Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Ohio State Convention

Mt. Airy Forest Park, Cincinnati, Ohio

February 17-18, 2007

Saturday, February 17

The 15th annual Ohio State Convention was called to order by Rich Overturf leading 38t. Claire Outten offered the morning prayer.

The following officers were elected or appointed to serve: Chairman—Rich Overturf; Vice Chairman—Greg Howard; Secretaries—Debbie Hall and Karen Arnett.

Leaders: John Bealle 32t; Debbie Hall 84; Eloise Clark 171; Joan Redd 496; Karen Arnett 344; Jim Coppock 497; Claire Outten 26; Shaun Fenton 183; Roger Crabtree 277; Clara Herr 300; G.C. Waldrep 112; Jubal Bayer 129; Kay Huener 107; Virginia Eldridge 503; Rachel Stevens 131t; Steve Duff 546.


Rich Overturf called the class to order by leading 346. Leaders: Karen Carrelli 81t; Michael Domino and Debbie Hall 172; Jim Herr 182; Nancy Huerta 159; Greg Howard 313b; Evelene Cunningham 47b; John Bayer 448b; Darrell Swarens 335; Greg Creech 74t; Molly Whedbee 479; Adrian Eldridge 134; Karen Swenson 150; Dave Barford 128; Rebecca Eldridge 282; Jo Schultz 472; Gary Gronau 39b; Pleasance Crawford 91; Tom Malone 349; Joanna Lampert 148; Bob Meek 198; Liz Meitzler 215; Brad Oglesby 192; Beth Todd 284; Ted Mercer 202; Mary Brinkman 457; Regina Bayer 328; Ted Johnson 368; David Rust 102; Becky Browne 504; Hans Bayer 455; Melanie Hauff 498; Carol Munro Mosley 114; Brad Bahler 117. Jim Herr asked the blessing for the noon meal.


Sheryl Pockrose called the class to order leading 146. Leaders: Michael Darby 266; Judy Hauff 411; Susan Zurcher 209; Eddie Mash 297; Rochelle Lodder 39t; Henry Schuman 426b; Karen Bahler 312b; Michael Mosley 133; Loraine Bayer 399b; Michelle Cull 361; Joe Todd 106; Sue Duff 485; James Eldridge 49b; Laura Russell 142; William Shetter 228; Linda Coppock 377; Wayne Dell 178.


Greg Howard called the class to order leading 569b. Leaders: David Bahler 186; Karen Swenson 334; Ray Wells and Elizabeth Rechenberg 124; Molly Whedbee 67; Charles Crawford 378t; Dave Barford 385b; Tom Malone 53; Joanna Lampert 155; Ted Mercer 569t; Melanie Hauff 542; Ted Johnson 348b; Marky Aden and Eloise Clark 269 (specially requested by Bobbie Goodell of Maine); Carol Munro Mosley 99; Brad Bahler, David Bahler, and Karen Bahler 448t; Judy Hauff 456; Roger Crabtree 285t; Evelene Cunningham 288; John Bayer 110; Rochelle Lodder 36b; Michael Mosley 49t; Carol Medlicott 405; Regina Bayer, Hans Bayer, and Jubal Bayer 348t; Jo Schultz 532; Brad Oglesby 144; Laura Russell and Loraine Bayer 318; Gary Gronau 384.

Joan Redd dismissed the class with a prayer. Singers were invited to stay for a showing of the film “Awake My Soul: The Story of the Sacred Harp”, followed by bean soup and cornbread and singing from the Cooper book.

Sunday, February 18

Rich Overturf called the class together leading 330b. The opening prayer was offered by Eddie Mash.

Leaders: John Bealle 84; Karen Arnett 276; Karen Carrelli 159; Claire Outten 315; Linda Coppock 184; Marky Aden and Eloise Clark 457; Eloise Clark 472; Michael Domino and Debbie Hall 82t; Jim Coppock 300; Carol Medlicott 89; Debbie Hall 189; G.C. Waldrep 260; Hans Bayer 168; Wayne Dell 49b.


The class was called back to order by Karen Arnett leading 312b. Leaders: Briana Meek 354b; David Casenhiser 569b; Sue Duff 551; Jackson Pietrzak 117; Roger Crabtree 38b; Jim Herr 475; Jubal Bayer 64; Tim Binkley 335; John Bayer 101t; Clara Herr 209; Tom Kochan 426t; Steve Duff 547; Loraine Bayer 225t; Virginia Eldridge 192; Michael Darby 480; Dylan Wagoner, Clem Flory, and Debbie Combs 63.


The class was called back by Lois Hurt leading 49t. Leaders: Joan Redd 40; Beth Todd 319; Gary Gronau 163t; Liz Meitzler 332; Bob Meek 384; Becky Browne 203; Henry Schuman 528; Rachel Stevens 268; Adrian Eldridge 30b; Joe Todd 373; Rebecca Eldridge 340.

Claire Outten read the list of names of sick and shut-ins and led 466 in honor of the following: Charles Wells, Aubrey Barfield, Bobbie Goodell, John Holzer, Jeanette Lowry, Roberta Strauss, Shirley Figura, Randy Pausch, Pauline Childers, Flarce Creel, Milton Oliver, Peggy Lietzenmayer, Harold Hayes, John Dunn, and Barbara Green.

Carol Medlicott spoke for the deceased and led 205 in memory of the following: Christine Arnett and Jack Miller—Florida; Anna Worley—Tennessee; Anita Swetland—Ohio; Sandy—Pennsylvania; Teddy Creel, John Hyde, and Heath Jett—Alabama; Bobby Jackson—Georgia. A blessing was offered for the noon meal by G.C. Waldrep.


The afternoon session was called to order by Rich Overturf leading 105. Leaders: Shaun Fenton 73t; Charles Crawford 72b; Darrell Swarens 217; Jo Schultz 510; David Rust 123b; Kay Huener 350; Pleasance Crawford 540; William Shetter 59; Laura Russell 47b; James Eldridge 196; Eddie Mash 538; Greg Creech 38t; Sheryl Pockrose 245; Michael Hieber 47t; Becky Browne and Gary Gronau 29t, 436; Michelle Cull 112.


Sheryl Pockrose called the class back to order leading 448b. Leaders: Bob Meek 441; Rachel Stevens 31t; Lois Hurt 515; Liz Meitzler 512; Beth Todd 68b; Virginia Eldridge 171; David Rust 200; Adrian Eldridge 87; Darrell Swarens 314; William Shetter 99.

Beth Todd offered the closing prayer. Rich Overturf led 62 as the closing song, and the class took the parting hand.

NOTE: The convention will be held in Dayton, Ohio next year.

Chairman—Rich Overturf; Vice Chairman—Greg Howard; Secretary—Debbie Hall