Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Cullman County Sacred Harp Singing Convention

Cullman County Courthouse, Cullman, Alabama

July 11-12, 2009

Saturday, July 11

The 116th session of the Sacred Harp singing held at the Cullman County Courthouse, Cullman, Alabama, met on the second Sunday and Saturday before in July. No records were kept of the opening session of the singing.

The following officers were elected or appointed to serve: Chairman—Henry Guthery; Vice Chairman—Glenn Keeton; Chaplain—Richard Mauldin; Finance Committee—Bea Carnathan; Secretary—Carolyn Thompson.


Leaders: Josh Keeton 189; Charles McCravy 428, 176b; Ann Chalker 146; Ken Tate 39b; Sonya Sipe 36b; Darrell Swarens 72b; Caleb Allred 501; Hugh Bill McGuire 39t; Brenda Merritt 33b; Emily Thompson 269; Harrison Creel 342; Zach Allred 45t; Larry Ballinger 133; Marlin Beasley 448t; Carolyn Thompson 53; Beth Ann Clay 549; Corene White 97; Juanita Newman 335; Nelda Ezell 45t; Oleta Stewart 40; Clayton Ezell 66; D.L. McHorn (no number listed).


The class was brought to order by Henry Guthery, Scott Guthery, and Samuel Guthery leading 312b. Leaders: Garrett Sipe 274t; Earl Ballinger 283; Eddie Pierce 282; Katharine Manning 340; Will Allred 182; Richard Mauldin 378t; Gary Smith 276; Elsie Moon 167; Hubert Nall 212; Sarah Smith 290; Elene Stovall 430; Jim Aaron 68b; Reedie Powell Evans 57. Richard Mauldin offered the blessing for the noon meal.


The class was brought back together by Henry Guthery leading 434. Leaders: Bea Carnathan 205; Don Robertson 142; Glenn Keeton 163b; Stella Pratt 129; Henry Guthery III 456; Geraldine Sharpton 299; Robert Walker 99.


Leaders: Danny Creel 386; Buell Cobb 187; Jennifer Lee 192; Travis Keeton 388; Steve Adams 101t; Lucy Marie Heidorn 155; J.C. Rutledge 294; David Roberson 100; Anna Grace Sipe 77t; Juanita Beasley and Marlin Beasley 61; Delone Cobbs 150; Robert DuPree 569b; Kermit Adams 285t; Tyler Newman and Elsie Moon 454; John Merritt and Eddie Pierce 511 (OSH); Hugh Bill McGuire and Brenda Merritt 542; Travis Keeton 343; Eldagene Roberson 222; Wanda Capps 546; Brenda Merritt and Caleb Allred 45t; Geraldine Sharpton 300; Ken Tate 86; J.C. Rutledge 560; John Merritt 250, 271t; Bea Carnathan 472.

Announcements were made. Henry Guthery led 521 as the closing song. Richard Mauldin offered the closing prayer.

Sunday, July 12

The Sunday session of the Cullman County Sacred Harp Singing Convention was brought to order by Henry Guthery leading 32t. Richard Mauldin offered the morning prayer.

Leaders: Henry Guthery 145t; Max Berueffy 147b; Freda Bledsoe 87; Leona Haynes 277; Darrell Swarens 198; Ed Thacker 132; Kermit Adams 89; Garrett Sipe 63; Henry Johnson 111t; Corene White 216; Sonya Sipe 569b; Tim Cook 227; Travis Keeton 475; Bud Oliver 73t; Caleb Allred 107; Rodney Ivey 354t; Hugh Bill McGuire 159; John Merritt 312b.


Henry Guthery brought the class to order leading 507 (for Josie Hyde). Leaders: Dustin Rakeston and Rodney Ivey 347; David Ivey 352; Ken Tate 73b; Wanda Capps 203; Sarah Smith 374; Shane Wootten 393; Yancey Jett 108b; Marlin Beasley 480; Ann Chalker 146; Ann Jett 327; Jennifer Lee 383; Larry Ballinger 477; Richard Mauldin 43 (for Josie Hyde); Danny Creel 432; Carolyn Thompson 185; Judy Caudle 234; Geraldine Sharpton 421.


Glenn Keeton brought the class back together leading 270.

Don Robertson conducted the memorial lesson. He read the names of the sick and shut-ins and led 134 in their honor. He read the names of the deceased and led 318 in their memory. The memorial lesson was closed with prayer offered by Harrison Creel.

Leaders: Chris Ballinger 120; Stella Pratt 379, 487; Rachel Allred 411; John Merritt, Max Berueffy, and David Knight 236; Tyler Newman 100; Cindy Tanner 362; Lisa Geist 304; Henry Guthery 273.


The afternoon session was brought to order. Leaders: Beth Ann Clay 542; Elizabeth Keeton and Glen Keeton 212; Delone Cobbs 235; Susan Allred 403; Hannah Tate 124; Brenda Merritt 378t; Travis Keeton 44; Zach Allred 45t; Terry Moguely and Cindy Tanner 127; Gail Doss 137; David Roberson 168; Gary Smith 66; Christi Holcombe and Beth Ann Clay 63; Harrison Creel 512; Steve Adams 101t; Henry Guthery III 380; Juanita Beasley 39b; Will Allred 454; Mary Holcombe 103; Katharine Manning 442; Juanita Freeman 108t; Charles Stiefel 47b; Zeb Ferguson and Blake Ferguson 163t; Oleta Stewart and Henry Guthery 460; Jennifer Clay and Beth Ann Clay 503; Danika Thornton and Sarah Smith 401; Richard Mauldin and John Merritt 358; Shane Wootten 419.

Announcements were made. Richard Mauldin offered the closing prayer, and the class was dismissed.

Chairman—Henry Guthery; Vice Chairman—Glen Keeton; Secretary—Carolyn Thompson