Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Coker Sacred Harp Singing Convention

Coker United Methodist Church, San Antonio, Texas

July 26-27, 2008

Saturday, July 26

The first Coker Sacred Harp Singing (using the 1991 revision), held at Coker United Methodist Church in San Antonio, Texas, was called to order at 10:00 a.m. by Mike Hinton leading 59. This was the first Sacred Harp singing held in San Antonio in 18 years. Gaylon Powell offered a prayer of thanks for the day.

Following welcoming remarks, a business session was held with the following officers elected or appointed to serve: Chairman—Mike Hinton; Vice Chairman—Don Ross; Secretaries—Henry Schuman, John Baker, Cassandra Baker; Treasurer—Sonny Erwin; Chaplain—Gaylon Powell; Memorial Committee—Bill Caldwell, Cheryl Foreman; Resolutions Committee—Crystal Meadows, Jo Pendleton.

Leaders: Mike Hinton 373; Don Ross 302; Henry Schuman 318; John Baker 45t; Sonny Erwin 454; Gaylon Powell 455; Bill Caldwell 344; Cheryl Foreman 492; Crystal Meadows 542; Jo Pendleton 72b; Sharon DuPriest 189; Scott Curran 196; Linda Booker 490; Jeb Owen 475; Leon Ballinger 195; Rich Lee 168; Janie Short 350; Amanda Bowles 441. Mike Hinton introduced the Sr. Pastor of Coker United Methodist Church and led 146 with her.


Beverly Coates brought the class together leading 32t. Leaders: Gary Rogan 319; Mike Hinton 340; Riley Owen 401; Curtis Owen 176b; Daphene Causey 269; Mark Robeck 178; Morris Nelms 163b; Owen Ross 86; Tammy Powell 142; Bea Carnathan 472; Sonny Erwin 480; Sonny Huckaby 348b; Alexa Gilmore 229; Diane Ross 543. Prayer before the noon meal was offered by the chaplain.


Don Ross brought the afternoon session together leading 34b. Leaders: Dick Steil 312b; Katie Mahoney 228; Ines Luttgen 217; Kris Wiggins 522; Mike Hinton 323t (as a thank you to the lunch providers); Liz Owen 442; Chris Nicholson 63; Evelyn Lamb 440; Greg Bowles 268; Lindsey Wiggins 481; David Wright 460; Priscilla Wiggins 112; Tom Owen 327; Gail Doss 191; Henry Guthery 549; Vivian Rogan 282; Jessica Garris 328; Bruce Coates 147t; Larry Hall 40; Bill Bailey 37b; Beverly Coates 448t.


Owen Ross led 377 to bring the class together. Leaders: Zach Rogan 159; Sara DeTurk 299; Scott Curran 39t; Dan Brittain 543; Jeb Owen 208; Rich Lee 565; Amanda Bowles 354t; Morris Nelms 192; Henry Schuman 532; Gaylon Powell 538; Bill Caldwell 547; Alexa Gilmore 76b; Sonny Huckaby 332; Dick Steil 410t; Ines Luttgen 396; Tom Owen 347.

The closing prayer was offered by Gaylon Powell, and the class was dismissed.

Sunday, July 27

Mike Hinton opened the Sunday session of the Coker Sacred Harp Singing at 9:30 a.m. leading 145b. The morning prayer was offered by Gaylon Powell.

Leaders: Don Ross 456; Henry Schuman 52t; Cassandra Baker 100; Sonny Erwin 452; Gaylon Powell 380; Bill Caldwell 497; Cheryl Foreman 283; Crystal Meadows 183; Jo Pendleton 36b; Mike Hinton and Barbara Alvarado 527; Beverly Coates 107; Henry Guthery 108t; Janie Short 180; Katie Mahoney 426t; John Baker 47b; Bill Bailey 47t; Evelyn Lamb 505; Bruce Coates 503; Jessica Garris 504; Diane Ross 430; Chris Nicholson 84; Lindsey Wiggins 434; Tammy Powell 384; Leon Ballinger 313b; Priscilla Wiggins 38b.


Leaders: Kris Wiggins 99; John Baker gave a short lesson on the notes and music and led 45t; Jessica Garris and Becca Short 270; David Wright 138b; Gail Doss 288; Crystal Meadows 29t; Henry Guthery 176b; Jo Pendleton 448b; Bill Bailey 354b; Tammy Powell 171; Kris Wiggins 133; Priscilla Wiggins 70t; Becca Short and Janie Short 68b; Mark Robeck 49b; Don Ross 546; Lindsey Wiggins 475; Bea Carnathan 568.

The memorial lesson was conducted by Bill Caldwell and Cheryl Foreman leading 138b for the following sick and shut-ins: Jean Ballinger, Daphene Causey, Pauline Childers, Sallie Foreman, Jim Foreman, Kay Martin, Cathy Wathington, John Etheridge, Stephen O’Leary, Adele Reed, Ophelia Matthews, Myra Palmer, Dave Euneekis, Mike O’Hern, and Leland Owen. Also included was Aaron Shirazi of Texas who is serving in the National Guard.

Bill Caldwell and Cheryl Foreman led 240 in memory of the following deceased friends of Sacred Harp: Milton Oliver, Dick Mauldin, LaRue Allen, Marie Guthrie, Amanda Denson-Brady—Alabama; Pauline Childers—Michigan; Alice Caldwell—Missouri; Mae Houtkin—Ohio; Jack Kramer—New York; Kat Kincade—Virginia; Myrtle Smith, Felton Denny—Georgia; W.M. (Pete) Baker, S.A. (Buddy) Baker, Charlie Vaughn, Floyd Screws, Brenda Bethard—Texas.

Leaders: Diane Ross 358; Katie Mahoney 564; Henry Schuman 436. Prayer for the noon meal was offered by the Gaylon Powell.


Mike Hinton and grandson Sammy Flory opened the afternoon session leading 147t. Leaders: Sara DeTurk 178; Bruce Coates 566; Sonny Erwin 113; Gaylon Powell 61 (for the cooks); Cheryl Foreman 297; Beverly Coates 385t; Dan Brittain 472; Cassandra Baker 323b; John Baker 39t; Chris Nicholson 569b; Evelyn Lamb 182; Bill Caldwell 163b; Leon Ballinger 137; Jessica Garris 106; Priscilla Wiggins 408; David Wright 186; Gail Doss 523; Crystal Meadows 198; Henry Guthery 550; Gaylon Powell 236.

Announcements and committee reports were made at this time.

Leaders: Dan Brittain 77b; Bill Bailey 63; Bea Carnathan 80b; Sara DeTurk 159; Jo Pendleton 388; Cheryl Foreman 548; Kris Wiggins 528.

Mike Hinton, Henry Schuman, John Baker, and Cassandra Baker led 62 as the closing song. The class was dismissed with prayer.

Chairman—Mike Hinton; Vice Chairman—Don Ross; Secretaries—Henry Schuman, John Baker, Cassandra Baker