Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Missouri State Convention

St. John’s United Church of Christ, Pinckney, Missouri

March 7-8, 2009

Saturday, March 7

The 24th annual Missouri State Sacred Harp Singing Convention was called to order at 9:30 a.m. at St. John’s United Church of Christ by Charlie Derleth leading 496 and 137. Rebecca Browne offered the opening prayer.

The following officers were elected or appointed to serve: Chairman—Charles Derleth; Secretary—Dave Ressler; Arranging Committee—Rebecca Browne and Lisa Bulawski; Finance Committee—Paul Figura and David Lloyd; Memorial Committee—David Carlton, Clara Herr, and Dave Kaeser. Songs were called from the 1991 edition of The Sacred Harp and The Missouri Harmony 2005.

Leaders: Rebecca Browne 36b; Presley Barker 28b; Roberta Strauss 480; Tommy Schultz 59; Joan Aldridge 200; John Uhlemann 212; Penny Kujawinski 300; Dennis Corcoran 276; Anne Drexler 87; Gary Gronau 168; Sylwinn Tudor and Susanna Eisenbraun 68b; Karen Isbell 313t; David Lloyd 56b; Carla Pepmiller and Steven Bermudez 122 (MH); Dave Ressler 67; Pattie Doss 175 (MH); Mark Bruns 182.


Charlie Derleth and Dave Ressler called the class to order leading 142. Leaders: Shirley Figura 361; Bill Rintz 155; David Kaeser 127 (MH); Meg Stauffer 40; Peggy Mistak and Bob Sullivan 45t; Catherine Pepmiller 312b; Lisa Bulawsky 474; Lou Kujawinski 489; Paul Figura 19 (MH); Jo Dell Albi 81 (MH); Jubal Schultz 268; Edward Thomas 76b; Peggy Brayfield 250.


Pattie Doss and Gary Gronau led 217 to call the class together. Leaders: Jan Ketelle 89 (MH); Terry Hogg 147 (MH); Shannon Seyler 306; Ted Mercer 468; Aura Lee Furgason 344; Berkley Moore 328; Judy Hauff 70 (MH); Lamar Schlabach and Marye Yeomans 282; Anita Buswell 145b. Roberta Strauss offered the blessing for the noon meal.


Charlie Derleth called the next session together by leading 38b. Leaders: Eddie Mash 126 (MH); John Seaton 62 (MH); Coy Ivey and Marcia Johnson 454, 384; Paul Wyatt 440; Melody Von Engeln and Chris Jang 113 (MH); David Carlton 138 (MH); B.M. Smith 318; Janet Fraembs 91; Nate Green and Norma Green 400; Jim Page 170 (MH); Karen Ivey 503; Ted Johnson 302; Martha Beverly 564; Darrell Swarens 542; Melanie Hauff 135 (MH).


Charlie Derleth began this session by leading 99. Leaders: Syd Caldwell, David Ivey, and Michelle Raine 543; Annie Grieshop 209; Nate Zweig 16 (MH); Jim Herr 475; Lori Graber 128 (MH); Paul Landskroener 45 (MH); Roger Crabtree 29t; Ryan Wheeler 149 (MH); Carol Medlicott 442; Connie Karduck 203.

Announcements were made. Becky Browne closed the day with a prayer. The class was dismissed with Charlie Derleth leading 62.

Sunday, March 8

The Sunday session of the Missouri State Convention was brought to order at 9:30 a.m. by Charlie Derleth leading 39t and 36b. Judy Mincey offered the morning prayer.

Leaders: Rebecca Browne 411; Wendy Hofmann 13 (MH); Barbara Uhlemann 299; Bill Caldwell 240; Julie Vea 189; Bill Beverly 171; Clara Herr 63; David Ivey 481; Gerry Skerbitz 38t; Virginia Eldridge 455; Lisa Grayson 218; Alexis Walker 335; Matt Shoemaker 436; Rebecca Eldridge 442; Bob Meek 145 (MH).


David Lloyd and Laura Lloyd led 354b to call the class back together. Leaders: Judy Mincey 75 (MH); Darrell Swarens 72b; Peggy Mistak and Bob Sullivan 30t; Syd Caldwell and B.M. Smith 28b; Ethan Schultz 135 (MH); Adrian Eldridge 124; Anita Buswell 274t; Annie Grieshop 198; Shannon Seyler 110; Roger Crabtree 177 (MH); Carol Medlicott 99 (MH); Lori Graber 109 (MH).


The class was brought back together by Charlie Derleth leading 348b. Leaders: Ted Mercer 42; Aura Lee Furgason 549; Lamar Schlabach and Marye Yeomans 131b; James Eldridge 172.

David Carlton conducted the memorial lesson and offered his thoughts. David Kaeser read the following list of those deceased since the last convention: Jesse William Cotney, Art Deason, L.H. Gilmore, Frank Hataway, Odetta Holmes, Peggy Howton, Milton Oliver, Alan Rosser, Mary Smith, Mattie Ivey Townsel—Alabama; Sue Cate, Ruth Hunt—Arkansas; John Etheridge—Florida; Katherine Benefield, Lee Rogers, Junior Rogers, Myrtle Smith, Elizabeth Tolbert—Georgia; Sally Schneider—Arizona; Wally Block, Richard Grayson, Ellen Kaluzny, Doris Holly Peters—Illinois; Pauline Creel Childers—Michigan; Mary Alice Caldwell—Missouri; Monnie Ross—Texas; Lilia Springer—Wisconsin. He led 163b in their memory.

Clara Herr read the list of the sick and shut-ins as follows: Harrison Creel, Jimmy Gilmore, Jeff Sheppard, Shelbie Sheppard, Betty Bowen, Dan Brittain, Beau Caldwell, Gwen Mathis, Bruce Rye, Richard DeLong, Mary Florence Smith, Andy Worthington, Katherine Worthington, Elnora June Hart, Sandy Sullivan, John Blattner, Joanne Bowman, Roy Wyatt, Bill Ellason, Laura Hearne, John Bayer, Hans Bayer, Jubal Bayer, Bob Anderson, Joyce Anderson, Johanna Fabke, and Bob Skorgie. David Carlton closed the memorial lesson with prayer.

Leaders: James Page 67 (MH); Connie Karduck 391; Berkley Moore 158 (MH); Jo Dell Albi 32 (MH). Jim Herr offered the blessing for the noon meal.


Charlie Derleth called the class to order by leading 137. Leaders: Lisa Grayson 528; Eddie Mash 144 (MH); Bob Meek 496; Joan Aldridge 546; Jim Herr 222; Melanie Hauff 68 (MH); David Carlton 272; Ryan Wheeler 139 (MH); Paul Landskroener 473; Nate Green and Norma Green 354t; B.M. Smith 273; Paul Wyatt 430; Katherine Eldridge, Marcella Swoboda, and Elizabeth Schultz 354b; Jubal Schultz 87; Dylan Skerbitz 107; Katherine Eldridge, Marcella Swoboda, and Elizabeth Schultz 162; Pattie Doss, Brent Harris, Thomas Young, Blair Brown, Joseph Layton, and Gene Ditch 216.


The final session was brought to order by Charlie Derleth leading 269. Leaders: Julie Vea 208; Martha Beverly 498; Bill Caldwell 497; Judy Mincey 8 (MH); Peggy Brayfield 174; Bill Beverly 86; Janet Fraembs 385b; Judy Hauff 171 (MH); Jan Ketelle 368.

Announcements were made. The class sang 77 (MH). Becky Browne offered the closing prayer. The class sung 62, and those who wished took the parting hand.

Chairman—Charlie Derleth; Secretary—Dave Ressler