Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

North Carolina Sacred Harp Convention

Cary, North Carolina

Saturday, March 4, 2006

The eighteenth annual North Carolina Sacred Harp Convention was held at the Page Walker Art and History Center, Cary, North Carolina, on Saturday before the first Sunday in March. John Feddersen opened the convention by leading 49t. Sally Owens offered the morning prayer.

John Feddersen welcomed the class then held a business session with the following officers elected: Chairman—Rich Hammer; Vice Chairman—John Feddersen; Secretary—Pat Ward; Treasurer—Don Ward.

Leaders: John Feddersen 48t, 30b; Leslie Alperin 178, 474; Erin Newton 72b, 573; Peggy Loddengaard 82t, 378t; Suzanne Newton 472, 299; Gail Doss 142, 222; Mary Wright 180, 290; Pat Temple 33t, 232; Dan Huger 61, 163b; Sandra Polaski 209, 551; Don Polaski 56b, 475; Lisa Brown 66, 276; Don Ward 86, 300; John Feddersen 540, 361.


John Feddersen called the class to order by leading 148. Leaders: Erin Newton 486, 569b; Peggy Loddengaard 143, 133; Suzanne Newton 147b.

Sally Owens conducted the memorial lesson. Mary Wright led 56t for the following deceased: Art Broadus, Helvise Morse, John Lovelace, Martha Lovelace, Bessie Furbush, David O. Bitter, and Mrs. Billie Latham—North Carolina; Fred Beardsley—Virginia; Eleanor Harris and J. Frank Croley—Alabama; Donnie McGraw—Georgia. Also remembered were Jacob and Helen Walker, Samuel Frances Cary, and the Page family, who made possible our singing venue.

Suzanne Newton led 48t for the following sick and shut-ins: Susan Kelley, Mrs. Newell, Henry Bizzell, and Amanda Denson. The memorial was concluded.

Leaders: Gail Doss 122, 400; Pat Temple 473, 373; Blake Morris 179, 228; Don Polaski 350, 384; Lisa Brown 504; Don Ward 198. Dan Huger offered a prayer for the noon meal.


The singing resumed with Rich Hammer leading 63. Leaders: John Feddersen “Martial Trumpet”; Leslie Alperin 47b; Hannah Polaski 159; Peggy Loddengaard 49b; Matt Cartmill 352, 163t; Suzanne Newton 532; Gail Doss 535; Pat Ward 454, 417; Mary Wright 480, 274t; Pat Temple 168, 567; Dan Huger 268, 269; Sandra Polaski 479, 556; Don Polaski 332, 112; Lisa Brown 189; Don Ward 288; Blade Morris 538, 298.

Don Ward gave the Treasurer’s Report. Monies collected were enough to meet expenses.


Rich Hammer reconvened the class by leading 34b. Leaders: John Feddersen 254; Leslie Alperin 203; Peggy Loddengaard 312b; Matt Cartmill 327; Suzanne Newton 306; Rich Hammer 452; Gail Doss 324; Pat Ward 224; Mary Wright 105; Pat Temple 64; Dan Huger 137; Erin Newton 77t; Sandra Polaski 455; Don Polaski 29b; Don Ward 181; John Feddersen 347; Leslie Alperin 155; Peggy Loddengaard 34t; Matt Cartmill 547.


Announcements were made. Rich Hammer thanked all those who contributed in any way to make the singing a success, then led 62 as the closing song. Sally Owens offered the closing prayer, and the class was dismissed.

Chairman—Rich Hammer; Vice Chairman—Nancy Newell; Secretary—Pat Boyd Ward.