 97; Linda Thomas 131b; Lisa Geist 273; Marlin Beasley and grandson, Joshua 99, 318; Donald Robertson 282 (by request); Milford Cobbs 405, 381; Wanda Capps and Danny Creel 389, 475; Garrett Sipe 274t, 63; Juanita Beasley 61; Anna Grace Sipe 335; Steve Adams, Bea Carnathan, and Carolyn Thompson 331, 129; Craig Holmes 479; Shane Wootten and Richard Mauldin 358; Caleb Allred 142; Jordan Ratliff “Sweet Beulah Land” (by request).

The Finance Report was given by Bea Carnathan. Announcements were made. Henry Guthery led 521 as the closing song. Richard Mauldin dismissed the class with prayer.

Chairman—Henry Guthery; Vice Chairman—Glenn Keeton; Secretary—Carolyn Thompson