Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Lookout Mountain Convention

Pine Grove Church, Near Collinsville, Alabama

August 21-22, 2004

Saturday, August 21

The one hundred-first session of the Lookout Mountain Sacred Harp Singing Convention was held on the fourth Sunday and Saturday before in August at Pine Grove Church, near Collinsville, Alabama. Bud Oliver called the class to order leading 32t and 36b. Harrison Creel offered the morning prayer.

Leaders: Milton Oliver 270; Max Berueffy 330b; Ed Thacker and Margaret Thacker 43; Charles Woods 171; Loyd Ivey 204; Ron Harper 117; Mattie Townsel 317; Boyd Scott 58; Mary Wright 114; Hershell King 460; Flarce Creel 403; Brad Bahler 354b; Linton Ballinger 306; Bill Beverly 86; Lee Rogers 454; Joseph Norris 176t; Wanda Capps 448b.


The class was brought to order by Bud Oliver leading 82t.

A business session was held with the following officers elected or appointed to serve: Chairman—Bud Oliver; Vice Chairman—S.T. Reed; Secretary—Randall Smith; Arranging Committee—Max Berueffy; Memorial Committee—Henry Johnson and Doyle Ashley.

Leaders: S.T. Reed 35; Drew Smith 328; David Carlton 148; Doyle Ashley 192; Judy Mincey 571; Blake Sisemore 155; L.B. Wright 59; Paula Oliver and Milton Oliver 124; Tommie Spurlock 442; Lena Keeton 480; Doug Conn 383; Lomax Ballinger and Jimmy Ballinger 565; Ian Smiley 413; Charlene Wallace 392; Aubrey Barfield 475.


The class resumed singing with S.T. Reed leading 45t. Leaders: Louis Hughes 512; Andy Morse 481; Lonnie Rogers 225t; Terre Schill 436; J.L. Hopper 438; Denney Rogers 143; Sandra Wilkinson 67; Karen Ivey 187; Sandie Scott 477; Emmie Morris 142; Bobby Watkins and Mercy Watkins 282; Tim Russell 31t; Martha Beverly 344; Pat Temple 195; Laura Clawson 328; Allison Ivey and Richard Ivey 440; Dan Hopper 515; Karen Freund 182; Don Bowen 492.


Shane Wootten and Rod Ivey brought the class to order for the afternoon session leading 129. Leaders: Jeff Sheppard 556; LaRue Allen 200; Harrison Creel 530; Joan Aldridge 150; Lauren Hall 455; Lynne deBenedette 189; Daphene Causey 222; Jerry Enright 300; Pam Nunn 224; Amanda Denson 250; John Etheridge 542; Jennifer Allred 269; Elene Stovall and Linda Thomas 430; Linda Shea 203; Reba Windom 528; Lisa Geist 327; Shelbie Sheppard 183; John Morris 163t; Larry Ballinger 151; Bridgett Hill 168; Michael Thompson 213 (t? b?); Cindy Tanner 217; Hubert Nall 452.


Wayne Reed led 108b to call the class back to order. Leaders: Judy Caudle 376; Phil Summerlin 278t; Mary Ruth Stiefel and Melvin Stiefel 348b; Alanna Blanks, Eric Blanks, Cheryl Beard, Arleigh Beard, and Scot Oliver 405; Floy Wilder 382; Tony Ivey 547.

Announcements were made. Bud Oliver led 62 as the closing song. Wayne Reed offered the closing prayer, and the class was dismissed.

Sunday, August 22

Bud Oliver called the class to order leading 39b. Wayne Reed offered the morning prayer.

Leaders: Bud Oliver 47t; S.T. Reed 428; Jerry Enright 77t; Reba Norton 480; Lauren Hall 107; Bill Beverly 191; Linda Sides 192; Wilton Donaldson 100; Bridgett Hill 290; Tommy George 159; Mary Wright 106; Drew Smith 160b; Ed Thacker 274b; Mattie Townsel 137; Hubert Nall 99; Michael Thompson 436; Jennifer Allred 216; Jarrod George 300; Amber Davis 224; Blake Sisemore and Travis Peek 186; Jackson Harcrow 282.


The class resumed singing with Randall Smith and Lansley Whitaker leading 76b. Leaders: Coy Ivey and Don Bowen 384; Don Bowen 283; Hershell King 340; Paula Oliver and Milton Oliver 354b; Cheryl Beard, Arleigh Beard, Bryant Beard, Alanna Blanks, Eric Blanks, and Milton Oliver 511 (CB); Pat Temple 72t; Shawn Carroll, McKinzey Carroll, and Brenda Carroll 163t; Chris Green, Pam Green, Hannah Green, and Mary Grace Green 274t; Bobby Watkins and Mercy Watkins 204; Nancy Banks 565; John Hyde 566; Wayne Wootten 276; Jim Carnes 440; Marlin Beasley 318; Richard Ivey 200; Travis Keeton 203.


Rodney Ivey and Drew Smith brought the class to order leading 30b. Leaders: Joan Aldridge 540; Willie Mae Moon 441; Allison Ivey 53; Richard Mauldin 299; Susan Harcrow 269; John Plunkett 271b; Cassie Franklin 432; Larry Ballinger 220; Dennis George 197; David Ivey 45b; Floyd Peters 82 (t? b?); Jeannette DePoy 67; Betty Wright 149; James Wagner 108t; Martha Beverly 56b; Josie Hyde 507; Jewel Wootten 47b.


The afternoon session began with Bud Oliver leading 270. Leaders: L.B. Wright and Trey Reed 59; Judy Caudle 345b; Margaret Keeton 401; Laura Clawson 362; Elene Stovall 273; Karen Freund 278b; B.M. Smith 448b; Linda Shea 495; Ian Smiley 532; Max Berueffy 319; Jeff Sheppard 316; Richard DeLong 296; Reba Windom 434.

The memorial lesson was conducted by Henry Johnson and Doyle Ashley. Doyle Ashley and S.T. Reed led 285t for the deceased: Betty Haas—Missouri; Paul Greeson, G.L. Hinton, Charley Wright, Willie Carolyn Denson, Edna Betts, Virginia Easter, and Etma Barton—Alabama.

Randall Smith and Charles Stiefel led 45t for the military personnel overseas. Henry Johnson led 472 for the sick and shut-ins which included: Bo Santos and Marcy Block—Arkansas; Kelly Beard—Texas; Myrtle Smith and Nancy Allen—Georgia; John Hocutt, Dick Mauldin, Ronnie Meadows, Edith Tate, and Patsy Crump—Alabama. Chris Green closed the memorial lesson with prayer.

Leaders: Amanda Denson 448t; Shelbie Sheppard and Bill Windom 28b; Gravis Ballinger 112.


The class was called to order by Bud Oliver leading 73t. Leaders: Lisa Geist 84; Lynne deBenedette 445; Christy Finley 63; Henry Johnson 111b; Eschol Hughes 454; Larry Brasher 385b; Verlon Stiefel, Mary Stiefel, and Melvin Stiefel 420; Kermit Adams 426t; Eunice Webb 271t; Kyle Blakeley 123t; Wayne Reed 108b; Billy Williams 334.

Announcements were made. The convention wishes to thank all who helped in any way to make the singing possible, and extend an invitation to come back again next year.

Bud Oliver, S.T. Reed, and Wayne Reed led 146 as the closing song, and all who wished took the parting hand. Wayne Reed offered the closing prayer, and the class was dismissed.

Chairman—Bud Oliver; Vice Chairman—S.T. Reed; Secretary—Randall Smith.