Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Union Musical Convention

Oak Grove Primitive Baptist Church, Alpharetta, Georgia

November 29-30, 2003

Saturday, November 29

The one hundred thirty-fifth session of the Union Musical Convention was held at Oak Grove Primitive Baptist Church in Alpharetta, Georgia, and was called to order by Chairperson Jessica Altman leading 48t. The opening prayer was offered by Chaplain Jesse Roberts. Vice Chairperson Lela Crowder led 171; Secretary Helen Bryson 332 (for her friend, Kayleen Drissell).

Jesse Roberts led the Introductory Lesson: 57, 175, 155, 142, 284, and 501. Leaders: Jeannette DePoy 89, 475 (for Cathy White); Andy Anderson 441, 282; Charlene Wallace 63, 79; Phillip Langley 224, 383; John Plunkett 70t (for Judy Mincey), 152; Judy Whiting 318, 503.


The class was called back with Lela Crowder leading 97.

The convention went into a business session with the following officers elected and committees appointed: Chairperson—Lela Crowder; Vice Chairman—John Plunkett; Secretary—Helen Bryson; Chaplains—Jesse Roberts and Bobby Cagle; Memorial Committee—Richard DeLong and Jeannette DePoy; Finance Committee—Andy Morse and Andy Anderson; Locating Committee—Faye Holbrook and Reuben Ball; Resolutions Committee—Jesse Roberts; Arranging Committee—Jessica Altman and Ashley Roberts.

Leaders: Lee Rogers 218, 273; Ginny Landgraf 326, 361; Wayne Hartman 35, 34b; Anita Landess 334, 338; Reuben Ball, Jr. 490, 497; Ray Richards 111b, 73b; Ros Clements 287, 339; Bobby Cagle 496, 47b.


The afternoon session was called to order by Lela Crowder leading 76b. Leaders: Carlene Griffin 146, 371; Violet Thomason 170, 189, 112, 434; Richard DeLong 482 (for Loy Garrison and Dorothy Garrison), 123b; Sandra Wilkinson 388, 384; Andy Morse 472, 540; Ashley Roberts 47t, 344; Jesse Roberts 30b; Reuben Ball, Jr. 480, 499; Lee Rogers 485; Wayne Hartman 72b; Anita Landess 77b; Judy Whiting 474, 515; Ros Clements 510, 228; Ginny Landgraf 547, 447.

Announcements were made. Lela Crowder led 323t as the closing song. Jesse Roberts offered the closing prayer, and the class was dismissed.

Sunday, November 30

Lela Crowder called the Sunday session to order by leading 24b. The opening prayer was offered by Chaplain Jesse Roberts.

Leaders: Vice Chairman John Plunkett 467; Jeannette DePoy 213t, 217; Henry Johnson 108t, 393; Charles Woods 565, 391; Jackson Harcrow 48t, 35; John Hollingsworth 460, 138t; Sarah Jenkins 101t, 208; Kathy James 430, 30b; Ted Mercer 285b, 352; Susan Harcrow 113, 350; Loy Garrison 74b; Rodney Ivey 75, 39b; Bobby Cagle 373, 46.


The class resumed singing with Lela Crowder and John Plunkett leading 223. Leaders: Helen Bryson 81b, 522; Debra Grosse 384, 186; Tony Hammock 335, 30t; Joel Jenkins 282, 480; Lance Ledbetter 318, 36b; Judy Mincey 571, 538.

The memorial lesson was conducted by Jeannette DePoy and Richard DeLong. The names of the following deceased were read: Vivian Rogers, Elder William Cagle, and Everette Denney—Georgia; Ruth Brown and Harvey Austin—Alabama; Don Juel and Ed Dowey—New Jersey; Tim Lull—California; Gordon Ashman, Jim Bundell, and Stan Stokes—United Kingdom. Jeannette DePoy led 138b in memory of those named.

The following names were read for the sick and shut-ins: Oscar McGuire, Hermon Wilkinson, Sue Champkin, John McDougal, Rob Mahoney, Linda Sides, Robert Kendrick, Jap Walton, Nora Roberts, Elder Charles Cagle, Bonnie Cagle, Regina Cagle, Donnie McGraw, Gladys McGraw, Kelly Beard, and Cathy White. Richard DeLong led 499 for all those named, and then led 573 especially for Oscar McGuire. The memorial lesson was closed with prayer led by Bobby Cagle.


Lela Crowder called the class back to order for the afternoon session leading 99. Leaders: Reba Windom 76b, 216; Judy Whiting 222, 212; Andy Anderson and Tony Hammock 28t, 317; Ginny Landgraf 283 (for Don Bowen), 455; Ray Richards 45t, 354b; Ros Clements 370, 496; Jesse Roberts 461, 473; Richard DeLong 375, 61; Anita Landess 164; Sandra Wilkinson 300, 149; Ashley Roberts 145t, 436; John Plunkett 441, 495; Joan Durdin 312b, 148; Jessica Altman 274t, 428.

The business session reconvened for the purpose of hearing reports. The Finance Committee report was read, which stated that convention expenses had been met. The report was approved and accepted as read.

Jesse Roberts read the Resolutions report, which was accepted by the convention.

The Locating Committee announced that Big Creek Primitive Baptist Church will be host to the convention in October of 2004 (first fifth Sunday and Saturday before following Labor Day). The business session was closed.

Leaders: Henry Johnson 45b; Sarah Jenkins and Joel Jenkins 299; Ted Mercer 202; Reba Windom 171; Susan Harcrow, Jackson Harcrow, and Rodney Ivey 142.

Announcements were made. Lela Crowder and John Plunkett led 62 as the closing song, Jesse Roberts offered the closing prayer, and the class was dismissed.

Chairperson—Lela Crowder; Vice Chairman—John Plunkett; Secretary—Helen Bryson.