Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Illinois State Sacred Harp Convention

Christian County Historical Museum, Taylorville, Illinois

September 15-16, 2007

Saturday, September 15

The 23rd annual session of the Illinois State Sacred Harp Convention was opened by Berkley Moore leading 33b. Mark Graber offered the opening prayer.

Berkley Moore welcomed the singers and made announcements. The books used were The Sacred Harp, 1991 Edition, and the Missouri Harmony, 2005 revision (MH).

The following officers were previously elected or appointed: Chairman—Berkley Moore; Co-Chairman—Terry Hogg; Secretary—Janet Fraembs; Chaplains—Mark Graber, Don Baker, Don Bardsley, Darrell Swarens; Arranging Committee—Barbara A. Moore, Berkley Moore, Darrell Swarens, Debra Reid, and Marcia Barr.

Leaders: Janet Fraembs 421; Peggy Brayfield 195; Pete Ellertsen 89; Don Baker 284; Don Bardsley 319; Judy Whiting 171; Chris Brown 38b; Mike Hinton 490; Joan Aldridge 542; Dave Ressler 10 (MH); Adrian Eldridge 64; Johanna Fabke 122; Lori Graber 296; Terry Hogg 43; James Eldridge 383; Becky Brown 183.


Mike Hinton brought the class back to order leading 288. Leaders: James Page 13 (MH); Dorothy Amare 155; Ryan Weaver 28 (MH); Ginny Landgraf 91 (MH); Virginia Eldridge 455; Chris Crouse 569b; Bill Shetter 180 (MH); Ted Mercer 80 (MH); Karen Isbell 175 (MH); Presley Barker 127 (MH); Judy Hauff 98 (MH); Michelle Stremmel 58; Melanie Hauff 81 (MH); Cathryn Bearov 532; Rochelle Lodder 353; Gary Gronau 11 (MH); Lou Kujawinski 162 (MH).


James Page called the class back together for the afternoon session leading 65. Leaders: Darrell Swarens 350; Rebecca Eldridge 203; Michael Mosley 354b; Carol Munro Mosley 312b; Katherine Eldridge 117; Charlotte Baldwin 77t; Niel Gary 47t; Penny Kujawinski 138 (t? b?); Berkley Moore 129 (MH); Terry Hogg 139 (MH); Janet Fraembs 481; Wayne Dell 49t; Peggy Brayfield 126 (MH); Lori Graber 546; Pete Ellertsen 32t; Don Baker 56b; Don Bardsley 163b; Judy Whiting 318; Chris Brown 501; Mike Hinton 456; Joan Aldridge 270.


Lori Graber called the class back to order leading 556. Leaders: Dorothy Amare 568; Virginia Eldridge 503; James Eldridge 107; Niel Gary 448b; Charlotte Baldwin 268; Cathryn Bearov 372; Rochelle Lodder 39t; Gary Gronau 411; Bill Shetter 142; Ted Mercer 88t; Karen Isbell 384; Presley Barker 313b; Rebecca Eldridge 110; Becky Browne 75 (MH); Adrian Eldridge 76b; Darrell Swarens 335.

Following announcements, Janet Fraembs led 46 as the closing song. Don Bardsley offered the closing prayer, and the class was dismissed.

Sunday, September 16

The Sunday session was called to order by Berkley Moore leading 48t. Mark Graber offered the morning prayer.

Leaders: Janet Fraembs 475; Peggy Brayfield 29t; Lori Graber 297; Don Bardsley 137; Judy Whiting 212; Joan Aldridge 217; Chris Brown 211; Mike Hinton 480; Wayne Dell 49b; Ted Mercer 61 (MH); Karen Isbell 135 (MH); Debra Reid 45 (MH); Wendy Popp 148; Bill Shetter 59; Richard Popp 436; Presley Barker 8 (MH); Darrell Swarens 39 (MH); Melanie Hauff 68 (MH); Lou Kujawinski 56 (MH); James Page 179 (MH).


Terry Hogg called the class back together leading 523. Leaders: Judy Hauff 128 (MH); Ryan Wheeler 278b; Ginny Landgraf 19 (MH); Terry Hogg 142 (MH); Dave Ressler 77 (MH); Johanna Fabke 172 (MH); Carol Munro Mosley 66; Penny Kujawinski 200; Michael Mosley 163b; Conrad Wetzel 84.

Janet Fraembs spoke for the sick and homebound and led 107. Those remembered were Bob Anderson, Bob Scorgie, Joyce Anderson, Dick Dunagan, Frank Fowler, Jeanette Lowry, William Malloy, Roger Crabtree, Bethalee Harpst, Ophelia Matthews, Myra Palmer, Raymond Hamrick, Andrea Nagy, Molly Hansen, Amanda Denson, and Milton Oliver.

Mike Hinton reminded us of those who are now singing in the eternal hollow square and quoted from an inscription on a fountain at the Taylorville courthouse: “...when someone you love becomes a memory, the memory becomes a treasure.” He then led 146 in memory of the following deceased: LaRue Allen, B.J. Harris, Richard K. Mauldin, Sr., Marie Guthrie, Flarce Creel, and Wilton Donaldson—Alabama; John McDougall, Kath Dunn, Gill Blackmore, and Edna Leonard—United Kingdom; Therrsa Summer, Bertha Dalrymple, Art Blase, Brian Meiercord, and Martin Lakomiak—Illinois; Mary Ballinger—Texas; Mirjana (Minja) Lausevic—Minnesota; Dennis Dilno—New York. Johanna Fabke closed the memorial lesson with prayer.

Berkley Moore led 144 (MH). Darrell Swarens offered the blessing for the noon meal.


Dave Ressler called the afternoon session together leading 81 (t? b?). Leaders: Carol Munro Mosley 4 (MH); Judy Hauff 84 (MH); Michael Mosley 3 (MH); Melanie Hauff 148 (MH); Stephanie Fida 71; Ginny Landgraf 46 (MH); James Page 71 (MH); Wayne Dell 282; Chris Brown 178; Judy Whiting 273; Joan Aldridge 269; Ryan Wheeler 74b; Penny Kujawinski 377; Mike Hinton 340; Dave Ressler 216; Ted Mercer 464; Karen Isbell 348b; Debra Reid 335; Wendy Popp 392; Bill Shetter 99; Richard Popp 145b; Presley Barker 448t.


Carol Monroe Mosley brought the class back to order leading 114. Leaders: Conrad Wetzel 155; Darrell Swarens 384; Lou Kujawinski 551; Terry Hogg 27 (MH); Don Bardsley 479; Lori Graber 215; Peggy Brayfield 166 (MH); Janet Fraembs 151 (MH); Johanna Fabke 129; Stephanie Fida 549.

Announcements were made. Forty-eight leaders from 7 states and the UK led 142 tunes: 106 from the Sacred Harp and 36 (t? b?) from the Missouri Harmony.

Don Bardsley closed the session with prayer, and Berkley Moore led 347 as we all wished one another a Christian’s Farewell.

Chairman—Berkley Moore; Co-Chairman—Terry Hogg; Secretary—Janet Fraembs