Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Cullman County Singing Convention

Cullman County Courthouse, Cullman, Alabama

July 9-10, 2005

Saturday, July 9

The annual Cullman County Singing Convention was held at the Cullman County Courthouse on the second Sunday and Saturday before in July. The Convention was organized in 1893 and this session will be the one hundred-twelfth session. The class was called to order by Danny Creel who welcomed everyone then led 155. The morning prayer was offered by Richard Mauldin.

Leaders: Danny Creel 152; Richard Maudlin 36b, 358; Eldagene Roberson 222, 313t, Clarence McCool 349; Bridgett Hill 129; David Roberson 408; Wilton Donaldson 480; Charles McCravey 154; Jennifer Allred 192; Robert Walker 477; Odem Hawkins 36t; Ann Jett 496; J.C. Rutledge 490; Marlin Beasley 61; Rachel Allred 89; Bud Oliver 145b.


Danny Creel called the class back to order leading 269.

A business session was held to elect new officers. The following officers were elected or appointed to serve: Chairman—Henry Guthery; Vice Chairman—Glenn Keeton; Secretary—Eldagene Roberson; Arranging Committee—Billy Williams; Finance Committee—Jennifer Allred; Memorial Committee—Richard Mauldin. The business session was closed.

Henry Guthery introduced Robert Banks, Circuit Court Clerk, who welcomed the convention and recited an inspirational poem, “The Bridge Builder”. Leaders: Henry Guthery 97; Gertrude Watkins 66; Butch White and Kenny Graves 30b; Reedie Powell 280, 300; Sandie Scott 282; Eugene Forbes 137; John Merritt and David Knight 45t; Tim Reynolds 203; Josie Hyde and John Hyde 43; Elsie Moon 494; Glenn Keeton and Elizabeth Keeton 86, 335; Teddy Creel 87; Judy Caudle 437.


Henry Guthery called the class back to order leading 176b. Leaders: Malik Williams 354b; Pam Gilmore 220; Mark Hoover and Gretchen Hoover 436, 82t; Judy Chambless 569b; Don Robertson 200; Marie Guthrie 446; James Wagner 40; Corene White 454; Travis Keeton 566.


The afternoon session was called to order by Henry Guthery leading 316. Leaders: Beth Branson 338; Gary Smith 365; Wanda Capps 299; Mary Holcomb 319; Bobby Watkins 318; Delone Cobb 73t; Juanita Newman 76b; Oleta Stewart 406; Robert Chambless 68b; Sarah Smith 290; Sonya Sipes 39b; Susan Allred 77b; Parnell Berry 122; Dorothea McCowan 442; Corene White 171; Geraldine Watkins and Essie Hollingsworth 143; Harrison Creel 317; Amanda Denson 276; Butch White and Kenny Graves 159; Arlene Woods 178; Charles Woods 196; John Hyde 104; John Merritt and Amanda Denson “Nothing but the Blood of Jesus”; Billy Williams 54; Josie Hyde 507; Mark Hoover 56b; Charles McCravey 388; Bridgett Hill and Richard Mauldin 168; Judy Caudle 236; Billy Williams 448b; Henry Guthery 475.

Announcements were made. Henry Guthery led 521 as the closing song. Harrison Creel offered the closing prayer, and the class was dismissed.

Sunday, July 10

The Sunday session of the Cullman County Singing Convention convened in the second floor courtroom of the Cullman County Courthouse for the second day of singing. Henry Guthery welcomed everyone and led 59. The morning prayer was offered by Richard Mauldin.

Leaders: Corene White 314; Wilton Donaldson 30t; Richard Mauldin 178; David Roberson 274t; Don Robertson 215; Clarence McCool 428; Velton Chafin 463; Marlin Beasley 460; Elizabeth Keeton 504; James Wagner 480; Bridgett Hill 209; Travis Keeton 482; Amanda Denson, Betty Shavers, Reedie Powell, and Richard Mauldin 376; Brenda Merritt 440; Max Berueffy 391; Juanita Newman 335; Willodean Barton 498.


The class resumed singing. Leaders: Terry Wootten 486; David Light 200; Betty Shaver 87; Gertrude Watkins 276; Wanda Capps 546; John Merritt and Bobby Watkins “Mercy Seat”; Aaron Wootten 270; John Hyde 297; Glenn Keeton 236; Will Allred 454; Caleb Allred 312t; Blake Sisemore 299; Drew Smith 328; Oleta Stewart 313t; Leah Commer and Pamela Rosser 159, 142; Elene Stovall 430; Jennifer Allred 216; Marty Wootten and Hayden Wootten 448t; Bobby Watkins 522; Larry Ballinger 182.


Henry Guthery called the singing back to order leading 527.

Richard Mauldin conducted the memorial lesson and quoted from Revelations, and recited the words from the song “Passing Away” in remembrance of all the loved ones who have passed away. Danny Creel read the list of sick and shut-ins: Charles Creel, Charles Fisher, Jean Fisher, Elsie Beasley, Gracie Odine Whitehead, Roland E. White, Jettie White, David Knight, Edith Tate, Nellie Berry, Ruth Aaron, Mike Griffin, Clois Kethey, Bill Stewart, James A. Harper, Sarah Morgan, Dick Morgan, Nettie Elliott, and Aubrey Tyree. Danny Creel, Eddie Creel, and Harrison Creel led 111b.

Danny Creel read the names of the deceased since the last convention: Sherry Guthrie, John Hocutt, Ivalene Donaldson, Hershell King, Mary Kathleen White, Martha Woodard, Emma Barnett, Pete Hendrix, Floyd Peters, Oleta Campbell, Zelda Phillips, Gladys Edison Brock, Helen Brown Freeman, Gladys Talley, A.A Chandler, Gimble Johnson, Helen Hunt, R.C. Burleson, Willie B. Graves, Archie Williams, Earline Taylor, Lillian Parker, Jap Walton, and Gerstile Nail—Alabama; Austin Burchett and Phil Tabor—Tennessee; Mark Ayers—South Carolina; Kelly Beard—Texas; Allen Fannin—New York; Art Broadus—North Carolina; Tom Gibney—New Jersey. Danny Creel and Richard Mauldin led 122 for the deceased. Danny Creel closed the memorial lesson with prayer.

Leaders: Judy Caudle and David Knight 268, 528; Jared Wootten 29t.


Henry Guthery called the afternoon session to order leading 543. Leaders: Ed Thacker 140; Buell Cobb 68b; Josie Hyde 198; Seth Allred 203; Rachel Allred 186; Guy Bankes 327; Lisa Geist 269; Rodney Ivey and Linda Thomas 47t;Teddy Creel 124; Charlotte McCarn 143; Harrison Creel 530; Marie Guthrie 280; Ann Jett 136; Kenneth Tate 35; Danny Creel 389; Amber Davis 192; Dorothea McCowan 196; Elene Stovall 63; Susan Allred 336; Mary Holcomb 145t; Bud Oliver 42; Butch White 74t; Eldagene Roberson 385b; Gary Smith 31t; Charles McCravey 204; Delone Cobb 37t; Elsie Moon 456; Sonja Sipas 30b; Susan Allred 324; Lisa Geist 304; Billy Williams 334; Betty Shavers 358; Rodney Ivey 564.

Announcements were made. Henry Guthery led 521 as the closing song. Richard Mauldin offered the closing prayer, and the class was dismissed.

Chairman—Henry Guthery; Vice Chairman—Glenn Keeton; Secretary—Eldagene Roberson.