Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Alabama Sacred Harp Musical Convention

Jefferson State Community College, Birmingham, Alabama

November 21-22, 2009

Saturday, November 21

The 110th session of the Alabama State Sacred Harp Musical Convention met at Jefferson State Community College on the fourth Sunday and Saturday before in November. David Ivey called the class to order at 9:00 a.m. leading 56t. The morning prayer was offered by Eddie Mash.

Leaders: Hubert Nall 30t; Elene Stovall 171; Cassie Allen 319; Henry Johnson 230; Linda Thomas 32t; Joyce Walton 392; Robert Chambless 84; Michael Thompson 362; Danny Creel 196; Rodney Ivey 203; Ed Thacker 532; Sonya Sipe, Garrett Sipe, and Anna Grace Sipe 63; Phil Summerlin 318; Arlon Gardner 277; Tommie Spurlock 402; Daryl Chesney 492; Doug Conn 498; Jim Aaron 68b; Ashley Wigley 45t; Tim Morton 558.


The class was brought together by David Ivey leading 61. Leaders: John Plunkett 353; Joe Nall 46; Shelbie Sheppard 327; Mary Amelia Taylor 276; Elsie Moon 292; J.L. Hopper 534; Roberta Strauss 56b; Gravis Ballinger 112; Karen Rollins 389; Wendy M. Futral 35; Molly Ellis 370; Julian Damashek 74t; Ernestine Pipkin 110; Jennifer Clay and Sonya Sipe 47b; David Carlton 421; Patty Doss 48b; Tom George 280; Joanna Lambert 573.


Hubert Nall and Joe Nall brought the class to order leading 460. Leaders: Buell Cobb 83t; Luke Daniel 40; Beth Branscome 313t; B.M. Smith 111b; Kelsey Sunderland 403; Harrison Creel 512; Henry Guthery 543; Marlin Beasley 336; Ross Brand 73t; Daphene Causey 140; Wanda Capps, Emma Calvert, and Ainslie Allen 146; Richard Mauldin 446; Ken Tate 212; Rachael Rudi 70b; Jeannette DePoy 271t.

A business session was held and following officers were elected or appointed: Chairman—Hubert Nall; Vice Chairman—Richard Mauldin; Chaplain—Robert Chambless; Secretaries—Linda Thomas and Elene Stovall; Arranging Committee—Cassie Allen and Richard DeLong; Resolutions Committee—Richard Ivey and Jeanette DePoy; Location Committee—Linda Thomas and David Ivey; Finance Committee-Rodney Ivey and Louis Hughes; Memorial Committee—Bea Carnathan and Eddie Mash. After committees were appointed, the business session was closed.

Leaders: Delone Cobbs 49b; Nora Parker 394; Louis Hughes 181; Judy Caudle 461; Gail Doss 126; Richard DeLong 320. Robert Chambless offered the blessing before the noon meal.


The afternoon session was brought together by Hubert Nall and Rodney Ivey leading 129. Leaders: Larry Ballinger 151; Charlene Wallace 283; Darrell Swarens 208; Samuel Sommers 368; Pam Nunn 189; Reba Windom 216; Emily Creel 546; Allison Schofield 215; Ann Chalker 146; Richard Ivey 328; Eddie Mash 444; Bridgett Hill 304; Ann Jett 88t; Sharon DuPriest 434; Linton Ballinger 306; Julietta Haynes 371; Beth Todd 234; Karen Ivey 108t; Cindy Tanner 436; Kristie Harju 302; Deidra Montgomery 377; Loyd Ivey 340; Nathan Rees 228; Rene Greene 172; Stanley Smith 344.


Hubert Nall and Max Berueffy brought the class back to order leading 38b. Leaders: Dennis George and Jeremy Krans 211; Eugene Forbes 384; Travis Keeton 179; Xaris MartĂ­nez 522; Judy Mincey 501; Nate Green and Norma Green 131b; Scott Kennedy 454; Judy Chambless 386; Bea Carnathan 568; Jeff Sheppard 550; Sarah Smith 290; Willis McCumber 428; Matt Hinton and Erica Hinton 448t; Jerry Creason 278t; Ian Ludders 81t; Seth Holloway 274t; Joyce Whittington, Cheyenne Ivey, and Joanna Lampert 99.

Announcements were made. Hubert Nall led 176b as the closing song. Robert Chambless offered prayer, and the class was dismissed.

Sunday, November 22

The Sunday morning session of the Alabama Sacred Harp Musical Convention began at 9:00 a.m. with Hubert Nall leading 36b. Robert Chambless offered the morning prayer.

Leaders: Richard Mauldin 168; Linda Thomas 81b; Robert Chambless 163b; Richard Ivey and Jeannette DePoy 567; Rodney Ivey and David Ivey 540; Eddie Mash and Bea Carnathan 472; Louis Hughes 314; B.M. Smith 556; Gavin Blakeley 196; Ian Ludders 327; Travis Keeton 57; David McGinty 323b; Nate Green and Norma Green 415; Loyd Ivey 337; Sara Lynch-Thomason 106; Wanda Capps 542; Daphene Causey 223; Judy Mincey 474; Lomax Ballinger and Linton Ballinger 224; Anne Chalker 146.


The class was brought together by Hubert Nall leading 288. Leaders: Henry Guthery 527; Joyce Whittington 76b; SuNell Ellis 388; Ed Thacker 315; Nathan Rees 387; Erica Hinton 391; J. C. Rutledge 490; Ainslie Allen 401; Arlon Gardner 67; Deidra Montgomery 548; Marlin Beasley 298; Dennis George 250; Steve Helwig 328; Elene Stovall and Gresham Davis 200.


David Ivey and Hubert Nall brought the class together leading 192. Leaders: Darrell Swarens 198; Shelbie Sheppard 216; Jerry Creason 32t; Judy Chambless 142; Matt Hinton 383; Willis McCumber 419; Allison Schofield 384; Jeff Sheppard 176t; Sharon DuPriest 189.

Eddie Mash and Bea Carnathan conducted the memorial lesson. Bea

Carnathan read the names of the sick and shut-in as follows: Victoria Bolles, Byron Burchett, Virginia Futral, Becky Browne, David Kayser, Marie Ivey, Joe Todd, Clarence McCool, Rhoda Norris, Violet Thomason, Lonnie Rogers, Reedie Denson Powell, Miles Schofield, Bud Oliver, Sammie Oliver, Johnnie Chafin, and Ron Harper. Bea Carnathan and Eddie Mash led 340 in their honor.

Eddie Mash spoke on behalf of the deceased. Bea Carnathan read the names of the deceased as follows: Ray Tate, Charlotte Creel McCarn, Bill Ellason, Ann M. Kucera, William Reynolds, Pearl Galbreath, Frank Block, Jane Bruner, Jimmie Denney, Corene White, Cindy Kissee, John Penn, and John Etheridge. Bea Carnathan and Eddie Mash led 285t in their memory. Robert Chambless closed the memorial lesson with prayer.

Leaders: Sarah Smith 129; Karen Rollins 354t; Robert DuPree 569b; Harrison Creel 342; Roberta Strauss 496.


The afternoon session was called to order by Hubert Nall leading 313t. Leaders: Pam Nunn 528; Richard DeLong 193; Beth Todd 89; Michael Thompson 182; Kelsey Sunderland 488; Hannah Tate 282; Cassie Allen 431; Judy Caudle 518; Julian Damashek 217; Ken Tate 422; Julietta Haynes 155; Cindy Tanner 442; Joanna Lampert and Bridgett Hill 564; Tom George 507; Allison Whitener and Karen Ivey 440; Bridgett Hill, Joanna Lampert, and Rodney Ivey 500; Susan Harcrow 430; Reba Windom and Richard DeLong 411; Scott Kennedy 149; Henry Johnson 113; Danny Creel 269; Samuel Sommers 316; Paul Clazing 408; Tim Morton 74b; Eugene Forbes 299; Steve Adams and Richard Mauldin 101t; Gail Doss 191; Rachael Rudi 410b; Kermit Adams 99; Seth Holloway 400; Jim Aaron 503.

A business session was held for the purpose of giving reports. The Resolutions Committee (Richard Ivey and Jeannette DePoy) thanked everyone who helped make the convention a success. The Finance report was given and all expenses were met. The Secretaries’ report was given, stating that a total of 199 leaders from 15 states attended. A motion was made and seconded to accept the reports as given and adjourn the business meeting.

Announcements were made. Hubert Nall, David Ivey, and Richard Mauldin led 62 as the closing song. Robert Chambless offered the closing prayer, and the class was dismissed.

Chairman—Hubert Nall; Vice Chairman—Richard Mauldin; Secretaries—Linda Thomas and Elene Stovall