Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Southern Wisconsin Singing

Plum Grove Church, Folklore Village Farm, Dodgeville, Wisconsin

Saturday, November 13, 2004

The eighteenth annual Southern Wisconsin Sacred Harp Singing was held on Saturday before the second Sunday in November. The class was called to order by Jim Crawford and Carol Crawford leading 52t. Johanna Fabke offered the morning prayer.

Leaders: Julie Vea 200; Dick Dunagan 59; Martha Beverly 171; Cathryn Baker 318; Barbara Myer 270; Ann Micaulski 350; Penny Kujawinski 542; Janet Fraembs 150; Christine Stevens 159; Val Dunagan 474; Virginia Warren 146; Becky Browne 362; Jeanette Nelson 216; Lisa Cohen 148; James Page 272; Michael Moore 88b; Jeanette Lowry 445; John Seaton 47b; Jeff Bell 290; Rachel Adelstein 351.

A business meeting was held with the following officers elected or appointed to serve: Chairlady—Jan Ketelle; Chaplain—Johanna Fabke; Arranging Committee—James Page; Memorial Committee—Rachel Adelstein and Marcia Johnson; Secretary—Val Dunagan.

Leaders: Jan Ketelle and Kathy Kaiser 36b.


Dick Dunagan called the class back to order leading 145 (t? b?). Leaders: Eleanor Haase 99; Bill Beverly 547; Joan Yeatman 496; Ted Johnson “A Doleful Sound”; Lou Kujawinski 120; Peter Bradley 282; Martha Henderson 456; Grace Scrimgeour 33b; Colette Miller 436.

A memorial lesson was held with Rachel Adelstein leading 499b for the deceased: Bill Holt—Florida; Ben Ayers and Dick Haase—Texas; Mr. Nichols, Hazel Williamson, and Bertha Hoeflin—Illinois; Mildred Segal—California; Phyllis Flandreau—New York; Betty Rudolph and Cindy McKeel—Pennsylvania; Sue Ann Cowen—Virginia; Roberta Seaton—United Kingdom; Laura Van Gorp—Missouri; Nick Pender—Georgia; David Van Allen Hotaling—Washington; Robert Martin and Arthur Burtis—New Jersey; Bill “Tony” Blodgett—Minnesota.

Marcia Johnson led 179 for the sick and shut-ins: Nora Allred, Harry Allred (6 weeks)—Michigan; Robin Schecter, Al Frank, Violet Stark, Elizabeth Fagan, Ruth White, Mrs. Hogg (Terry’s mom), and Suzanne Checchia—Illinois; Dean Slaton—Indiana; John Hocutt and Edith Tate—Alabama; Stacy Stokke, Keo Walker, and Nancy Henderson—Minnesota; Bob Scorgie, Bob Anderson, Joyce Anderson, Barbara Brothers, Mary Agee, and Marjorie Handrick—Wisconsin; Kelly Beard—Texas; Sonia Matlick—Florida. Johanna Fabke offered prayer to close the memorial lesson, and to ask a blessing for the noon meal.


James Page called the class to order for the afternoon session leading 133. Leaders: Melanie Hauff 392; Gary Gronau 192; Johanna Fabke 378b; Ted Mercer 212; Kim Bahmer 107; Marjorie Matthews 218; Francis Gurtz 539; Sam Farwell 273; Kathy Kaiser 142; Keith Willard 112; Camilla Hansen and Jim Page 162; Judy Hauff 163t; Ginny Landgraf 447.


Judy Hauff and Johanna Gorman-Baer brought the class to order leading 209. Leaders: Marcia Johnson 504; Paul Wyatt 168; Megan Jennings 269; Carol Crawford 193; Lisa Grayson 222; Jim Helke 186; Jan Ketelle 296; Cathryn Baker 454; Penny Kujawinski 352; Lora Holt and Marcia Johnson 28b; Janet Fraembs 385t; Jeanette Lowry 448t; Jim Crawford 86.


James Page called the class back to order leading 40. Leaders: Eleanor Haase 327; Bill Beverly 56b; Martha Henderson 326; Becky Browne 276; Francis Gurtz 501; Grace Scrimgeour 287; Ann Micaulski 384; Jeanette Nelson 143; Ted Mercer 217; Lou Kujawinski 473. Following announcements and thanks, Jan Ketelle and Kathy Kaiser led 62 as the closing song. Ted Mercer dismissed the class with prayer.

Chairlady—Jan Ketelle; Secretary—Val Dunagan.