Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 2022 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Chattahoochee Convention

Wilson’s Chapel, Carrollton, Georgia

August 1-2, 2009

Saturday, August 1

The 157th session of the Chattahoochee Convention was held on the first Sunday and Saturday before in August, 2009, at Wilson’s Chapel, near Carrollton, Georgia. Sheri Taylor opened the convention leading 77t and 209. Henry Johnson offered an opening prayer.

Chairman Taylor appointed the following nominating committee: Robert Kelley, Oscar McGuire, and B.M. Smith.

Leaders: John Plunkett 52t; Oscar McGuire 171; Bentley McGuire 91; Matt Hinton 99; Laura Frey 178; Jonathan Smith 40; Aldo Ceresa 142; Richard DeLong 123b; Nathan Rees 205; Lisa Webb 269; Lori Goode 358; Karen Rollins 354t; Charles Woods 353; Shannon Primm 328; Robert Stoddard 377; Nora Dunn 421; Jenna Frey 401; Ted Mercer 42; Jeannette DePoy 39t; Peter Golden 52b; Jenna Strizak.


Sheri Taylor called the class to order by leading 503. Leaders: Mary Elizabeth Goode and Christian Webb 25; Jack Nelson 438; Hayden Arp 32t.

Sheri Taylor opened the business session of the convention and the nominating committee submitted the following for officers: Chairman-John Plunkett; Vice Chairman-Sheri Taylor; Secretary-Donna Duke; Chaplain-Henry Johnson. The officers were elected as appointed. Chairman Plunkett submitted the following committees: Arranging Committee-Oscar McGuire, Laura Frey, and Nathan Rees; Finance Committee—Lisa Webb, Lori Goode, and Shannon Primm; Resolutions Committee—Aldo Ceresa, Eddie Mash, and Karen Rollins; Memorial Committee—Richard DeLong, Jeannette DePoy, and Matt Hinton.

Leaders: Philippa Stoddard 383; Judy Mincey 492; Joel Miller 227; Darrell Swarens 208; Lela Crowder 101b; Elizabeth Stoddard 441; Cath Tyler 556; Joyce Walton 500; Ed Thacker 110; Kelsey Sunderland 521; B.M. Smith 475; Charlene Wallace 365; Tony Hammock 430; Robert Kelley 157; Jennie Brown 527; Lonnie Rogers 389.


John Plunkett opened the afternoon session by leading 118. Leaders: Kelsey Campbell 163b; Ray Rechenberg 31t; Judy Chambless 319; Harry Eskew 128; Phil Tyler 139; Butch White 74b; Faye Hollis 299; Robert Chambless 145b; Helen Bryson 569t; Andy Morse 547; Bill Hollingsworth 236; Ian Ludders 501; Carlene Griffin 225t; Eddie Mash 96; Michael Thompson 426b; D.J. Hatfield 218; Kiri Miller 564; John Hollingsworth 460; Dick Plunkett 47b; Reba Windom 183; James Baumgartner 217; Joan Durdin 148; Henry Johnson 113.


Sheri Taylor brought the class together by leading 332. Leaders: Kelsey Sunderland 214; Peter Golden 300; Jennie Brown 565; Ray Rechenberg 569b; Cath Tyler 47t; D.J. Hatfield 112; Nora Dunn 207; James Baumgartner 101t; Ted Mercer 163t; Philippa Stoddard 215; Joel Miller 176b; Robert Stoddard 456; Kiri Miller 144; Phil Tyler 428; Elizabeth Stoddard 216.

Sheri Taylor led 323t as the closing song. Henry Johnson closed the Saturday session with prayer.

Sunday, August 2

The Sunday morning session of the Chattahoochee Convention was brought to order by John Plunkett leading 435. Henry Johnson offered the morning prayer.

Leaders: Sheri Taylor 300; Oscar McGuire 155; Jeannette DePoy 570; Nathan Rees 69t; Aldo Ceresa 506; Richard DeLong 67; Jenna Frey 358; Myron House 131t; Kelsey Sunderland 102; B.M. Smith 72b; Cath Tyler 107; Robert Kelley 562; Jan House 151; Kiri Miller 272; Michael Thompson 567; Steve Taylor 276; Louise Holland 371; Peter Golden 569t; D.J. Hatfield 250; Judy Chambless 565; Nora Dunn 179; Jennie Brown 89; Eddie Mash.


Sheri Taylor called the class to order leading 294. Leaders: Karen Rollins 136; Mark Puckett and Rebecca Puckett 408; Phil Tyler 160 (t? b?); Robert Chambless 176b; James Baumgartner 38b; Shannon Primm 213t; Matt Hinton 212; Elizabeth Stoddard 283.

The memorial lesson was conducted by Richard DeLong, Jeanette DePoy and Matt Hinton. Jeanette read the following list of deceased: Sharon Bailey, Frank Block, Lee Rogers, Katharine Worthington, Elizabeth Tolbert, David Wilson, Renea Campbell, Allene Denney, and Pearl Driver—Georgia; John Etheridge—Florida; Elder Gerald Hand—New Mexico; Jim Oss—Indiana; Ray Rechenberg, Sr.—Ohio; William Reynolds—Tennessee. Richard DeLong led 348b in memory of the deceased.

Jeannette DePoy read the following names of sick and shut-ins: Victoria Bolles, Raymond Hamrick, Josie Hyde, Sally MacEwen, Bud Oliver, Sammy Oliver, S.T. Reed, Lessie Reed, Jeff Sheppard, Shelbie Sheppard, Mary Florence Smith, Jane Spencer, Violet Thomason, Opal Wooten, Andy Worthington, and Henry Zittrouer. Matt Hinton led 33b for the sick and shut-ins, and then closed the memorial session with prayer.

Leaders: Ian Ludders 29b; Charlene Wallace 192; Ed Thacker 181; Lori Goode 196; Lela Crowder 340.


The afternoon session was called to order by John Plunkett leading 167. Leaders: Tony Hammock 434; Philippa Stoddard 228; Joel Miller 37b; Kathy Williams 455; John Cole read a song he wrote entitled “Wilson’s Chapel”; Henry Johnson 539; Jenna Strizak 384; Robert Stoddard 392; Molly Ellis 312b; Earlis McGraw 284; Cecil Roberts 56t (in memory of Homer Benefield); Malinda Snow 27; Carlene Griffin 159; Dick Plunkett 49b; Anita Shaperd 106; Adalaide Hanson 523; Lonnie Rogers 298; Christian Webb 25; Laura Frey 323b; Sherry Lovvorn 143; Lisa Webb 361; Aldo Ceresa 507; Cath Tyler 378b.


John Plunkett called the class together by leading 270. Leaders: Randa Harris 127; Nora Dunn and Joel Miller 110; Peter Golden 274t; Kelsey Sunderland and Henry Johnson 418; Elizabeth Stoddard, Robert Stoddard, and Philippa Stoddard 522; D.J. Hatfield 345t; Kiri Miller and James Baumgartner 445; Jennie Brown 446; Eddie Mash and Matt Hinton 444; Anita Shaperd 377; Phil Tyler 477.

The convention went into a business session. Committee reports were read as follows: Oscar McGuire moved that John Cole’s song “Wilson’s Chapel” be added to the minutes of the convention as follows: “Wilson’s Chapel” “The stillness of the ancient oaks,/The beauty of the grounds,/Belie the struggles of the saints/Who lie here without sound./Our mothers and our fathers left/Their homes across the sea,/And from the wilderness they carved/New homes for you and me./Through war and grief and pestilence,/Beset by foes around,/Their voices still they raised in song/And strength and comfort found./We’ll not forget the lives they led/Before they breathed their last./We join them, then, in singing here/The songs of ages past.”

The Finance Committee reported a collection sufficient to cover expenses. Aldo Ceresa, Eddie Mash and Karen Rollins gave the Resolutions Committee Report as follows: “The Resolutions Committee wishes to express gratitude to the following who have made this convention one of the best in memory: 1) We are thankful to the singers who came from far and near to sing, pray, laugh, cry, eat and converse with us; 2) We appreciate the officers who performed their jobs admirably so that the convention ran smoothly; 3) We are indebted to the Wilson family that built this edifice for singing so that this convention would have a home; 4) We are grateful to those who amply provided the delicious food for our meals each day; 5) We thank our Creator for our health and our voices that permit us to worship in song. We wish you a safe voyage home and we look forward to singing with you again in the near future.”

A motion was made and carried that the reports be accepted as read, and added to the minutes. Announcements for future singings were made.

John Plunkett and Sheri Taylor led 323t as the closing song. The class was dismissed with prayer offered by Henry Johnson.

Chairman—John Plunkett; Vice Chairman—Sheri Taylor; Secretary—Donna Duke