Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 2022 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Huntsville Sacred Harp Singing

Burritt on the Mountain, Huntsville, Alabama

Saturday, May 2, 2009

The 25th annual Huntsville Sacred Harp Singing was held in the Old Country Church on the grounds of Burritt Museum, located atop Monte Sano Mountain in Huntsville, Alabama, on Saturday before the first Sunday in May. The class was called to order at 9:30 a.m. by Charles McCravy leading 171. He then offered the morning prayer.

The class organized by electing or appointing the following officers to serve: Chairman—Charles McCravy; Vice Chairman—Linton Ballinger; Secretary—Amanda Hardiman; Arranging Committee—Lomax Ballinger and Linton Ballinger.

Leaders: Charles McCravy 143; Lomax Ballinger 32t; Amanda Hardiman 454; David Ivey 67 (in memory of Jap Walton); Delone Cobbs 47b; Eddie Mash 498; Mary Whitehurst 500; Teresa Hope 300; Loyd Ivey 283; Karen Bahler 155; Ken Robinson 101t; Chrissy Watkins 203; David Killingsworth 38b; Melanie Hauff 421; Travis Keeton 460; Jennifer Lee 383; Gravis Ballinger 215; Nate Green and Norma Green 568; Wendy Hofmann 370; Robert Walker 480; Jimmy Ballinger 565.


The class resumed singing with Charles McCravy leading 428. Leaders: Gary Leopold 159; Buckley Hopper 457; Amber Davis 380; Gary McKnight 268; Reba Windom 192; S.T. Reed 158; Harrison Creel 111b; Joyce Walton 447; Dan Hopper 54; Josie Hyde 507; Henry Johnson 125; Coy Ivey and Karen Ivey 384 (in memory of Leigh Anna Jimmerson).


The class was called together by Charles McCravy leading 274t. Leaders: Ron Harper 433; Lisa Geist 273; Pierce Phillips 299; Jeff Adcock 97; Sandra Wilkinson 182; Nathan Rees 400; Richard Mauldin 378t; Geraldine Sharpton 542; Brad Bahler 550; Bob Simmons 532; Darrell Swarens 72b; Ricky Harcrow 434.

The memorial lesson was conducted by J.L. Hopper and Judy Caudle. Judy Caudle read the names of the deceased as follows: Dr. William Reynolds, Mattie Townsel, B.J. Phillips, Kim Jenkins, Lee Rogers, Loy Garrison, Leigh Anna Jimmerson, Dick Steil, John Etheridge, and Frank Hataway. She then read the names of the sick and shut-ins as follows: Frank Block, Clarence McCool, John Plunkett, Jeff Johnson, Katy (NLN), Rocky McCarthy, Nancy McCarthy, Dale Anthony, Betsy Anthony, Melba Teague, Lonnie Rogers, Myrtle Wootten, Julie Forest, Robbie Adcock, Lillie Brandon, and Paul Figura.

J.L. Hopper read a devotional for May 2 from the writings of Charles H. Spurgeon. Judy Caudle led 134, and Elder Hopper closed the memorial service with prayer.


The afternoon session was called to order by Charles McCravy leading 81t. Leaders: Phil Summerlin 405; Larry Ballinger 472; Rodney Ivey 432; Bridgett Hill 396; Mike Thompson 89; Henry Guthery 140; Cassie Allen 328; Samuel Sommers 184; Bobby Watkins 426b; John Bahler 276; Judy Caudle 564; Bud Oliver 42; Ed Thacker 214; Judy Mincey 475; Jonathon Smith 225b; Paula Springfield 297; Scott Ivey 168; Gary Gronau 112; Susan Harcrow 220; J.L. Hopper 71; Clarissa Springfield 445; David Carlton 189; Stephanie Fida 313b; Mark Carroll 142; Pattie Doss 426t; Kenneth Fannin 176b; Elene Stovall 436; Judy Hauff 536; Charles Meitinger 352; Alex Makris 222; Vella Dailey 66; Gaston White 236; Allison Whitener 425; Rick Hofmann 225t; Jim Aaron 163b; Peter Lemoth 131t; Linton Ballinger 144.

Following announcements, Charles McCravy and Linton Ballinger led 340 as the closing song. Henry Guthery offered the closing prayer, and the class was dismissed.

Chairman—Charles McCravy; Vice Chairman—Linton Ballinger; Secretary—Amanda Hardiman