Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Cleburne County Convention

Cane Creek Primitive Baptist Church, near Heflin, Alabama

Sunday, August 21, 2005

The one hundred-sixteenth session of the Cleburne County Convention met at Cane Creek Primitive Baptist Church near Heflin, Alabama on the third Sunday in August. The class was called to order at 9:30 a.m. by Eunice Webb leading 59. Cecil Roberts offered the morning prayer. Eunice Webb led 146; Cecil Roberts 277, 30b.

Hugh McGraw led the introductory lesson from a book which was given to the Cleburne County Convention by the family and friends of J.W. Laminack. The book is a 1936 edition of The Sacred Harp, and is only used one time a year at this convention for the introductory lesson. The wishes of the family were explicit about when the book could be used. The songs chosen were 37b, 314, and 317 to complete the lesson. Pearl Guier led 81t, 63; Mary L. Smith 135.

A business session was held with the following officers elected or appointed to serve: Chairman—Stanley Edwards; Vice Chairman—Eunice Webb; Secretary—Hester Edwards; Arranging Committee—Pearl Guier; Chaplain—Cecil Roberts; Memorial Committee—Mary L. Smith.

Leaders: Eunice Webb 45t; Stanley Edwards 179; Judy Chambless 83t, 531; Bud Oliver 145t, 170; Floy Wilder 142, 247 (?); Ed Thacker 208, 88b; Glenda Collins 282, 124; S.T. Reed 125, 109.


The class resumed singing with Stanley Edwards leading 76b. Leaders: Milton Oliver 270, 405; Jeannette DePoy 462, 274t; Lonnie Rogers 225t, 298; Mildred McElroy 192, 436; Brandon Acton 53, 40; Judith Green 384, 117; George Garner 155; Audress Gurley 36b, 108t; Jimmie Denney 101t, 46; Karen Reaves 410t, 457; Tony Hammock 42, 28b.

Mary L. Smith conducted the memorial lesson. The following deceased were remembered: Louise Jones Brown Allen, Jap Walton, and all those who have passed away in previous years. Jeff Sheppard led 212, especially for Louise Allen, and 420 for Jap Walton and other deceased. Karleen Williams led 340 for the sick and shut-ins, and Cecil Roberts closed the memorial with prayer.


The afternoon session was brought to order by Stanley Edwards leading 129. Leaders: Henry Johnson 73b (for Alice Edwards), 166; Donna Bell 71, 168; Jenny Acton 112, 108b; Robert Chambless 145b; Charlene Wallace and Carlene Griffin 276, 345t; Myrline Redmon 358, 569b; Eugene Forbes 186, 203; Joan Aldridge 309, 385b; Teenie Moody 171, 47b; B.J. Harris 452, 503; Lou Cotney 222, 218; Pam Nunn 448t, 216; Richard DeLong 511, 214; Evelyn Harris 39b, 47t; Roy Nelson 111b; Lewis Norton 292; Ann Simpson 445, 323b; Shirley Hardy 312b; Sherrell Cleino 335; Stanley Edwards 143.

After announcements were made, the class was dismissed with prayer by Henry Johnson.

Chairman—Stanley Edwards; Vice Chairman—Eunice Webb; Secretary—Hester Edwards.