Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Mulberry River Convention

Liberty Church (McCormick), Jefferson County, Alabama

Saturday, September 3, 2005

The one hundredth session of the Mulberry River Convention was held at Liberty Church (McCormick) in Jefferson County, Alabama on Saturday before the first Sunday in September. Velton Chafin called the class to order leading 34b. Harrison Creel offered the morning prayer. Velton Chafin led 30t and 106.

The class was organized with the following officers elected or appointed to serve: Chairman—Velton Chafin; Vice Chairman—Harrison Creel; Secretary—Willodean Barton; Arranging Committee—Richard Mauldin for John Hyde.

Leaders: Willodean Barton 101t, 63; Ozella Blackmon 460, 35; Cecil Sanders and Winell Sanders 569b, 380; Eldagene Roberson 67, 138t; Bill Stewart 36b, 68b; Wilton Donaldson 138b, 566; Sarah Smith 340, 213b; David Roberson 212, 222; Nancy Banks 565, 111b.


Harrison Creel brought the class back to order by leading 317. Leaders: Teddy Creel 477, 124; Bridgett Hill 129, 276; Juanita Beasley 61, 32t; Ken Tate 73t, 148; Flarce Creel and Harrison Creel 475; Gary Smith 73b, 225t; Marlin Beasley 393, 144; Marie Guthrie 402, 446; Elene Stovall 297, 440. Danny Creel offered prayer for the noon meal.


Velton Chafin brought the class back to order for the afternoon session by leading 130. Leaders: Travis Keeton 205, 162; Lucy Heidorn 145b, 155; Danny Creel 112, 76b; Glenn Keeton “Joshua”, “Ashley”; Amber Davis 391, 192; Wilton Donaldson and Richard Mauldin 43 (for John Hyde and Josie Hyde); Richard Mauldin, Robert Mauldin, and Mrs. Richard Mauldin145t; Teddy Creel 146; David Roberson 99; Bridgett Hill 142; Marie Guthrie 189; Kenneth Tate 343; Marlin Beasley 426t; Ozella Blackmon 159; Glenn Keeton 267; Sarah Smith 400; Travis Keeton 349 (for Clarence McCool); Gary Smith 46; Nancy Banks 274t; Richard Mauldin and Danny Creel 313t.

Announcements were made. Velton Chafin led 521 as the closing song. Marlin Beasley offered the closing prayer, and the class was dismissed.

Chairman—Velton Chafin; Vice Chairman—Harrison Creel; Secretary—Willodean Barton.