Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

United Sacred Harp Musical Association

South Highland Presbyterian Church, Birmingham, Alabama

September 9-10, 2006

Saturday, September 9

The 103rd session of the United Sacred Harp Musical Association was held at South Highland Presbyterian Church, in Birmingham, Alabama, on the second Sunday and Saturday before in September. The class was brought to order by Tim Reynolds leading 34b. The morning prayer was offered by Dr. Edwin Hurley. Dr. Hurley then welcomed all the singers and visitors to the church. Tim Reynolds led 84.

Leaders: David Carlton 276; Nora Parker 36b; John Plunkett 91; Dr. Bill Reynolds 59; Jeannette DePoy 385b; Sandie Scott 282; Mike Hinton 373; Ted Mercer 302; Charlene Wallace 439; Richard DeLong 513; Sarah Smith 129; David Ivey 45b; Lou Cotney 222; Eugene Forbes 208; Judy Chambless 159; Roberta Strauss 496; Marilyn Burchett 85; Matt Hinton 28t.


The class was called together by David Carlton leading 421. Leaders: Daryl Chesney and Richard Chesney 87; Robert Chambless 480; Gary Smith 569b.

A business session was held with the following officers elected or appointed to serve: Chairman—Max Berueffy; Vice Chairman—Elene Stovall; Secretary—Nora Parker; Assistant Secretary—Charlene Wallace; Arranging Committee—Cindy Tanner, John Plunkett, and Bud Oliver; Chaplain—Danny Creel. The business session was closed.

Leaders: Otis Sides and Linda Sides 146; Richard Mauldin and Dick Mauldin 358; Richard Mauldin 43; Wanda Capps 203; Phil Summerlin 405; Julianna Jett 410t; Karen Swenson 228; Nate Green and Norma Green 568; Carolyn Thompson 300; Cassie Allen, Ainslie Nadine Allen, and Harrison Creel 89; Max Berueffy and Elene Stovall 217; Bill Hogan 176b.


The class resumed singing with Max Berueffy leading 207. Leaders: Marcia Johnson 163t; Ted Johnson 419; Edward Thomas, Marcia Johnson, and Ted Johnson 76b; Henry Johnson 205; Lynn deBenedette 448t; Judy Caudle 94; Carroll Lunsford 162; Jennifer Allred 500; Karen Ivey 297; David Wright 377; Jeff Sheppard 280; Karen Freund 272; Daphene Causey 140; Jenna Strizak 81t; Emily Creel 475; Louis Hughes 569t; Will Allred 335; Bea Carnathan 204; Jim Glaser 72b; Rodney Ivey, Christene Crow, and Janie Campbell 220.


The afternoon session was brought to order by Elene Stovall leading 434. Leaders: Bobby Watkins 426b; Jim Cauthen 378t; Reba Windom 436; Jerry Enright 38b; Ann Jett 327; Velton Chafin 521; Jo Dell Albi 378b; Shelbie Sheppard 195; Bridgett Hill 411; Don Clark 174; Jessie Findley 430; Caleb Allred 542; Joyce Walton 192; Mildred McElroy 218; Ed Thacker 534; Julietta Haynes 216; Bud Oliver 73t; Lela Crowder 110; Danny Creel 532; Seth Allred 86; Connie Stanton 171; Sonya Sipe 63.


The class resumed singing with Cindy Tanner leading 337. Leaders: Michael Thompson 112; Amanda Denson and Charlene Wallace 324; Rachel Allred 215; Eddie Mash 198; Karen Clark 157; Susan Allred 399b; Travis Keeton (for John Hyde) 124; Emily Thompson 350; Harrison Creel, Cassie Allen, Emily Creel, Shelley Calvert, Julianna Jett, and Ainslie Nadine Allen 111b.

Announcements were made. Max Berueffy led 323t as the closing song. Danny Creel offered the closing prayer and the class was dismissed.

Sunday, September 11

The session on Sunday was brought to order at 9:00 a.m. by Max Berueffy leading 36b. The morning prayer was offered by Danny Creel.

Leaders: Elene Stovall 43; Nora Parker 317; the class sang birthday wishes to Joan Aldridge then she led 540; Scott DePoy 201; Amber Davis 402; Floy Wilder 120; Elizabeth Keeton 63; Oscar McGuire 283; Lisa Geist 297; Glenn Keeton 475; Charlene Wallace 314; Eugene Forbes 405; Larry Ballinger 403; Danny Creel 498; Michael Thompson 34t; Jeannette DePoy 448t; Henry Guthery 97 (in memory of John Hyde, who passed away Saturday night, September 9); Bobby Watkins 30b; Marcia Johnson 345b; Connie Stanton 448b. Max Berueffy welcomed everyone.


Bud Oliver brought the class together leading 42. Leaders: Jerry Enright 77t; Richard Ivey 391; Edward Thomas, Marcia Johnson, and Ted Johnson 146; Roberta Strauss 32t; Harrison Creel and Emily Creel 342; Catherine Bearov 179; Ted Johnson 269; Mildred McElroy 384; Louis Hughes 348b; Jo Dell Albi 83t; Lela Crowder 273; Eddie Mash 365; Pam Nunn and Jeff Sheppard 556 (the class wished Jeff Sheppard a happy birthday); Mike Hinton 340; Lynn deBenedette 182; Carroll Lunsford 471; Jenna Strizak 564; David Wright 396.


The class reassembled with Rodney Ivey and Jennifer Allred leading 362. Leaders: Emily Thompson 215; Karen Freund 278t; Buell Cobb 565.

The memorial was conducted by Joyce Walton and Linda Thomas. They led 122 in memory of the following deceased: Hibbard Thatcher, Elsie Beasley, Teddy Creel, Ora Lee Fannin, Sgt. Phillip Dodson, Donnie McGraw, Bobby Jackson, Elsie Duman, Aurelia Grieshop, W.L. (Bill) Green, Homer Whitworth, Joyclyn Richards, John Hyde, L.E. Hannah, and Nadine Franklin.

The following sick and shut-ins were remembered: Catherine Bearov, Shirley Figura, Suzanne Flandreau, Bob Scorgie, Emily Boswell, M.B. Forbes, Violet Thomason, Edith Tate, Thomas Denson Hinton, Eldora Moody, Flarce Creel, Lou Nall, Thurman Nall, Elsie Moon, Patsy Gentle, Herby Bailey, Jimmie Denney, Felton Denney, Josephine Denney, Charlotte Creel McCarn, Josie Hyde, John Long, Delone Cobbs, Ralph Edwards, Ophelia Matthews, Myra Palmer, Edith Owen, Bill Thomas, Delene Thomas, Susan Firestone, Pauline Childers, and Katherine Benefield. Joyce Walton and Linda Thomas led 45t in their honor. Danny Creel offered the prayer to close the memorial lesson.

Leaders: Wanda Capps 440; Gary Smith 225t; Rachel Allred 192; Karen Swenson and Sharon Mendel 351; Carolyn Thompson 550; Caleb Allred 124; Daphene Causey, Sharon DuPriest, and April DuPriest 456; Jim Glaser 39t; Emily Creel 442; Reba Windom 142; Jennifer Allred 336; Don Clark 99; Max Berueffy, Wayne Nelson, Elene Stovall, and Allison Davis 436.


The afternoon session began with Max Berueffy leading 313t. Leaders: Larry Brasher and Amanda Denson 302; April DuPriest, April Watkins, and Cheyenne Ivey 128; Judy Caudle 528; Jeff Sheppard 455; Joyce Walton 535; Susan Allred 183; Karen Ivey 200; Seth Allred 72b; Bea Carnathan 100; Julietta Haynes 298; Nate Green and Norma Green 418; Richard Mauldin 323b; Will Allred 335; David Ivey 472; Bridgett Hill 546; Karen Clark 501; Cindy Tanner 368; Sarah Smith 290.

A business session was held to hear reports from the various committees.

The finance committee, Rodney Ivey and Bill Windom, reported that collections were sufficient to cover expenses.

The secretary, Nora Parker, reported 174 leaders representing eleven states during the two days of singing.

The Resolutions Committee, Bridgett Hill and Bill Hogan, presented their report thanking everyone who helped make the singing a success.

The locating committee, David Ivey and Jeff Sheppard, reported that the 104th session of the United Sacred Harp Musical Association will meet at Mount Pisgah Primitive Baptist Church, Stroud, Alabama, (Chambers County) in September, 2007. All reports were accepted and the business session was closed.

Announcements were made. Max Berueffy led 62 as the closing song while the class took the parting hand. Danny Creel offered the closing prayer, and the class was dismissed.

Chairman—Max Berueffy; Vice Chairman—Elene Stovall; Secretary—Nora Parker.