Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Independence Day Singing

Muscadine Methodist Church, Muscadine, Alabama

Monday, July 5, 2004

The twenty-first session of the Independence Day Singing was held at Muscadine Methodist Church in Muscadine, Alabama on Monday after the first Sunday in July. When the 4th of July falls on either Saturday or Sunday, this singing yields to other singings on that day and holds this singing on Friday or Monday. The regular date is on July 4.

The class was called to order by Jeff Sheppard leading 32t. Tom Owen offered the morning prayer.

Leaders: Jeff Sheppard 72t; Mary L. Smith 63; Shelbie Sheppard 110; Henry Johnson 566; LaRue Allen 200; Tom Ivey 163t; Eunice Webb 283; David Carlton 163b; Annie Grieshop 481; Louis Hughes 512; Kathy Vlach 72b; Tony Hammock 112; Shirley Figura 335; David Yeager 240; Rodney Willard and Barbara Willard 128; Terre Schill 396; Ed Thacker 376.


The class resumed singing with Jeff Sheppard leading 152.

A business session was held with the following officers elected or appointed to serve: Chairman—Jeff Sheppard; Vice Chairman—B.M. Smith; Acting Vice Chairman—Keith Willard; Secretary—Mary Smith; Arranging Committee—Shelbie Sheppard.

Leaders: Roy Nelson 432; Katie Moore 384; Dana Borrelli 87; Coleman Berueffy, Brooks Berueffy, Turner Berueffy, and Max Berueffy 282; Allison Dodson 378t; Thomas Willard 106; Rachel Baker 107; Claire Singleton 86; Phillip Langley 411; Laura Clawson 95; Bridgett Hill 142; Nate Green and Norma Green 103; Lela Crowder 39t; Dennis George 513; Martha Beverly and Bill Beverly 547; Henry Johnson 418; Becky Browne 313t; Tom Owen 500; Karen Clark 501.


The class resumed singing with Keith Willard leading 100. Leaders: Lonnie Rogers 348b; Earlis McGraw 225t; Jeanette Lowry 168; Louis Hughes, Jr. 569t; Charlie Derleth 565; Gary Gronau 201; Cathryn Baker 542; Samuel Sommers 548; Charlene Wallace 549; Bud Oliver 170; Lynne deBenedette 300; Daniel Davis 344; Sandie Scott 74b; Stephen Metcalf-Conte 401.


The afternoon session was brought to order by Keith Willard leading 32t. Leaders: Paul Figura 146; Elene Stovall 564; John Plunkett 346; Floy Wilder 187; Richard DeLong 447; Karen Willard 550; Richard Schmeidler 475; Bill Windom and Reba Windom 28b; Reba Windom and Daphene Causey 196; Daphene Causey 336; Jenny Willard 530; Eugene Forbes 426b; Nancy Yeager 479; Andy Anderson 535; Lee Rogers 485; Homer Benefield 56t; Sandra Wilkinson 405; Jimmie Denney 61; Rene Greene 454; B.J. Harris and Evelyn Harris 335 (in memory of Harvey Austin); Pam Nunn 269; Lou Cotney 222; Sherrell Cleino and Ruth Daniel 127; Andrew Snyder and George Snyder 551.

Announcements were made. The Secretary reported that 17 states were represented here today. Jeff Sheppard and Keith Willard led 46 as the closing song. Elder Homer Benefield offered the closing prayer, and the class was dismissed.

Chairman—Jeff Sheppard; Vice Chairman—B.M. Smith; Acting Vice Chairman—Keith Willard; Secretary—Mary Smith.